We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely peaceful escape”
Review of The Kaaterskill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kaaterskill
Ranked #2 of 7 Catskill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is an exquisite gem in the middle of the Catskills. The inn is beautiful and surrounded by the most enticing landscape - a huge pond, a boathouse, a path winding around the grounds and picturesque mountains in the background. Breathtaking and relaxing! Very comfortable beds in enormous rooms that are fully stocked with all the amenities!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texaslauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed at the kaaterskill hotel in Catskill Ny for one weekend with friends. The venue is beautiful and very quite , the suites are confortable and large with a big bathroom (both shower and jacuzzi) and in Gifford Suite we had also a coffee corner with trays for a lazy awakening.
In the morning we took a walk around the farm, petting the animals, watching horses training,walked along the river with Victoria (the pet pig) and Hudson the house dog.
In the afternoon we visited Saugerties and Catskill very nice towns with lots of antiques shops and bookstores.
Unfortunately we were leaving on Sunday but we took our time to stop in Woodstock !
Very easy to reach NYC from Catskill on Highway 87
Next time I will stay longer !
Place for families, couples, friends who share love for nature.

Room Tip: Suites are all on the same side watching the pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laura_meri62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Best view, gorgeous rooms, magical experience. It is a farm with beautiful horses, and with a unique sense of decoration, it will bring you a special inner zen. You will never regret to visit and stay. Also it is near Hudson and Saugerties for great antiques and shops. We loved the hospitality and the walks around the river. Victoria, the piggy loved grapes. Please bring some along.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irene b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

It is fantastic getting to a place which is even better than what you see in the pictures. Each room has its own style that invites to relax. Then, when you look through the windows, the nature invites to get closer.

Having the opportunity to go on a walk by the river with the company of a happy dog and and a cute pig, after enjoying the view of the horses, while you feel the fresh air, is fantastic.

The room was clean and the view from the bed, in the morning, spectacular. Loved the bunnies running around my deck.

Don't miss visiting Saugerties, a very cultural and chic town, very close to the Kaaterskill.

There is plenty of time to rest and recharge batteries for going back to the city

Want to go back!!!!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mayanisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The Kaaterskill Inn is a gorgeous property located at the heart of Catskill, NY, only two hours away from New York City. Stylish rooms, fantastic service and a breathtaking setting come in a single package at the Inn. This place is great to take a break from the hassle of urban life and enjoy nature at its best. The Kaaterskill is also located very close to a bunch of charming small towns around upstate New York, which offer fine dining and great shopping options (including tons of very sophisticated antique stores). While staying at the Inn, make sure you take a walk down the trails surrounding the property. And please pay a visit to the really cute farm animals that live at The Kaaterskill's stables! Another fact worth mentioning is that all rooms are equipped with a mini-fridge, a microwave oven, and some basic kitchen utensils, so you can always bring some food with you. Rooms also come with a fireplace, a flatscreen with cable, and a DVD player. Bathrooms have both a jacuzzi and a shower. Great deal. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dannyboy_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed in the kaaterskill inn in my last short getaway... It was such a magical experience in a natural scenario!. Everything about the place was great, the rooms, the service, the welcome and the landscapes...With comfortable, clean rooms the inn is surrounded by mountains, with majestic views of the Catskill peaks. if you are looking for a relaxing weekend or short break, a place to set a wedding or any other special event, this is the best place! Can't Wait to Get Back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianelaSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This is simply a magical place. You see cute little rabbits on the way to the suites, sit by the fire, and now hear the frogs croak by the lake. there's horses, a pig, chickens...the farm you always wanted and never had (and don't need to take care of.)
the rooms are also spacious, well put together and with amazing views of the Catskills.
kind of an amazing retreat.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justjessica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catskill
2.5 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
149 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#2 of 3 in Hudson
99 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
173 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
4.9 mi away
Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kaaterskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kaaterskill

Address: 424 High Falls Road Ext, Catskill, NY 12414-5660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Catskill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Catskill
Price Range: £152 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kaaterskill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet and magical farm estate at the foot of the Catskills. 6 luxurious suites each include stone fireplace, jacuzzi and panoramic mountain views. Wander the private 32 acre grounds surrounded by the Kaaterskiill Creek with pond, stables, barn and skatehouse and see the wildlife and farm animals. Close to Hunter, Saugerties, Woodstock, Catskill and Hudson. Wireless internet and optional meal service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Kaaterskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kaaterskill Hotel Catskill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing