We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprises” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vanderbilt Museum

Vanderbilt Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice surprises”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Been wanting to for years. Finally went when the kids had nothing to do. Price was fair considering how expensive Long Island and the New York Area is. Mansion had some nice rooms with plenty of animal taxidermy and artifacts. Marine museum was a small area away from the mansion with models of large fish and sea animals. The planetarium was small in terms of exhibits (2nd floor was closed for renovations at the time). The space show that we saw was "Stars". The first half of the show described Earths relation to the rest of the universe which I found more interesting than the 2nd half of the show which was narrated by Star Wars' own Mark Hamill. Overall the kids had a good time and good bang for the buck. In the summer Im sure the views of the sound are gorgeous.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NonPickyVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    64
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Need time to enjoy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is one of the Vanderbuilt homes, Great Location and has 3 priced admissions Grounds Tour, House Tour and the Planiterium. It is located on a hilly site with cobblestone driveways in some areas. The house has many interesting features and storiesm and the guides are very knowledgeable. We found that there was alack of information at the intial enterance pertaining to the individual tours. We arrived on a very chilly damp day and was never informed about the differant tours. But they gaccepted our payment for all 3. needless to say the outside was not tolerable and on the day we visited the Planitarium was some kind of filmed puppet story(we were expecting information of the stars and universe). Total admissionwas $16.00 for all 3 shows. The house has a large collection of world wide artifacts and stuffed animals. But t here were no pamplets pertaining to any of the exibets. In the one hall there was a notebook with each exibit named. I would go back in better weather, avoid the planiterium

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Vanderbilt family chose this quaint town to call home in summer season,what more is there to say than that,they could of lived anywhere

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A surprisingly good place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have lived on L.I. for decades before got a chance to pay a visit.
It has many interesting exhibits.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FromLINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding Visit that should not be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We visted our last day on Long Island - thought only the grounds were opened and were pleasantly surprised.
Absolutely outstanding museum with unbelievable collections of species of animals, insects, birds, artifacts from all over the world - not to mention a mummy from Egypt. Also a 1928 Lincoln and a 1908 race car. The superb architecture and the wonderful tour guides make this one of our best stops ever..Do not miss it.

Helpful?
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vanderbilt Museum also viewed

 
Old Westbury, Long Island
 

Been to Vanderbilt Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing