We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse Inn ever stayed, well over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Central Valley
Reviewed 2 January 2008

The reason we have chosen this inn is because it is closest to the outlet mall (about half a mile). And we had no idea it can be that bad.

We have not stayed at other Americas Best Value Inn, so we are not sure if others are as bad as this particular one.

The smell inside the room is so terrible. I am sure other guests have complained about this many times already, but they still have not changed the cleaning detegent they are using.

So for the whole night, the smell make you feel like you are staying in a public toilet for the whole night. It is just so uncomfortable.

They are charging between ~$80 to ~$110 per room, and it is so over-price for the kind of room they have. A rate of $29 will be much more reasonable.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank alexchan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2007

I don't understand how other reviews can list anything positive. The smell that another reviewers refers to is cheap detergent. You smell it as soon as you enter the room (and we tried three rooms while we were there - they all had this same smell). It is not a pleasant smell but rather a cheap, unrelenting odor that reminds me of poorly maintained public washrooms.
I feel bad for the staff that work there. They are polite and friendly but clearly have to work in poor conditions. The cleaning lady drags around three trolleys, one being a modified grocery cart. She is not given the proper cleaning supplies to maintain the rooms. The window sills are full of dead bugs, mildew and dust. The tubs have stained bottoms and the heaters are damaged and spattered with rust.
The stair case to the second story of rooms is filthy. The concrete steps and floor has peeling paint, more dead bugs, cobwebs, etc. The whole experience was simply gross.
Under no circumstances would I ever stay in this location again.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank catt72Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2007

Its ok if u just wan a place to sleep after a day of shopping.
Thot hotel is a short stroll to outlet...nope it wasnt..
tks to e shuttle driver who drive us to hotel after dropping passenger off to outlet from Harriman train station.

Stayed: July 2006
Thank zulnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, TX
115
Reviewed 7 October 2005

On a recent trip to West Point Military Academy, we stayed one night at the Harriman Motor Inn in Central Valley, NY. What a disappointment! I made our reservations on-line, afer being impressed with the picture supposedly of the Harriman on their web-site. As it turns out the picture was not of the Harriman at all---no semblance! As soon as we checked in, we went to look for the site of the photo. The photo used as advertisement for the Harriman was of the Premium Outlet Mall a mile or so from the Harriman. Had I seen a photo of the Harriman I would have never made reservations there. Only the barest of essentials are in the rooms...a bed, a TV, a couple of towels in the bathroom. The room was not very clean, had an odor which I could not place, and even the soft drink machine outside of the office was empty. We are glad that we only made reservations for one night there. There are plenty of nicer motels closer to West Point.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2005

Dont expect luxury. This is a traditional roadside motel with no additional facilities but the rooms are clean and fairly well appointed. Theres no swimming pool despite some adverts on leaflets for it - the pool closed in 2004.
Its clean and economical for an overnight stop if you have spent all day shopping at Woodbury Common factory outlets which are less than 1/4 mile away and need somewhere to stay at 10pm!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank GroverSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 1階の方が荷物を運ぶのが便利
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 星太郎
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abvicentralvalley, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Первый этаж
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisa514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abvicentralvalley, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Valley
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
775 reviews
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
990 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
371 reviews
10.4 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 139 Route 32, Central Valley, NY 10917-3604 (Formerly Harriman Motor Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Central Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Central Valley
Price Range: £70 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of Central Valley, New York, located less than 15 miles from Stewart International Airport and an hour from New York City. Visit the famous West Point Military Academy and West Point Museum. Enjoy shopping at the Woodbury Common Premium Outlets, a day of family fun at the Splash Down Water Park, outdoor activities at Bear Mountain State Park, a tasting at Brotherhood Winery, or a night out at Bodles Opera House. Sit down to a delicious meal at one of our local restaurants including Cosimo's Brick Oven-Woodbury, Positano Grill, or Gasho of Japan. Wake up with a free cup of coffee and our free continental breakfast each morning. Appreciate our exterior corridor hotel's stunning mountain views and the exceptional guest service provided by our 24-hour front desk staff. Our on-site business center offers all of the necessary tools to stay on top of your business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Central Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing