We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt right at home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Centerport
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Came to centerport to spend thanksgiving with my family & found this quant little hotel that made
me feel right at home. The staff was above & beyond helpfully & very polite to say the least. A very safe place to stay with family. Infact I liked it so much I already booked next years stay with my family.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rbdb0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

This is the WORST. We booked our stay here b/c we were attending a local wedding and this was recommended. To sum it up - stains on the bed, stains on the carpet, wet towels in the bathroom & a CRACKED tub infested with mold. We left within 15 minutes and stayed at a Marriott 15 miles away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MRM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

They will show you the 'nicer' rooms when you o. Think mid-70's, brick walls, red carpet, beds with no cover on the box spring...I was afraid to touch anything. The cleaning staff did basic cleaning, but when I went to use a plug it wasn't wiped since Clinton was in office! Towels are paper thin, but the water pressure was great! there's a HamptonInn in commack about 10-15min away-very worth the drive and $30 more. *BRIDES ONLY!* one of the selling points of this motel is how close it is to the ThatchedCottage. DON'T fall for it. My niece had the suite for an after wedding party on the patio. After a short time they were thol to stop by the manager (who proudly wore a tank style t-shirt) due to noise. Ok, except there was no noise! All attendees were hotel guests and the police were called twice (who tld the manager to stop calling because there was no disturbance occurring!) the kids broke it up and sat on the benches outside their rooms for the rest of the night. This place was just awful. Avoid at all costs. The place is sold out every weekend so you'd think they would at least change one room at a time. If you're lucky enough to get an 'updated' room, it's a 1.5star; if you don't, it's a negative 20 star!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sqrl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I recently stayed at this MOTEL for a friend of mine's wedding which was next door. The wedding was fantastic, which is more than I can say about this motel. Sufficient enough if you need a place to sleep....in 1972. I can handle outdated uncomfortable furniture when you're treated well during your stay, which we were NOT. The front desk attendant (which I can only assume owns this dump) was rude from the minute I checked in. Wouldnt answer questions, when he did he was short and seemed annoyed that we asked where the ice machine was! while trying to settle in to my room we pulled the cover off the bed to reveal a lovely giant blood stain. Someone probably killed themselves for having to stay here. After the fantastic wedding the wedding party had blocked 2 dozen rooms to stay in. We all gathered in the bride's suite for a champagne toast. We were rudely interupted several times by a security guard to "keep it down". It was 930, and we were the only ones in the hotel! it was a room full of adults, having champagne and toasting a friends big day, hardly a reason to call the police, which they did. Absolutely ridiculous. My poor friend in her wedding gown had to have police knock on her door, because 15 people were INSIDE having champagne at 10pm. I was glad to have a place to stay to celebrate my friends big day and we did manage to have a very good time. But this motel is a dump with horrid staff and I hope some nice family who wants to revamp this place buys it from those jerks who own it now. Stay at your own risk. And dont plan on having any fun while your here...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerXXX_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Beautiful location on the water, close to restaurants, convenient short drive to down town. Rooms have a unique decor and haven't been updated in at Least 30 years but I think that's supposed to be part of the character. Well corn toilet seat which you don't see every day in a hotel. Walnut trim and furniture, corners of room were dusty, bug carcuses were found too , walls could use a fresh coat of paint, maybe replace the carpet, update some furniture... Woman at front desk was very nice and accommodating.

There was a loud party going on with band as well as some very loud neights doing extra curricular activities. Were also used to 4 and 5 star hotels so take this as you will. Motel definitely has character

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

They mumbled on the phone, no friendliness or information offered about rooms available, rates etc., they only wanted my credit card number! How about thinking about what the customer experiences when they call to make a reservation????? How about some friendliness, asking what they are looking for, dates, offering to tell what is available, rates etc? This is pretty basic. Surprised that they don't get it. Poor management.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonTraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Having had a marital dispute and needing some quiet time, I took a short trip to this motel for an overnight stay. I found the place comfortable, had a nice hot bath, watched Jerry McGuire (You make me want to be a better man) movie. In the morning, I went to the reception area and was offered coffee and there was a display of fruits and morning snacks. When I left, the clerk carried my bag to the car and wished me a good day.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank survivor26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerport
7.5 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
7 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack
7.8 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Days Inn Woodbury Long Island
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge
9.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Syosset by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Inn & Suites

Address: 23 Centershore Rd, Centerport, NY 11721-1526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Centerport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Centerport
Price Range: £88 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Inn & Suites is a quiet and quaint inn dedicate to a superior guest experience. We are centrally located on the North Shore of Long Island in the town of Centerport, neighboring the villages of Huntington, Northport and Cold Spring Harbor. Our prime, yet quiet location provides easy access to entertainment and culture, such as the Vanderbilt Museum & Planetarium, Cold Spring Harbor Fish Hatchery & Whaling Museum, state parks, fine boutiques, excellent restaurants and Centerport Beach. Guests find out inn to be a desirable stay for wedding weekends, escapes from the city, couples’ getaways, business stays during the week, and our family friendly amenities.Chalet Inn & Suites recently underwent a renovation of all rooms and offers comfortable, modern, clean guest rooms and suites. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in every room and a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Our suites offer a full kitchen and dining area and a living room or sitting area, making them the perfect option for longer stays or families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chalet Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing