We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kaaterskill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kaaterskill
Ranked #2 of 7 Catskill B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

We had a really lovely time at the Kaaterskill over a long weekend in the spring. The property feels like a small farm with animals like goats, bunnies and a cute pig named Apple inhabiting the place.

We room was large, immaculate and very comfortable. It also head some nice extras like a kitchenette, microwave popcorn to pop with a movie (huge assortment of DVDs provided), bottled water and wellingtons for exploring the surrounding fields in the mud.

The only reason I give this place 4 stars and not 5 is because it was a complete DYI experience. Our room was open when we arrived and we never saw the host during our 3 day stay. There is a phone # to call, but basically no front desk or anyone present even during the day. We thought this was a bit strange, but the room, property and good price made up for the absent service.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    11
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
27
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York/Munich
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

I was visiting my family in the US for Thanksgiving with my 17-month old daughter and needed a little time for R & R in-between. I searched the internet for days for a quiet place Upstate NY, no more than 2 hours away from the city, that provided relaxation for me and yet enough to entertain a toddler. I was beginning to think that such a place didn't exist - especially in winter - when I ran across The Kaaterskill. Every review I read online was positive so I booked and what a great decision it was! We stayed in "The Church" and it was a terrific room with a modern cabin and homey feeling. The fireplace and the view of the mountains and creek were amazing. I'm not a big breakfast eater so the instant oats and coffee were sufficient and I drove to Hudson the first day and stocked up on enough food, snacks and the recommended wine :-) for the 3 days we were there.

For my daughter, it was perfect. She had so much fun visiting the ducks, hens, turkeys, rabbits, Apple - the pig, goats, sheep and horses every morning. We also walked a little in the woods before it rained and everything got too soggy. For the rainy days though, there was plenty of DVDs and childrens' books to keep her busy. Debbie and her family were always on hand to answer questions or make suggestions. She even gave my daughter a little tour of the animal stalls the first day.

If what you're looking for is relaxation and peace and quiet, you can't go wrong with this place. It's great with or without kids. Free WLAN and long-distance also available. For extra quiet, stay during the week. We were the only guests for the 3 nights and it was simply wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allthatjazz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

My hubby and i wanted to leave our chaotic NYC lives behind...at least for a weekend. The Kaaterskill brought us back to what really matters...peace & tranquility. The room (The Church) was absolutely beautiful. we have nothing negative to say about this place. there are some wonderful restaurants in the area. do not hesistate to make a reservation if you are looking to get away from it all (including your cell phone!).

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YCG20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2008

Just got back from the Kaaterskill and wanted to write a review straightaway as we enjoyed our stay so much. We booked three nights over Thanksgiving weekend as a getaway from city life and had a great experience. The caretakers were there to meet us when we arrived and showed us to our room. When entering the property we arrived through the common room - which was very nicely decorated with sofas, a large table, DVDs to borrow and music to play, as well as many brochures, take-out menus and guides to the area. Our room was upstairs, the Inness, and it was beautiful. Wood walls, beautiful furniture, VERY comfortable bed, and fireplace. The kitchenette area was equipped with microwave, small fridge, two plates, bowls, mugs, glasses, and wine glasses - plus cutlery, sharp knife, wooden spoon, can-opener and corkscrew. And then the bathroom! Lovely, high-ceilinged room, with enormous whirlpool bath, candles, and separate shower. The room looks out through sliding glass doors onto a balcony and then onto the grounds of the farm, with lake, ducks, barn, and assorted other animals. Behind it all are the mountains - just stunning.

The location is great - an easy, short drive to Saugerties, Woodstock, Catskill, Palenville or Tannersville - and just over the river to Hudson. In the summer there would be even more to do.

We had the place to ourselves for two nights, so can't comment on the tranquility with more guests - but so very peaceful from our experience! And so much fun to build a fire each night after a day of adventures and settle in with wine, cheese and crackers to watch a movie from the library.

Would definitely return!

  • Liked — Fireplace and views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NYCFrequent_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2007

My boyfriend and i went up to the catskills for my birthday. We had reservations at the Bavarian Manor in Purling but ending up leaving after experiencing many problems.
From our initial contact with the staff at Kaaterskill, they were warm, friendly, and very helpful. We actually got lost on our way there and the guy drove out to find us and lead us back.
The place was very clean...Very large rooms and very quiet and peaceful.

  • Liked — very clean and quiet
  • Disliked — there is not too much in the general area (We had a bit of a drive to go find dinner)
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank melissamccrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catskill
2.4 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
8.0 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
4.7 mi away
Winter Clove Inn
Winter Clove Inn
#2 of 4 in Round Top
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Stewart House
Stewart House
#1 of 1 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.9 mi away
B&B Lounge of Catskill
B&B Lounge of Catskill
#3 of 9 in Catskill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kaaterskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kaaterskill

Property: The Kaaterskill
Address: 424 High Falls Road Ext, Catskill, NY 12414-5660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Catskill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Catskill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kaaterskill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet and magical farm estate at the foot of the Catskills. 6 luxurious suites each include stone fireplace, jacuzzi and panoramic mountain views. Wander the private 32 acre grounds surrounded by the Kaaterskiill Creek with pond, stables, barn and skatehouse and see the wildlife and farm animals. Close to Hunter, Saugerties, Woodstock, Catskill and Hudson. Wireless internet and optional meal service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your The Kaaterskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kaaterskill Hotel Catskill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing