We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality has gone down hill-Apparently Managers Don't Care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Have stayed here before and was very happy. Not so this time. Had to move twice due to sub par rooms (one smelled terrible, next one full of ants). Also overall condition of property was much less clean than in past. I.E. bottle cap sat in hall for two days, beer cans strewn about pool area from night before until noon the next day. Asked for a call from manager and received no response. Called and left messages for manager and assistant manager TWELVE times with no response. Did reach assistant manager twice by phone but he always promised to call me back and never did. Finally called Choice Hotels customer service line and they gave me a refund.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svkpevls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

When reviewing a property it’s important to offer a sincere and honest review. You can’t just dwell on one item that may or may not happen to another guest.

I’m on the road quite a bit. Traveling is getting tougher. Getting a good night sleep and a hot shower is important. Equally important is cleanliness. With the Comfort Inn you will get that and a whole lot more.

Pulling into the parking area there was an abundance of spaces that wrapped around the building. Lighting was good. There is a gas station and Duncan Donuts out front. (New York must have the record for the most number of Duncan Donut joints in the world).

After a long day traveling Chris at the Front Desk welcomed me to the Inn with a big smile. She quickly handled my check in, something that is important to me. I don’t like signing more forms than I did when I purchased my last home. It should be noted this is a “pet free” and “smoking free” hotel. I wouldn’t have it any other way. Within minutes I was walking down to my room. The lobby was stunning and something you would expect to find at the best of hotels. The fire was roaring and the place was spotless.

The room was no different. Nice contemporary furnishings and king size bed with a variety of pillows made it clear I was in for a good night sleep. There was a desk and chair for those of you who may need to do a little work. The free internet was easy to connect to and I was able to stay connected with no problems. The bathroom was spacious with good lighting.

And that was only the beginning to what was truly beautiful stay. Ice Machines and vending machines were available on every floor. An indoor pool was conveniently located on the first floor. A small work out center with an array of equipment was located off the pool area. And then there was the breakfast. Make no mistake, you’ll be talking about the breakfast for a long time. Beautifully decorated donuts, muffins, bagels, (are you getting hungry?), an assortment of cereal with regular and 2% milk, two kinds of fresh hot waffles, eggs, sausage and much more. This is a first class breakfast. It’s exactly what you would expect from a property that doesn't skimp on anything.

On the morning I was checking out I had walked down the hallway and around the corner. A Housekeeper stopped what she was doing and asked me how I was? She wished me a good day. It was simply the cherry on top of the cake.

Room Tip: Two conveniently located elevators move guests up and down this three story property. If someone in...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel, it far exceeds the standards of most Choice Hotels. Cleanliness is top notch, staff is great although some front desk agents are freindlier than others. Pool is so clean ,nice hot tub. Lobby is beautiful and always decorated for whatever upcoming holiday is around the corner. I was upgraded to a king suite. Nice touch. Standard choice breakfast but the use real bowls, flatware and plates - makes it so much more enjoyable , also nicer selection of pastry.
Did have a little difficulty controling the heat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janep17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I recently stayed here while in the area for a wedding. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful when we asked for recommendations on where to eat lunch. For the most part our room was clean and the bed was comfortable, however there were certain items that were not well kept. The shower curtain liner was very dirty and stained, different pieces of furniture were slightly damaged, and there were some holes in the room darkening curtains. Overall though, I would recommend staying at this hotel if you needed an accommodation in the area for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel5272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel was superb! Clean, friendly and convenient! I would absolutely stay here again. We were upgraded to a suite and the entire room was spotless. Everything was just great about this hotel including the friendly front desk attendees.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bauer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were very happy with our stay at this beautiful hotel. The staff were very friendly, It has a gorgeous reservation/sitting area with fireplace, lots of windows and comfortable furniture. There is also another area with a TV and computer to use, which was also very enjoyable to sit in. We had the heated pool and hot tub all to ourselves and it was relaxing to float around and listen to the nice music they had playing in the pool area. The breakfast was one of the best we have had and it was well stocked and refilled. If you left hungry, then it was your own fault. There was something for everyone! We will definitely return here again!

Room Tip: Beautiful Hotel! Close to Albany!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridgeschips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We tend to have had good experiences at Comfort Inns, so we've stayed at quite a few of them. I would have to say that of them all, this one is the most appealing.
Several reviewers have mentioned the beauty of the lobby, with its huge windows, staircase and decorations, and of the breakfast area, which overlooks the lobby. I'd definitely agree with their compliments.
We arrived at the hotel to find that we had been unexpectedly upgraded from the regular jacuzzi suite we had booked to the Martin Van Buren (Presidential) Suite. So anything I say about this suite would probably not be typical of the normal suites people would be inclined to choose, which I don't doubt are very nice. The Van Buren suite has a spacious sitting room, a full kitchen, a very large jacuzzi, three televisions, two bathrooms, and two closets (one a walk-in) among other amenities. It's probably twice the size of the normal suites, and is actually set up so that two couples could share it and each couple would have their privacy as well as their own bed, TV, and bathroom. Needless to say, my wife and I were quite comfortable there.
All the staff we had contact with were quite friendly, from the housekeepers to the front desk clerk. We had no problems with the cleanliness of the room or the rest of the hotel.
The breakfast area was spacious, comfortable and well-run. The meal offerings included three types of eggs, breakfast meats, yogurt and the usual bagels, toast and waffles etc. The spread was at least as good as any other I've experienced which was included in the price of the room. The breakfast room was never crowded, and I noticed that they included several two-person tables, so that couples such as ourselves were not obliged to take up a four-person table, as is the case at many hotels.
The pool, business center (which we made frequent use of to look up and print out directions to the various attractions we would be visiting) and exercise room were all more than adequate.
We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Book the Martin Van Buren Suite if you can.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton On Hudson
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-East Greenbush
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany East Greenbush
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush

Address: 99 Miller Rd, Castleton On Hudson, NY 12033-4022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Castleton On Hudson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castleton On Hudson
Price Range: £91 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rich, traditional decor in shown throughout the grand two story lobby, airy breakfast mezzanine and elegant ballroom space, to set this hotel apart. Award winning hospitality service. Free WiFi and Free Breakfast for all guests. Daily shuttles to area restaurants. Located just east of Albany, New York's Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush Hotel Castleton On Hudson
Comfort Inn East Greenbush
East Greenbush Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing