We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First week of Chautauqua season and it was great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tally Ho Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chautauqua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tally Ho Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Chautauqua B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First week of Chautauqua season and it was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for the first week of this 2014 season and loved it. The hotel itself is old but is loaded with charm and character. It's typical of the Chautauqua institute. What made it even better was the unlimited food that came with our room and the friendliness of everyone especially Jason (the owners son). Jan at the front desk was charming and everything fit right in with the mood and character of this institution. If you've never been and love charm this is the place. Our kids were especially happy and ate non stop.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    1
    4
    17
See reviews for
10
17
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at the Tally Ho Hotel last summer and will be back again this year. The location is fantastic; right off Bestor Plaza, and our room was clean and comfortable. There is a restaurant attached to the property serving an extensive menu that changes daily. The wait staff we met was efficient and personable and the food is some of the best on the grounds, and at a reasonable price. The owners are laid back and helpful and are quick to address our needs and even a special request or two. I would highly recommend this hotel. Even if you already have accommodations, try out the restaurant - fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdmail93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was our fourth year going to Chautauqua for a week's program, but our first time at Tally Ho. I had read the reviews here, and our visit had an ominous beginning. I mailed a deposit check in May for a week in late August, Apartment #7, but got no confirmation. In early August I sent a letter, two emails and three phone calls asking for confirmation, with no response. We drove to Chautauqua with great trepidation as to whether we had a place to stay.

But it was fine. The lady owner is a Luddite, does not answer voice mailbox messages, or emails, or letters. She runs the hotel desk without electrics. Each room has a laminated sheet to mark reservations, deposits are recorded in a ledger, hotel and restaurant bills are calculated manually on paper, and it is checks or cash, no credit cards.

The Tally Ho is owned by a family that has been in Chautauqua for many decades and owns many properties there. The owner lady, Janet Streeter, works the desk, attends to the dining, and stays late supervising the staff readying for the next day. The staff is energetic young, friendly foreigners.

We found our 1-BR apartment with balcony to be very nice. Clean and functional. The WiFi was only strong in the bedroom which was a straight shot down the hall from the router, but the signal was weaker in the living/dining area, and unusable on the balcony. The MacBook did fine, while the iPhone did worse. The iPad was worst, only good in the bedroom. A small inconvenience.

The apartments (and any plain rooms) come with three free take-out dinners for each guest. The dinners come from the steam table buffet, costing $15 each, so our 6 dinners were worth almost $100 and freed us from three nights of cooking. Regular dining is inside or on a veranda, and the free take outs are supposed to be taken back to the rooms. The food was simple, many choices of meats and seafoods and vegetables, and very, very good. And the styrofoam containers are huge, so we over-ate. Also, the wine was only $4 a glass, for a full glass, and very good quality.

It being our fourth year at Chautauqua, I think the Tally Ho rooms and apartments are fairly priced, and the value with the meals is good. We would likely continue to stay there in future years. Our experience was very good, and I feel an affection for the Tally Ho.

Room Tip: I don't know. Our Unit #7 was on the main floor in the back. There was a floor below and a floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vintage42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had hoped the tally ho would live up to old fashioned charm but I am sorry to say that the plumbing was not finished for the season upon our arrival and the owner was not even aware until we told her.. She lost the first check we paid her with and demanded another. They do not take credit cards and do all calculations by hand. Bad idea. Each time the bill was tallied a different amount was given. All in all it was very poorly run. I would not recommend staying there. Paying a bit extra will be well worth it in this lovely community.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis, mo
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

In nearly thirty seasons I have never before eaten at the Tally-Ho. Finally, an opportunity presented itself and we showed up for the buffet earlier this month. So 'unusual' was it that I decided to share it with the Trip Advisor community. Dining at the Tally-Ho is offered until 7:30 pm, in plenty of time for the evening entertainment at the Amp. We waited awhile, but were seated shortly after 6 pm. We opted for the buffet, as the board outside the restaurant advertized many tempting options. After being seated we made our way to the small room meant to house the buffet - that would be the room characterized by the lack of much food, salads, plates - you know, the sort of thing you kind of expect in a restaurant. When we finally hailed one of the waiters for plates, there was a lack of understanding, perhaps caused by the young (affable) staff being largely Latvian (or so I heard). Most of the options previously advertized were conspicuous by their absence, and this was explained by one waiter recounting how the take-out customers had raided most of the bowls and left nothing for the eat-in diners. This suggests a distinct lack of forethought and planning by those running the place. After we had foraged among the (largely fried) options remaining, we munched our way through, hoping that the empty appetizers and entree bowls and dishes would be refilled, but no. The final straw came when our waiter took our dessert order (included in the price) - cheesecake and ice cream - and emerged fifteen minutes later to tell us they couldn't find any dessert left in the place. We exited in disgust, impressed neither by the food we had found, nor by the attitude of those running the place - no apology, no reduction in the price, no nothing. We love Chautauqua, we appreciate the challenges of running an establishment in such a short season, but we can't excuse the lamentable state of affairs that is the Tally-Ho. It does no credit to the owners, nor to the Institution. A better business plan needs to be implemented; you shouldn't offer what you can't deliver, and then charge customers for the privilege of uncovering your shortcomings.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twoteachersSt.Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

An angry hotel guest was it at the restaurant countet and was really laying in to the old manger woman who appeared to be dazed, unconcerned and patronizing. The customer was irrate, "I paid $1100 for this room and there is no place to sit but a wire metal soda fountain Coke chair. There are still no sheets on the bed. No, you said 'in ten minutes' 2 hours ago. Give me the sheets and I'll do it myself!"
The food I had was very sad. Had no taste. The young service staff was very work working.
The setting was pretty but elbow to elbow inside.
I am easy to please as you can see from my other reviews, but I cannot reccomend this restaurant at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CO2doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

The European buffet was disappointing. Best part was the dessert. However, the young waiters and waitresses were attentive and friendly. Credit cards are not accepted - a fact that was kept hidden. There was a small sign partially concealed by the cash register. A notice that credit cards are not accepted should be visible when entering the restaurant. We will not be returning.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chautauqua hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maple Springs Lake Side Inn
Maple Springs Lake Side Inn
#2 of 9 in Chautauqua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tally Ho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Hotel

Property: Tally Ho Hotel
Address: 16 Morris Ave, Chautauqua, NY 14722-2533
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chautauqua
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Tally Ho Hotel Chautauqua, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing