We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay for convenience not for a nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chester
Rougemont, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pay for convenience not for a nice place to stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Arrived on 7/11, departed 7/15. Hotel is located just off of highway and convenient to local attractions and NY City. Advertisements on line seemed to indicate rooms come with refrigerator/microwave, for the daily average price of $134, it does not, that would require an upgrade to a suite. Breakfast first morning was okay, no fruit available, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, bagels, english muffins, cold cinnamon buns, assorted cereals, coffee and juice. Breakfast changed the next couple of days when bacon was replaced by French toast sticks. Just an average "free" breakfast with the usual toaster that barely toasts even after 5 minutes. Hallways of hotel on floors one and three all smelled of a body odor type smell. WI FI was hit or miss in room on second and third day of stay. Room was good size with king size bed, sitting area with chair and desk, flat screen TV. Air conditioner worked well, but a device installed on top of the AC unit directed the air directly toward the bed which kept us very cold, had to use a chair to block the air away from the direction of the bed. One piece of furniture in room was stained (picture). Bathroom was good size and had the normal amenities, a few observations, tub missing a chunk (picture), tile in bathroom leaning on wall, not glued (pic), stain on bathroom ceiling (picture) and the exhaust fan either didn't work, wasn't supposed to work or the switch to turn it on was in another location we couldn't find. This HIE showed the desire to reduce their footprint on the planet by recycling and provided a bin for such items. Picture I have posted shows that our aluminum cans from the recycle bin were put into the same bag as all of the trash from ours and other rooms. Pool and hot tub were utilized and were acceptable. Only one ice machine available in the hotel, it is located on the first floor and often was out of ice. Last day of visit, elevator was hot as a sauna as was the hallway on the third floor. This was a last minute visit and the hotel accommodated our need for a place to sleep, but if you are looking for clean and a well kept hotel, you will need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bigkcitrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear bigkcitrus,

Thank you for the candid review of our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    73
    41
    14
    10
See reviews for
83
42
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our youngest grandson was sent to the front desk with the task of obtaining a certain phone number. The clerk, Brett, was extremely patient with him when James forgot the name we were looking for. Eventually James remembered the name and Brett wrote it down for him. It was lovely that someone as young as Brett could deal with a flustered child so kindly. Kudos to him.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed here for one night and found it to be a better than expected hotel. Check in was quick and easy, The staff was friendly and helpful and the accomodations were surprisingly nice. The room was spacious with comfortable beds. Although we did not use them, there was a pool and an excercise room. There was also a "lounge" area that served a morning breakfast which was more that the usual bagels and muffin type of continental fare. Pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, was served as well as the toast, bagel, muffin, cereal staples. Coffee was plentiful and good.I would highly recommend this hotel for people traveling through this area in New York.

There is a baseball/softball training facility nearby "Rocksports/Frozen Ropes" which is why we were in Chester. If you are there to attend a training camp or college showcase, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a 2 queen bed room which was spacious and reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Nothing wrong but nothing outstanding.

Staff is friendly enough, room is clean and spacious and the sleep is predictable.

Pool and hot tub are nice touches and the gym is adequate.

The breakfast is well OK

Room Tip: Get a room away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear IntSommelier,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We were pleased to see your positive comments for our staff, rooms, and our pool and hot tub. We also appreciate the high score for Cleanliness. We take all of these reviews seriously to help us identify areas where we might improve. We do hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you so we might show you how great our hotel can be. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more positive, please do not hesitate to let a member of our staff know.

Sincerely,

Adrian D.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stopped for 1 night on our way to NY. It was a quick and efficient check in, clean room on ground floor which I am not fun of, but we didn’t want to be difficult and ask to change. We could hear kids running upstairs but after 11 they probably got tired and we all slept well. The bedding is on the soft side, even the “hard” pillow was quite soft, but comfortable. Didn't have time to use the pool, maybe next time.
Breakfast was good, fresh fruits would be a nice addition.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momtripToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibbstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chester, NY Holiday Inn Express in January for 2 nights,in February for 1 night, in April for 1 night and in May for 4 nights, all in 2013. Our son was married recently in that area and we made our trips up there to coordinate vendors for the rehearsal dinner. Each time we stayed at the hotel, the rooms were exceptionally clean and the staff was very accommodating, helpful and so friendly. Special "shout outs" to the hotel manager Brian and Brett and Gina, both at the desk. We had a couple of emergency bookings for the wedding and no matter how stressed I was, they were calm and solved my problems. Even the maintenance men were polite.The breakfast was good, always hot, and fresh. The women in the kitchen were pleasant and helpful. We had out of town guests stay here for the wedding and everyone commented how great their stay was. Housekeeping got them all into their rooms in plenty of time for the ceremony. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to the Hudson Valley in NY!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattilynW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I've stayed at several Holiday Inn Express Hotels for various events as I follow my children around the country and attend their college graduations. The HI Express in Chester was one of the nicest and most comfortable family hotels my wife and I have visited. The four rooms we reserved for family were very spacious with comfortable beds, large sitting areas with fold-out beds, large useful bathrooms, refrigerators and microwaves, and new LG TVs. The breakfast was plentiful and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly as they dealt with a deluge of parents attending the West Point graduation. In fact, on graduation day the Staff got up early to ensure that breakfast was ready by 5:00 am(!) so all the visiting parents/family could eat and be on their way to West Point, which opened the gates early that day. That was service beyond the call. Just as nice, Chester is surrounded by very pretty towns (Warwick was my favorite) that provide surprisingly fine dining and wonderful sightseeing. If you're visiting West Point just know that Chester is about 35-40 minutes away (in good weather), but the drive is pretty. You might be able to find closer lodging, but after having stayed in Newburgh and Nanuet over the years, this hotel just past the Central Valley has lots to offer, including shopping for all those things you forgot but can easily purchase at Walmart, Target, Kohl's, Staples, and a myriad of other well-known stores. If we return for football games or other events in the future we will definitely stop at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferdie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn &; Suites Goshen / Middletown
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
751 reviews
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Middletown
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Middletown
Holiday Inn Middletown
#6 of 9 in Middletown
173 reviews
8.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Central Valley
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Address: 2 Bryle Pl, 2 Bryle Place, Chester, NY 10918-3300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Chester! Conveniently located in the beautiful Hudson Valley area, the Holiday Inn Express, Chester is just 8 miles from the Woodbury Common Premium Outlets and 20 miles from West Point Military Academy, Bear Mountain State Park and Mountain Creek Ski and Water Park. The Chester Industrial Park, less then 1 mile away, includes companies such as C&S Wholesale Grocers, Amscan and Steris. Also, located close by, Orange Regional Medical Center and Saint Anthony's Community Hospital. If you are flying into the Orange County area, we are 17 miles away from Stewart International Airport, and 60 miles from JFK, LaGaurdia and Newark Airports. Public transportation to and from New York City is available through Shortline Bus/Coach USA Company, 1 mile from Holiday Inn Express and Metro-North Train Station only 8 miles from Holiday Inn Express. Come Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Chester! Relax and enjoy by our large heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi. The complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar includes our signature cinnamon rolls - delicious! All rooms have coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the entire hotel. Planning a meeting or event in the area? The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester has a board room and a party room - great for baby or wedding showers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Monroe - Goshen Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing