We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another stay and still new issues of disappointment”
Review of Millennium Buffalo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millennium Buffalo
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Cheektowaga
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Another stay and still new issues of disappointment”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My wife and I travel across the border often, usually staying at the Millenium. I booked through Priceline and got a great price, but had hoped to actually stay at the Holiday Inn as we had a very pleasant stay our last trip. I called the hotel 6 weeks in advance to request a crib - they only have pack n' plays, and if they couldn't supply me with a pack n' play, then a room with 2 beds so my 5 month old would have somewhere to sleep. I was told that neither could be gauranteed because 1) pack n' plays are first come, first serve and 2) I had booked through priceline so my room could not be confirmed as they give confirmed rooms only to those who book through them directly. On a side note: booking through priceline or hotwire seems to get you a room on the 1st or 2nd floors which have not been renovated (see previous posts for the difference between renovated and not).
Check in was smooth and we went to our room located directly above the pool on the second floor. We were able to get a pack n' play and two beds. Apparently this was a request entered on their system. The room smelled of chlorine and upon returning from the mall, there seemed to be a birthday party going on at the pool. We requested a room change and after looking diligently, we were moved to a room on the same floor away from the pool.
That night at 3:30 a.m., the phone rang. It was an automated message.
Soon after, a loud argument broke out. After a half hour, I called the front desk. I saw someone from the hotel outside trying to find the location of the argument (I thought it was the parking lot) and then returned to the hotel. The arguing stopped briefly but then began again. I called a second time and was informed that they were removing the guests from the hotel. This, of course, is not the Milleniums fault, although I wonder how much the arguing couple paid for their room which was above ours on a renovated floor.
Again, because we prepaid through priceline, the hotel was not able to compensate our room rate. They did, however, give us a $25 voucher to the hotel restaurant. We ordered breakfast the next morning. Very pleasant but slow. I actually had to return as they forgot part of the order.
Overall, while I can't complain about the cost and my previous experience with priceline/hotwire has been pleasant, I may think twice before booking with them again as our experience was just so disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    256
    295
    214
    209
See reviews for
406
298
70
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Every time I called the front desk I was put on hold, often for several minutes. Heater in my room didn't work so well, and was noisy. No free coffee in lobby, $1.25 at restaurant. Business center in lobby inconvenient to use. Right next to mall! Room comfortable. Clean.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmp717200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Positives: Front desk staff pleasant and accommodating. Plenty of parking available. Breakfast was very good and is served in a nice environment. Great location for both airport travel, shopping and local eateries. Complementary airport shuttle nice touch.
Negatives: Rooms are tired and require updating. Nothing fancy. Lower price draws some interesting clientele - plaid shirt types.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammer222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

My husband and I planned a short cross border shopping getaway with our infant. We chose the Millennium because of its location. We also knew that travelling with an infant would pose some challenges. Because it was March Break, the hotel was busy and this caused some stress immediately. Well in advance of our arrival, I requested a crib for our son. Once checked in, we were told that there was possibly no crib available. True to those words, there was no crib. The hotel staff spent the next hour and half scrambling to find us something. All they could come up with was a pack n'play. Luckily my husband had the foresight to bring our pack n'play because that's what our son spent the two nights we stayed in. The whole reason for requesting him the crib was so that he wouldn't have to sleep so close to the floor. Needless to say, everybody in our room had two very rough nights. Not the falut of the hotel's, but planes could be heard taking off and coming in for landing late into the night and early the next morning. I think with its proximity to the airport they need to consider putting in better glazed windows. Also on the negative side, the only microwave for heating up the baby's food was down in the lobby. It's not an ideal set up especially when you're five floors up! On that note too, we brought a kettle and used hot water to heat the baby's food up. Another suggestion for the hotel would be to have microwaves on every floor or every other floor with the vending and ice machines at the end of the hall. The room in terms of safety for an infant that's crawling and curious was riddled with danger zones. There were electrical cords by the dozen underneath the desk that our son couldn't resist checking out. Unfortuantely, he either spent time in his pack n'play or being supervised by one us when out of it when we were in the room. We paid slightly more for a room hoping that we'd get slightly more for our money. We probably got prettier bed linen for the price.

A positive was having a refrigerator in the room. Although we brought a plug in cooler to keep the baby's formula and food cold until needed, we appreciated having the fridge. We also appreciated having a room at the end of the hall next to the service elevator. We found it quiet and there weren't a lot of comings and goings for other guests.

I think the Millennium's selling feature is its location to shopping. The ability to just take a short walk though doesn't justify the nightly rate or the lack of other features needed for my family to have a comfortable stay. It's suited for families' with older children. I think with some searching around, there are probably one or two other options available for an equal or lower nightly rate.

Room Tip: This hotel is great for families with older kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gl0bal_Ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Went down for the Easter long weekend, shopping madness. The place is average,room was clean and quiet. Stayed on the third floor #326. Two double beds. We are not ones to spend much time in the room, so it was good for our needs. Clean, comfortable, good water pressure, no bugs. And right next to the Mall.
The bar was nice and we had breakfast at the restaurant. The food was good. Prices were average.
The kids enjoyed the pool, clean and warm.
After reading some of these reviews I was a little concerned, needless to say we had a great stay!
We would return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keswickdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Stayed at Millenium based on recommendations. Front desk staff very nice, lobby & atrium appealing, appearance of room very nice. However, there was a constant whistling noise through the balcony door which kept my daughter from sleeping very much, the food for breakfast was disappointing and the worse aspect is we returned covered in bedbugs. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedyberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cheektowaga hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We booked a deal through the hotel for a girl's weekend shopping. After reading the reviews here, I was worried that we had made a poor choice. However, we were thrilled with the hotel, the room, and the deal we got!

Our room was spotless and large with two double beds and a balcony overlooking the pool area. The beds were a bit hard. The bathroom was small but more than adequate. The pool area was really quite nice, and we found ourselves wishing we had more time to spend lounging around.

The restaurant was really nothing special. Although the prices were good, I really would not recommend it. There are plenty of better restaurants around the hotel that I wouldn't waste your time there. The bar was quite nice and reasonably priced.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Look for the $100 for $150 deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Girl_from_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheektowaga hotels
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Buffalo Airport/Galleria Mall
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Buffalo-Airport/Galleria Mall
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
#17 of 22 in Cheektowaga
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Buffalo Airport
Days Hotel Buffalo Airport
#9 of 22 in Cheektowaga
1,845 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Airport
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Cheektowaga
Comfort Inn Cheektowaga
#10 of 22 in Cheektowaga
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Buffalo

Property: Millennium Buffalo
Address: 2040 Walden Avenue, Cheektowaga, NY 14225-5114 (Formerly Four Points)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cheektowaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Cheektowaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Buffalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and convenient location to suit all travelers, this hotel offers easy access to all Western New York attractions and commercial centers. It is located directly off the I-90 and just 3 miles from the Buffalo International Airport. Downtown Buffalo is a short 15-minute drive and the grandeur of Niagara Falls is only 25 minutes away. The area’s finest shopping is a short walk away at the Walden Galleria, with over 200 stores, shops, theaters and restaurants! An ideal choice for business and leisure travelers alike, the hotel features 300 beautiful guestrooms, all with high speed internet; the elegant Waldens Restaurant; the spirited Twigs Lounge; an all-season pool and fitness center; a state of the art business center; and 12,000 square feet of meeting space. Free parking and complimentary Airport shuttles round up the services enjoyed by guests for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Airport Cheektowaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing