We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chautauqua
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was nice”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We went for a weekend getaway. It was very quiet in the area so not much was open. The Manager was awesome. So accomodating and had great suggests on where to go for lunch and dinner. The breakfast the next morning was not great. I do give the inn keepers a lot of credit for making us feel as welcome as if they had a full hotel. Only 5 couples stayed there and the entire place was as if it was full. We would go back in the summer for sure

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy5460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We appreciate the guests positive comments and feedback. We strive to make each guest stay as "special" as possible and find it gratifying when guests compliment us on our hospitality. We look forward to the guest return during the upcoming Chautauqua Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    40
    20
    22
    29
See reviews for
30
101
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Outdated; plumbing issues to include low and no water pressure. No climate control in room. Could not open a window. The bed was one of the worst I have ever slept on.
Spa services were limited. Could not enjoy them with spouse.
Very overpriced and very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gdluhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We regret the guests' experience this past weekend was unsatisfactory. Management attempted to address each concern raised by the guests in a timely manner. Due to one of our regular massage therapists being unavailable, we were only able to offer the guests individual massages by our best therapist; unfortunately, the guests did not wish to available themselves of both services even though the therapist had been scheduled for 2 massages when he was called in. As our facility is centrally air-conditioned and heated there are few individual controls in guest rooms. Management did offer to moderate the guest room temperature and provided a space fan when requested by the guest.

We also regret that our efforts to afford the guest the best in hospitality were not recognized including a requested wine and cheese platter served on their arrival, on time hot breakfast both mornings of their stay, etc.

We will endeavor to address guest concerns in a timely and full manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone I know. It was very well maintained and the staff were great.

As stated in many other reviews Chris is excellent. He was very friendly and seemed to know everything about the institution and surrounding areas.

We visited during the off season, Sept 12-13, and the rooms were very quiet. Breakfast was prepared right at 9am and tasted great.

This was our first trip to the institute and the Spencer Hotel. We are already planning a visit for next year and plan on staying at the Spencer again.

Jeremy

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We sincerely appreciate the guest couple's relating their very positive experience staying with us and look forward to their return for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

They were the only positives I could find in this otherwise abysmal hotel. The owner, Helen, has no concern for the safety or comfort of her guests. We were here during an an unusual heat wave of 90+ degrees. The first night sleep was impossible, as the inside and outside temps were both unbearable. I thought the Ac was broken, but later learned that the owner had adjusted the thermostat (which controlled the whole floor) to a high setting. After complaining in the morning, Chris, the utterly delightful manager, reset it to a comfortable temp. That night, after Chris left, it was reset, i guess to save a few bucks. there is a 2 person elevator for a 4 story hotel. people with mobility issues, forget about it. Like the previous poster, We found the breakfast to be a joke. Skim milk for the coffee? Meager portions of food you wouldn't want to eat anyway. Second day we chose to skip the prepaid breakfast and go to Bemus Point Inn. Very wise decision. Upon departure, Hanna (the dog) gave us a hearty greeting and farewell, but Helen (the owner) couldn't be bothered to stand up to say goodbye, but rather "leave the keys on the desk." As one of only 2 hotels in Chautauqua, guests are a captive audience. But outside of the season, you would think an effort would be made.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Queenofdirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We deeply regret the guests disappointment with certain aspects of their recent stay. We try to maintain a comfortable and friendly facility. The situation with the air conditioning was an oversight and resulted from an internal miscommunication; when we learned of the guests concern about the room temperature we remedied the situation immediately; unfortunately, the problem arose again the second night of the guests stay when a staffmember may have reset the main temperature control. We try to secure the thermostats so that a constant and comfortable temperature in our climate controlled facility is maintained. We will redouble our efforts to keep track of guest comfort and take steps to monitor temperature throughout the day and evening.

We appreciate the guest's candor concerning how they were treated and can assure them that the owner is very concerned about our guests feeling welcome and appreciated. At the time of the guest's departure there may have been other things occupying owner who has been physically present at the property most every day for the past four months. We are all "catching our breath" after a very busy and full summer season. We hope the guest will return to experience our customary warm hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

First, our biggest complaint would be with the breakfast that was served. There were only six people staying at the hotel the weekend we were there, yet the breakfast was made the night before and we believe left out overnight. It was some sort of (lukewarm) egg strata without any flavor. None of the guests enjoyed it. We all thought it was a big of a "fluke" and looked forward to a nice, warm, perhaps hearty breakfast on Sunday. That wasn't to be. Because of a kitchen mixup (as we were told), we were served the same strata the next day, but this time without toast. Just plain on a plate, and again lukewarm. The barely-warm coffee was served in tiny teacups which meant we had to keep getting up to refill our cups. Breakfast both days was a huge disappointment, particularly because there were so few guests.

The manager, Chris, may be the highlight of this hotel. Because we went off-season, they weren't serving dinner in the hotel. So on our first night, we ordered food in from a nearby Italian restaurant. Chris set a very nice table for us in the dining area and really made us feel at home. On the second night, he made a wonderful recommendation for dinner at a nearby restaurant, the Scallion Bistro, and it was a fabulous dining experience!

As others have said in their reviews, the rooms are very small. The professional pictures on the website don't show an accurate picture of the exterior nor the size of the rooms. Our bathroom was so tiny you could hardly turn around in it, and the bedroom didn't leave enough room for one of us to pass the other. We were on the third floor and had porch access - which was wonderful! It also allowed us to keep our room cool because the A/C didn't seem to work too well. Good news: the room was clean and smelled fine, the towels were big, and the bed and pillows quite comfortable. And that's important!

The location of the hotel is perfect, very close to everything. Because of its age, it needs some updating and repairs made, as do many of the hotels and inns in this area. It could be a nice place to stay if you're aware of some of the room sizes and food served. Even though we were there off-season, we had expected much better.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with porch access!! Otherwise, the windows don't open and you won't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaydiane_rochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We regret the guests stay, especially the food service, were not up to their expectations and what have been favorable comments we usually receive from guests. It is customary for us to prepare some breakfast items e.g. our egg based casserole (strata) the night before and finish baking the dish prior to serving to our guests. Our breakfast entrees are normally well received and we will endeavor to ensure the dishes are piping hot when served and will avoid serving the same entrée again during guests stay.We appreciate the guests favorable comments about the location of our property, the room cleanliness, quality of linens, freshness, etc. We regret the room temperature was not satisfactory and will reinstruct staff to maintain a check on comfort levels when guests check-in and again periodically during their stay. Our facility is climate controlled which is why windows do not open. When doors to the outside remain closed, the system usually balances the temperature at a level most guests appreciate.

We appreciate the guest comments regarding facility upkeep and repairs and have begun our annual refreshing of rooms, furnishings and general building maintenance. These things are normally scheduled to commence after the 9 week Chautauqua Season which only ended at the end of August. Refurbishment of flooring, addition to furnishings and general maintenance will continue through the next few months. We look forward to the guests return in the future to experience firsthand again not only our hospitality but our meals and generally warm and inviting property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Aurora, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The hotel is lovely and relaxing and everything we hoped it would be. And it is surely the people who own and manage the hotel that make it exquisite. Chris, the hotel manager, is such a wonderful host with history and knowledge and a willingness to share. Kudos

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanSEANY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We were delighted the guest found the Spencer to be the perfect spot to experience Chautauqua Institution. We hope your stay whetted your appetite for a return visit for the 2014 Chautauqua Season or another "getaway" weekend during the coming Fall/Winter/Spring Seasons. Thank you for your very kind comments about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Not only was this a great location, but the hotel is warm, friendly, and "green" (no paper products used for meals). One of the best parts is listening to concerts from the balcony outside our room. This was our first visit to Chautauqua. We would definitely return to the Spencer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IceHarvester2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We appreciate this guest's recognition of our service quality which is the rationale for our use of china, flatware and glassware for our meals at the Spencer. We feel our guests deserve a high standard of food service and quality. The guest also points out our very good location in the heart of Chautauqua Institution close to the Amphitheater and other venues for the excellent programming put on each Chautauqua Season by the Institution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chautauqua
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
17.1 mi away
The Inn at the Peak
The Inn at the Peak
#1 of 1 in Clymer
293 reviews
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown Falconer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
18.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer Hotel and Spa

Property: The Spencer Hotel and Spa
Address: 25 Palestine Ave, Chautauqua, NY 14722-2536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chautauqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spencer Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spencer Hotel & Spa is best described as 'more captivating than opening your favorite story-book.' Amidst our enchanting literary themed rooms and the private sanctuary of our spa, find yourself transported to a bygone place and time. Time spent in our steam sauna, a soak in our whirlpool tubs, and a week of pampering services leaves every one feeling as though they have gathered new strength. Each of the 24 guest rooms and suites were hand-decorated by local artists to honor the lives and works of famous authors. Each room has a select library of thoughtfully-chosen books and musical selections to further convey the tone of each writer's life and times. All of the rooms have central air conditioning and heat, cable television, free Wi-Fi, monogrammed robes, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, and Gilchriest and Soames bath amenities. Most of the rooms are outfitted with King beds and have brand new mattresses. Some of the rooms have desks, arm chairs, sofa beds, direct porch access and whirlpool/Jacuzzi tubs with European handheld showers. An elevator services all four floors. Steamboat Gothic porches grace the front of the hotel, and are appointed with Victorian sofas, chairs and rockers that overlook the famous Chautauqua Amphitheater. A gourmet savory or sweet breakfast is served each morning with fresh fruit in the Peacock Dining Room and luxurious massage services and a cedar sauna are available for guests to indulge in.The Spencer offers cozy areas that are perfect for playing a board game, curling up with a good book, or engaging in conversation. In the Monet Parlor a movie projector and screen are also available for use. Packages and specials are available for guests from Couples Renewal Weekends to Gourmet Dinners, Ladies Pampering and Wine Touring.The Spencer Hotel is the perfect place for small weddings, receptions, book-clubs, reunions, business retreats and more. Group packages can be custom built for your next event. During the 9 week Chautauqua Institution Season gate and parking passes are required for guests staying at The Spencer and need to be arranged through Chautauqua Institution. The Spencer Hotel rents by the week during these 9 weeks and provides guests with dinner Monday - Friday in addition to the gourmet breakfast that is offered year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Spencer Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer Hotel Chautauqua
The Spencer Hotel And Spa Chautauqua, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing