We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best laces to relax”
Review of The Post Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Catskill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Post Cottage
Ranked #2 of 7 Catskill B&B and Inns
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best laces to relax”
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The food is spectacular! The atmosphere is so relaxing, the first floor is a spacious as well as gracious space to sit. There are gas fireplaces or wood fireplaces to sit in front of. It was too cool to use the tennis courts or go walking. The Innkeepers have seen to so many extra amenities, such as cocktails and dessert with port. The rooms are appointed in keeping with the age of the house, but the baths are modern and elegant. You will not take any stress back with you after a visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We found The Post Cottage through the reviews on tripadvisor. We decided based on what we were reading to definitely give it a try. We were not disappointed. The room was spacious clean and perfectly decorated -- not overdone in the floral prints/flower patterns that seem to saturate most B&B. The breakfast was incredibly delicious, gourmet & creative. The hosts Gil & Mary Ann were attentive and very helpful in giving tips about what to do in the area. We definitely will be going back there again. It was the best B&B we have stayed in, relaxing and charming.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kongju21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Service, the rooms, location, amenities and food - everything about this B&B was amazing. This cottage is a very cozy romantic place to get away from hectic city life. Also great location - couple steps away from famous Thomas Cole's house. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank InnaCarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Nothing like a restored mansion properly run as a B&B by a retired art teacher and a retired chef / lawyer. They have done an outstanding job on the place and the selection of art. At first the exterior color looks a little unusual but they explained that it was that way when they bought it and it grows on you. I think this is a clue to the uniqueness of the place. I have never had a better breakfast in my life. The owners are unusually intelligent. Catskill is a charming little town and we had a outstanding tapas dinner and a local restaurant named 355. We enjoyed walking in the neighborhood (which is right next to the Hudson and looking at all the old mansions. One looked like the Adams family house! We also drove west into the hills and had a great hike to a waterfall. Wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneyswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We were looking for a comfortable place to go to get away from NYC for a few nights, and were lucky to find the perfect place. We slept in the West Room, which turned out to be humongous. It features a thermostat-controlled fireplace which was more than sufficient for heating the large room. There was also plenty of space to hang out in a little lounge outside the room, as well as in the rooms downstairs. We were very well taken care of with a loaded cheese plate and wine in the afternoon, and fresh baked goods with port served at night. But the breakfasts were absolutely incredible, with a different choice between two outstanding meals offered each morning. Finally, what I most loved about the Post Cottage is that it is not over flowery like most. There was obviously a lot of thought put into the decorating, but this place has more of a tasteful "homey but modern" style.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2011

My wife and I planned an escape to the Catskills for some January skiing, but all the places we normally stay were booked. Then, via a web search, we stumbled across this newly established B&B in Catskill. Because it was new, there were no reviews so we knew we would be taking a chance. But the pictures on their site looked great, so we went for it and were SO very pleasantly surprised. This charming home (more like a mansion than a 'cottage' ) has been lovingly restored by the new owners (Gil and Mary Ann) and converted into a really fantastic B&B. Our room was big and comfortable and quiet (new sound-proof walls), with kind-size bed and romantic gas fireplace that rids the winter chill. In the evenings, Gil and Mary Ann would provide snacks prior to dinner, and port and desserts afterwards. They also take great pride in their creative and delicious breakfast creations which fueled the day's skiing in a very gratifying manner! Finally, the B&B is 5 minutes from Hudson, NY, which we never realized has been completed resurrected. It's filled with high-end restaurants and bars which were an incredible find. In all, we were greatly pleased with our stay and would certainly come back a second time. A 'gem' and a great value.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abrahamsen_glenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catskill
4.3 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
187 reviews
8.7 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Kaaterskill
The Kaaterskill
#1 of 7 in Catskill
81 reviews
4.0 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 17 in Hudson
157 reviews
4.6 mi away
Green Lake Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Post Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Post Cottage

Property: The Post Cottage
Address: 174 Spring St, Catskill, NY 12414-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Catskill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Catskill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Shingle Style B&B close to Catskill skiing and hiking, HITS horseshows, Hudson sailing, adjacent to Cole House historic site nearby to Olana, numerous antique shops, historic houses and parks, several wineries and beverage trail. Rooms with king beds, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, and other modern amenities. Spacious common areas and large guest rooms with en suite marble baths. Serving gourmet breakfasts, afternoon reception with wine and snacks, and port and desserts in evening. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing