We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE SECRET IS OUT!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chautauqua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Englewood Guest House
Ranked #3 of 9 Chautauqua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Englewood is perfect for people who love to share experiences, sit on the porch with the best organiz breakfast ever, huddle around the kitchen table with food from the Farmers Market chatting to other guests. First her Mom and now Olivia have a commitment to the civility and charm of Chautauqua and make every guest feel welcome and special. Its OK to let out the secret - we have already booked our room for next season!
Laraine and Leon L

Room Tip: Most rooms are up stairs so keep this in mind if you cannot manage stairs. Olivia and staff very he...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKL7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Englewood Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Englewood is absolutely full of charm. It's so perfectly Chautauqua. The other guests were very friendly and I looked forward to seeing them and catching up on events of the day. The owner, Olivia, is just as wonderful and charming as her inn. She was extremely helpful and sweet. I'm so glad I stayed here. It was truly a great highlight of the entire trip and that's saying a lot! The breakfasts were great and the location is fantastic. Major thumbs up!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We loved the Englewood. It was our frist trip to Chatauqua, but we very soon felt right at home. Olivia helped us with every question and was full of helpful advice. The location could not have been easier and we soon looked forward to meeting our fellow guests as we came and went, as everyone there was so friendly and interesting, but we found that with everyone at Chatauqua. We enjoyed using the kitchen, and our bedroom on the ground floor suited our needs perfectly. Thank you again for a very special few days in a unique place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Kit and I had a wonderful time. The location, right in the center of things was terrific. Olivia, the owner, was wonderful, as were the breakfasts outside. This was our first trip to the Institute. It was a birthday present for my sister. She loved it. The entire experience was very unique in that it was like returning to "Mayberry." All the guests who were there were wonderful as well.

Room Tip: We wanted twin beds and if possible an included bathroom with air conditioning. We got that on the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Lovely accommodations. It was nice having the option to stay on the Chautauqua grounds overnight. That's a difficult thing to find. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the breakfast a charming addition to the always excellent Chautauqua experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryAnn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I chose the Englewood because it was one of the few places in Chatauqua that allow for a stay of less than a week, and I was just visiting to see a play. I will definitely return! The organic breakfast on the patio was delicous and a pleasant way to start the day. The rooms were well-equipped with adequate lighting, wi-fi, dressers, etc and very comfortable. Even though my trip was solo, I felt very at ease there thanks to Olivia and the other guests. The rate was reasonable, especially when compared to other accomodations, and the location is ideal since it's right in the heart of the Institution.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

A few friends of mine and I come to Chautauqua every year for a reunion as we were music students when we were babes there. We decided to stay at the Englewood for the first time and were pleasantly surprised! The staff was wonderful and the accomodations and breakfast were terrific! We loved it and will be back next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sleather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chautauqua
0.1 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#4 of 6 in Chautauqua
193 reviews
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown Falconer
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Downtown Jamestown
12.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Englewood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Englewood Guest House

Address: 19 Roberts Ave, Chautauqua Institute, Chautauqua, NY 14722-2542
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chautauqua
Price Range: £107 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is one of 8 original historic rooming houses. We are an eco-friendly establishment; all our cleaning and paper products are biodegradable . We provide daily breakfasts with a focus on local, organic and sustainable foods. Breakfast is served on our front porch in a friendly communal atmosphere. Enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Englewood Guest House Chautauqua, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing