We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B+B”
Review of The Post Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Catskill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Post Cottage
Ranked #1 of 7 Catskill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Post Cottage and it was an excellent experience. The accommodations were well appointed, immaculately clean and quite comfortable. The owners do an excellent job making you feel welcome without being intrusive. Both breakfasts that we had were delicious, and afternoon drinks/snacks and a nightcap are also provided. The location is within easy driving distance of good restaurants in nearby Hudson and the access to amenities in the Catskills is good as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the South room which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJJNYC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had a wonderful time at The Post Cottage. Gil and Mary Ann could not have been better hosts. The inn and our room were pristine...and the breakfast was amazing....need we say more. It was probably one of the nicest B&B's (if not the nicest)we ever stayed in. Planning on going back there this summer. Barry and Rita

Room Tip: You can't go wrong...stayed in the North room...lovely....and bathroom was large and very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was just PERFECT - in fact beyond perfect! We talked all the way home about the wonderful time we had. This is an exquisite B&B - even the smallest of details were tended to. The inn is perfectly appointed in every detail - very elegant yet a comfortable homey feel. And the food... I don't know where to start - it certainly doesn't get any better. We are very much looking forward to a return trip!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lani_Oc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed and the chefs/proprietors made the BEST Hollandaise sauce we have ever tasted!!
It is comfortable and elegant. A great place to relax! We stayed in the west room, but all the rooms are lovely and decorated so wonderfully!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My new fiance and I wanted something different, so we decided to try a bed and breakfast for the New Year. This place was so amazing, it set the bar VERY high for any future BnB's we may go. We were never in the area before, and Gil pointed us in the direction (and printed maps) of some charming towns for local fare and local vinards for wine tastings. The room we stayed in (South Suite) was very well appointed and comfortable; from the memory foam king bed, to clean fresh towels in the morning. This room also had a fireplace, which made the room feel extra warm and cozy. The breakfast was FANTASTIC! We were lucky enough to be staying with some great people at the house as well, which made our experience extra special and conversation lively. We'd go back anytime. Maryann and Gil were gracious hosts and they keep a fine home with all the bells and whistles (and a pool table!).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My trip to the Post Cottage was a suprise gift from my wife as a birthday getaway. When we pulled up I had great reservations about staying at a B&B as these are not usually the kind of places we stay.

We stayed in the East room (the largest of the rooms) which was well appointed and completely spotless, as was the rest of the house. Gil and Mary Ann were warm and inviting but not intrusive.

The breakfasts were fantastic. I skipped the first day and regretted it for the remainder of out trip. Gil and Mary Ann's cooking was on par with a 4 star restaurant. Be sure to go to breakfast hungry as you will be given quite a feast. There is an evening snack and wine, quite tasty. We had some wine with our hosts and chatted about the work they did on the building. I felt a bit like I was sitting with old friends rather than strangers I met the day before. Late in the evening they also put out "sweets". Very decadent and Homemade and great with the port they serve.

Gil and Mary Ann gave us great advice on dining (in both Catskill and the neighboring Hudson) as well as direstions for a beautiful senic drive through the mountains. I cannot say enough about our stay at the Post Cottage. We will definitely be back in the future to visit our new friends. If you have never stayed at a B&B, let this one be your frist.

Room Tip: Just a note, the mattres in our room was very firm. If you do not like a hard mattress, choose a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_W_rfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Mary Ann and Gil have managed to create a B&B that is akin to staying with friends while being treated as royalty. The house is set back on a great piece of property and though they have only been open one year, their personal style and the house's itself looks as though they have been in the business for decades, that's how good everything was. Our room was well appointed as well as the rest of the house with meticulous restoration evident and clean as a whistle, their attention to detail was wonderful. The personal touch we received was so thoughtful, Mary Ann made a special trip to ensure she had sugarless cookies for me as I am a diabetic for the nighttime snack. The breakfast each morning was gourmet and delicious, but would accomodate special needs. Mary Ann and Gil are simply a delight to be with and staying at their B&B really made our anniversary memorable as they both made us feel special and welcomed in their home. The best B&B we have ever been to in the last 11 years.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the entire home
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MILLANDRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catskill
8.7 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
149 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
19.7 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Kaaterskill
The Kaaterskill
#2 of 7 in Catskill
83 reviews
4.6 mi away
Green Lake Resort & Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Post Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Post Cottage

Address: 174 Spring St, Catskill, NY 12414-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Catskill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Catskill
Price Range: £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Post Cottage is located at 174 Spring Street in the village of Catskill, NY 12414. We have four rooms each with a private bath and a fireplace. Guests are welcome to play on our private tennis court. Full breakfasts are included and port wine is offered in the evening. The Post Cottage is adjacent to the Thomas Cole House and two miles from Frederick Church's house, Olana. Downtown Catskill is within walking distance, and Hudson, NY is three miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing