We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chautauqua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Englewood Guest House
Ranked #1 of 7 Chautauqua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We booked at Englewood because there seemed to be few other places in Chautauqua that allow a stay of less than a week and we were staying 3 days only. However, we would definitely return if we visited again. This guest house is less expensive than most but very comfortable for our needs. No air conditioning during a really hot spell but somehow the provided fan kept us quite comfortable. The bedroom and bathroom were somewhat tired and old-fashioned with not much dresser space for storing clothes, but fine for our short stay. We were on the ground floor at the back and were never bothered by noise, even though the location is in the center of the action. We enjoyed the free bicycles available for our use. The outside porch and sitting area beyond were lovely for relaxing, reading or eating breakfast. Olivia was a great hostess, so friendly to her guests, and accommodating when we needed breakfast early, used fridge space or wanted to stay around beyond check-out time. The breakfast was healthy and varied. We really liked this guest house and would love to return there. Hope Olivia will still be around.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

Chautauqua is an extraordinary one-of-a-kind place. And if you are interested in visiting this combination of summer camp/university/performing arts/social/spiritual enclave, the Englewood Guest House is a delightful place to stay! It is a comfortable and gracious rooming house in an excellent location on the grounds. Some rooms have bathrooms, others share. The staff could not have been more hospitable. I would happily stay there again (and again and again and again!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We selected the Englewood quite by accident when we were planning our first visit to Chautauqua. It was a happy accident. Now we would not stay any other place. We have been for 5 summers. The proprietor, Olivia, is warm and welcoming as was her mother, Joan. Always we have had the opportunity to meet and talk with interesting and congenial people on the grounds as well as other guests at the B&B. Chautauqua is an experience like no other and being at the Englewood, for us, just makes it even better.

Room Tip: Our favorite room is #38, on the front with private bath and porch overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

If you want to be in the heart of this great institution, your first choice should be the Englewood. We had a great, clean, 2nd floor room with our own bathroom, a porch, and a comfy - but creaky - brass bed. There's enough room to store your own food in the shared refrigerators (just like most places we've stayed on grounds), and a varied, light breakfast prepared each morning. I love that you can take breakfast with you if you have your day planned out or enjoy outside as you look through the local paper...many places have a specific time to sit and be served.
Every morning we woke up to the distant sounds of the lake's famed bell tower, and every evening we sat out on the porch listening to the symphony in the nearby amphitheater. We got our coffee at the gazebo across the street, and could watch the kids play on the outskirts of Bestor Plaza from our window. It was just what we wanted in our Chautauqua experience.
It is NOT suggested for those who require room service, elevators, and a bar in the lobby.
It's a true Victorian B&B that gives you a feeling of being a real Chautauquan.

Room Tip: Get a room with a porch, if you can! Though everyone can use the main porch and patio, it's nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Heela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The Englewood guest house is a perfectly quaint Chautauquan bed & breakfast. My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The proprietors were amazing! They provided a healthy breakfast each day, often consisting of locally grown organic food. They were friendly and accommodating in every way.
The Englewood is located within walking distance to the Amphitheater and Bestor Plaza, which puts you right in the heart of Chautauqua's cultural hub. We enjoyed listening to the music from the Amphitheater while relaxing on the porch of the Englewood. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bcp_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I've stayed at the Englewood several times over the past few years and have recommended it to my friends and family as well. Each time has been extremely pleasant. The proprietors are accommodating, friendly, and provide excellent food. The other guests have always been great people too, though that seems to be the nature of the Chautauquan!

I recommend the Englewood, especially for its location within eyeshot and earshot of the Amphitheater as well as Bestor Plaza, the two most central locations in Chautauqua. It's also less than a two minute walk from the lake as well as several other locations you'll surely visit if you're in Chautauqua.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank salp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The advantage of this B&B is that it's inside the gates of Chautauqua and right next to the Ampitheater (that can also be a drawback if you don't like the night's concert at the ampitheater). But this place is in desperate need of some TLC. Shabby is the only word for it. I've stayed in lots of old style B&B's and I have nothing against sharing a bath. But the rooms really need to be redecorated and the mattresses are so bad that I had to put some beach towels under the sheet so as not to feel the springs. It wouldn't cost much to make these kinds of upgrades. In some cases rotted or broken flooring has been covered over with tile patches and carpeting--an older person could easily trip and fall. I would not recommend this place in its current state, although the proprietor is very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ItalophileBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Englewood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Englewood Guest House

Address: 19 Roberts Ave, Chautauqua Institute, Chautauqua, NY 14722-2542
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chautauqua
Price Range: £103 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is one of 8 original historic rooming houses. We are an eco-friendly establishment; all our cleaning and paper products are biodegradable . We provide daily breakfasts with a focus on local, organic and sustainable foods. Breakfast is served on our front porch in a friendly communal atmosphere. Enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Englewood Guest House Chautauqua, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing