We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far Surpassed Expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chautauqua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Chautauqua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Far Surpassed Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This little gem in Mayville NY FAR surpassed all expectations! Specifically
Driveway entrance - bucolic and visual feast of nature
Welcome- Sheila welcomed upon arrival with warm smile and quick tour
Breakfast - Easily chef grade meals with fresh local fruit, exceptional frittata one morning and moist German pancakes the next
Space - more than ample for our family of 4 with a large living room, breakfast room, sitting room and 2 quaint table areas outside
Bedrooms - ample - cute - in keeping with period decor.
Clean - unexpected clean sheets every day (a service even 5 stars are no longer offering)
Local Activities - where do I begin? Too many to list...
Thankyou Mark and Sheila for a lovely warm and memorable experience... We will be back....

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    12
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
114
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stay here. It's a no-brainer. Mark & Sheila were very generous and courteous hosts, and their B&B offers a cozy and inviting atmosphere. Great pancakes, Mark! And keep the chocolate chip cookies coming, Sheila.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

What an enjoyable B&B. We were welcomed upon arrival with smiles. Sheila and Mark spend time with guests, give local info upon request. The food was above average and definitely farm to table as the eggs are from the free range chickens, and the sausage from last years pig. We chose the largest room (English Ivy), and were very happy with it and the bathroom.

Room Tip: Contact the B&B and explain your needs or ask for a more detailed room description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elkz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

From the moment you turn into their drive, Sheila and Mark turn the comfort and hospitality knobs up to 11 and leave them there. Fine location as well. If you're looking for a great place to stay in this area, pat yourself on the back, book your room, and consider your work done.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristolville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We decided, basically at the last minute, to take a trip and we stayed here for a night. It was the most restful stay we have had. Mark and Sheila made it a wonderful evening and day. They recommended a local restaurant for us to have dinner at after working and driving all day, as well as things to do in the area. The next morning, we had a wonderful breakfast and conversation with the other guests. Thank you, thank you, thank you again for a great weekend! We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarlandChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at the Great Tree Inn B&B last weekend. It is a special place indeed, mostly because of Mark and Sheila. The room was beautiful, the food was delicious, and the ambiance unequal. We loved meeting the animals too!
We will definitely be back soon!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElbaPittsburgh_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I were married twice in front of the fireplace at the Great Tree Inn! First in a civil ceremony, and two weeks later with family, friends and our pastor. Our wedding party rented out the entire B&B for one night, and Mark and Sheila went out of their way throughout the planning process to make the special occasion everything that we had hoped for. It was such a comfortable couple of days, and the Inn is so cozy that we all truly felt like we were at home. Following the ceremony on Saturday morning, Mark and Sheila prepared a lovely brunch that included quality, local ingredients. I have many fond memories of spending summers at my grandparent's in Chautauqua, which is why we picked this part of Western NY for our ceremony. It was a wonderful reunion for our family, and I look forward to many years of coming back to the Great Tree Inn for family vacations and to celebrate our anniversary. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCKLCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chautauqua
4.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Motel Westfield
Holiday Motel Westfield
#2 of 2 in Westfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
17.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6642 E Lake Rd, Chautauqua, NY 14757-9368 (Formerly Great Tree Inn and Stables)
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chautauqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast is conveniently located to many of the region's attractions, including the Chautauqua Institution,Chautauqua Lake, wineries, restaurants as well as abundant outdoor recreation. The Inn is adjacent to the Rails to Trails for hiking and snowmobiling. The Inn is a converted 1820 farmhouse guarded by an ancient black locust tree. The rooms all feature flat-panel TVs, fireplaces, full private baths and air conditioning whilst retaining old world ambiance with elegant country furnishings and decor. Guests enthuse about the hospitality, breakfasts and dining experiences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Great Tree Inn And Stables Hotel Chautauqua
Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast Chautauqua, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing