We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spencer Hotel and Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Chautauqua
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We recently returned from a wonderful weekend trip to The Spencer Hotel and Spa. Chris, the manager, was spectacular. His knowledge of area restaurants and events was most helpful. Breakfast served in the formal dining area was a great way to start the day. The relaxing fireside glass of wine was a great way to end the night in the tranquil parlor. We will definitely be returning for another off-season retreat from our normally hectic lives this autumn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kearsarger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpencerHotel, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
We are most appreciative of the guest review. We strive to make our guests memorable and enjoyable and we are pleased to assist them in finding enjoyable activities while they are our guests..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    38
    20
    17
    27
See reviews for
30
95
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at The Spencer for New Year's Eve and New Year's Day. While driving there, we phoned ahead and inquired about local restaurants in the area that would be open for the holiday. The staff at The Spencer called around and researched for us, then called back with ample information and even offered to make a reservation for us.
During our stay, a major snow storm hit, and as we were eating breakfast served in an elegant dining room, out the window we could see one of the staff members brushing the snow off our car.
Overall, the staff was friendly, welcoming, and aimed to please. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We were delighted to have this couple as guests over the New Year's holiday. They made good use of the winter activities that were enhanced by a winter snow storm. When the storm prevented one of our massage therapists being available for our wonderful "couples massage" the guests were happy to split the hour+ time with our best massage therapist so they both had the benefit of this marvelous relaxation service. We take great pride in outstanding guest relations and service and appreciate the guests' review comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Spencer was amazing. It's absolutely beautiful, clean, warm, and relaxing. It really is like being at home (if your home is a 30+ room mansion decorated in the Victorian style with an amazing staff that prepares you fresh breakfast every morning!).
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and actually already have.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PensFan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We greatly appreciate the guest's comments about their recent stay with us. We try to afford our guests the same hospitality and warmth that we would expect when staying somewhere and also try to make our guests comfortable enough that they feel the Spencer is their "home away from home". Sleigh rides are being offered each weekend throughout January & February so guests can experience the place that is our home, Chautauqua Institution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We went for a weekend getaway. It was very quiet in the area so not much was open. The Manager was awesome. So accomodating and had great suggests on where to go for lunch and dinner. The breakfast the next morning was not great. I do give the inn keepers a lot of credit for making us feel as welcome as if they had a full hotel. Only 5 couples stayed there and the entire place was as if it was full. We would go back in the summer for sure

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy5460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We appreciate the guests positive comments and feedback. We strive to make each guest stay as "special" as possible and find it gratifying when guests compliment us on our hospitality. We look forward to the guest return during the upcoming Chautauqua Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Outdated; plumbing issues to include low and no water pressure. No climate control in room. Could not open a window. The bed was one of the worst I have ever slept on.
Spa services were limited. Could not enjoy them with spouse.
Very overpriced and very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gdluhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We regret the guests' experience this past weekend was unsatisfactory. Management attempted to address each concern raised by the guests in a timely manner. Due to one of our regular massage therapists being unavailable, we were only able to offer the guests individual massages by our best therapist; unfortunately, the guests did not wish to available themselves of both services even though the therapist had been scheduled for 2 massages when he was called in. As our facility is centrally air-conditioned and heated there are few individual controls in guest rooms. Management did offer to moderate the guest room temperature and provided a space fan when requested by the guest.

We also regret that our efforts to afford the guest the best in hospitality were not recognized including a requested wine and cheese platter served on their arrival, on time hot breakfast both mornings of their stay, etc.

We will endeavor to address guest concerns in a timely and full manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone I know. It was very well maintained and the staff were great.

As stated in many other reviews Chris is excellent. He was very friendly and seemed to know everything about the institution and surrounding areas.

We visited during the off season, Sept 12-13, and the rooms were very quiet. Breakfast was prepared right at 9am and tasted great.

This was our first trip to the institute and the Spencer Hotel. We are already planning a visit for next year and plan on staying at the Spencer again.

Jeremy

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We sincerely appreciate the guest couple's relating their very positive experience staying with us and look forward to their return for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

They were the only positives I could find in this otherwise abysmal hotel. The owner, Helen, has no concern for the safety or comfort of her guests. We were here during an an unusual heat wave of 90+ degrees. The first night sleep was impossible, as the inside and outside temps were both unbearable. I thought the Ac was broken, but later learned that the owner had adjusted the thermostat (which controlled the whole floor) to a high setting. After complaining in the morning, Chris, the utterly delightful manager, reset it to a comfortable temp. That night, after Chris left, it was reset, i guess to save a few bucks. there is a 2 person elevator for a 4 story hotel. people with mobility issues, forget about it. Like the previous poster, We found the breakfast to be a joke. Skim milk for the coffee? Meager portions of food you wouldn't want to eat anyway. Second day we chose to skip the prepaid breakfast and go to Bemus Point Inn. Very wise decision. Upon departure, Hanna (the dog) gave us a hearty greeting and farewell, but Helen (the owner) couldn't be bothered to stand up to say goodbye, but rather "leave the keys on the desk." As one of only 2 hotels in Chautauqua, guests are a captive audience. But outside of the season, you would think an effort would be made.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Queenofdirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We deeply regret the guests disappointment with certain aspects of their recent stay. We try to maintain a comfortable and friendly facility. The situation with the air conditioning was an oversight and resulted from an internal miscommunication; when we learned of the guests concern about the room temperature we remedied the situation immediately; unfortunately, the problem arose again the second night of the guests stay when a staffmember may have reset the main temperature control. We try to secure the thermostats so that a constant and comfortable temperature in our climate controlled facility is maintained. We will redouble our efforts to keep track of guest comfort and take steps to monitor temperature throughout the day and evening.

We appreciate the guest's candor concerning how they were treated and can assure them that the owner is very concerned about our guests feeling welcome and appreciated. At the time of the guest's departure there may have been other things occupying owner who has been physically present at the property most every day for the past four months. We are all "catching our breath" after a very busy and full summer season. We hope the guest will return to experience our customary warm hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chautauqua
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Inn at the Peak
The Inn at the Peak
#1 of 1 in Clymer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown Falconer
2.6 mi away
Maple Springs Lake Side Inn
Maple Springs Lake Side Inn
#2 of 9 in Chautauqua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer Hotel and Spa

Property: The Spencer Hotel and Spa
Address: 25 Palestine Ave, Chautauqua, NY 14722-2536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Chautauqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spencer Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spencer Hotel & Spa is best described as 'more captivating than opening your favorite story-book.' Amidst our enchanting literary themed rooms and the private sanctuary of our spa, find yourself transported to a bygone place and time. Time spent in our steam sauna, a soak in our whirlpool tubs, and a week of pampering services leaves every one feeling as though they have gathered new strength. Each of the 24 guest rooms and suites were hand-decorated by local artists to honor the lives and works of famous authors. Each room has a select library of thoughtfully-chosen books and musical selections to further convey the tone of each writer's life and times. All of the rooms have central air conditioning and heat, cable television, free Wi-Fi, monogrammed robes, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, and Gilchriest and Soames bath amenities. Most of the rooms are outfitted with King beds and have brand new mattresses. Some of the rooms have desks, arm chairs, sofa beds, direct porch access and whirlpool/Jacuzzi tubs with European handheld showers. An elevator services all four floors. Steamboat Gothic porches grace the front of the hotel, and are appointed with Victorian sofas, chairs and rockers that overlook the famous Chautauqua Amphitheater. A gourmet savory or sweet breakfast is served each morning with fresh fruit in the Peacock Dining Room and luxurious massage services and a cedar sauna are available for guests to indulge in.The Spencer offers cozy areas that are perfect for playing a board game, curling up with a good book, or engaging in conversation. In the Monet Parlor a movie projector and screen are also available for use. Packages and specials are available for guests from Couples Renewal Weekends to Gourmet Dinners, Ladies Pampering and Wine Touring.The Spencer Hotel is the perfect place for small weddings, receptions, book-clubs, reunions, business retreats and more. Group packages can be custom built for your next event. During the 9 week Chautauqua Institution Season gate and parking passes are required for guests staying at The Spencer and need to be arranged through Chautauqua Institution. The Spencer Hotel rents by the week during these 9 weeks and provides guests with dinner Monday - Friday in addition to the gourmet breakfast that is offered year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your The Spencer Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer Hotel Chautauqua
The Spencer Hotel And Spa Chautauqua, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing