We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, quaint”
Review of Lincklaen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lincklaen House
Ranked #3 of 6 Cazenovia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Good hotels near Morrisville, NY can be tough to find--not only was this one close, but it provided very nice accommodations. We found it a tad pricey but the room was booked at the last minute. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed at the lincklaen house while attending sports game at Colgate University , price is very good hotel is older but that is what gives it charm and and warmth , visit bar in basement and be nice to Frank the bartender he has been around for a long time , food in excellant and priced very well . staff was very friendly , if you want modern go to Syracuse so don't complain after the fact if you read this review , I stay all over the East Coast and it is a nice break staying in a historic hotel . The biggest advice is be weary of the local town cops they have way the much time on there hands and spent most of it screaming up and down main street with there sirens and lights going .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WalkerPaRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is an old hotel that my only thought is quaint. We spent one night there, was ok, nothing special. Continental breakfast was good had homemade scones that were excellent. Restaurant at hotel was just ok nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Carpets are disgusting. Room from night before was never cleaned. Finnaly at 3pm after speaking with the useless mgr they cleaned it. The other guests checking in also had to wait for the room to be readied. Furniture is old and dirty. Bathroom is disgusting. No hooks or vanity to place items on. Have to use the floor or toilet lid. Peeling paint and exposed pipes. This place needs a major overhaul. With the room rates they are, it should look like a palace. We've stayed at all 3 inns in Caz and this is the worse. Try the Brae Loch. Better staff and rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heyirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Lincklaen House is on a charming main street in a charming central NY town. It is a wonderful, sturdy old Federal style brick building that has been beautifully cared for by several generations of preservation-minded owners. We enjoyed our stay very much and even added on an extra night. The staff was friendly and accommodating but not intrusive or overly interested in us.
We were there at a slow time and were able to score a suite with a kitchenette for $125 a night. The bedroom was dominated by a huge four-poster king bed. The bathroom featured a giant whirlpool tub and separate shower. The living room/kitchen looked out over Main Street and three big windows let in lots of light. It was an extremely pleasant place to hang out, and the internet service was excellent.
We had two really enjoyable meals in the pub downstairs. I especially loved the old part of the pub with tables, walls and benches carved with the initials of generations of college students. (Well, I guess they weren’t necessarily college students but it seemed very student-y.)
It’s not easy taking care of an old building like this, especially as an independently owned and operated property. I totally understand that the carpets will not always be pristine and staffing may be a little thin. I am basically in awe of the commitment necessary to keep a wonderful place like this going.
If I could offer any constructive feedback to Lincklaen, I would suggest stocking a few luggage racks, replacing worn bed pillows, being sure the kitchenette is stocked with appropriate dishes and pans. More ambitious improvements might be upgrading the bed linens (Towels were very nice and thick.) and replacing some of the uninspiring furnishings and décor with period pieces available just down the road at the famous antiques market in Bouckville for prices comparable to HomeGoods. Perhaps Amanda Bury, owner of a very attractive antiques shop next door would help select some furnishings in exchange for a few meals.
There is a selection of interesting places to stay and eat in Caz. We were happy with our choice!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dancingnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at The Lincklaen House while attending a family party that was held there and found everything very enjoyable. From the food served to the room we were in, and ending with brunch on Sunday there was not one aspect I could find fault with. Plenty of room in the suite with clean comfortable furnishings. Staff was friendly and attentive. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VickiIp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I have enjoyed the Lincklaen House with a large group of friends every year for 12+ years. The rooms are spacious, beds are clean and comfortable, and the food is second to none. Made from scratch delicacies such as house made popovers, sushi, fresh fish, and one of the best made Bloody Mary's I've ever tasted! You will not be disappointed! Make sure you stay for the Sunday brunch...YUM!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank U2redneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cazenovia
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
10.8 mi away
Craftsman Inn
Craftsman Inn
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brewster Inn
The Brewster Inn
#4 of 6 in Cazenovia
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brae Loch Inn
Brae Loch Inn
#1 of 6 in Cazenovia
262 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lincklaen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincklaen House

Address: 79 Albany St, PO Box 329, Cazenovia, NY 13035-1216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cazenovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cazenovia
Price Range: £91 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincklaen House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Lodging | Costello Wing For over 170 years the Lincklaen House has represented colonial charm. Notice the detail in each of the original rooms. They are all unique and alive with history. Go back in time and still enjoy the modern conveniences of this Grand Hotel. Staying longer than a night or two? Our Costello Wing offers classically designed suites with all of the luxuries of home...And then some. We serve a complimentary continental breakfast for our room guests every morning. We are a pet-friendly hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lincklaen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincklaen House Hotel Cazenovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing