We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location-good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chester
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location-good service”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Recently, I stayed at this Holiday Inn in Chester, New York on August 14, 2014.
I arrived a bit earlier and thanks to the front desk clerk, Morris, he was able to have my room
ready at 2:30pm with a front view and in a quiet location away from truck noise on Route 17.

The clerk exhibited professional service and I appreciated his effort. This hotel was within
reach of a jazz musician festival in Hudson Valley performing at that time. Had a great time.

Room Tip: choose a front room on first or second floor away from route 17 noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tg2151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear TG2151,
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in Chester, NY. I would like to personally thank you for the wonderful comments regarding one of our valued employees Morris who was able to accommodate you during your stay with your preferences in room location and early check in. I have presented your comments to Morris and we will acknowledge and recognize him during our next staff meeting. We look forward to your future stay with us.

Thank you,

Jayson Rivera
General Manager
845.469.3000
jayson.rivera@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    73
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
82
40
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Due to my husband and I's current living situation we were placed at this hotel, quite convenient in retrospect of location and being that the highway is easily accessible - I thought perfect. There are also plenty of restaurants and nightlife around the area and even in walk-able distance. Not to mention they are a pet-friendly hotel (which is also a perk). The employees are friendly especially at the front desk and in the kitchen area... and the hot breakfast was a pleasant surprise (eggs, bacon, sausage, turkey sausage was offered as well, muffins)... however, the cleanliness factor plays a major role in my negative rating. There are garbage cans located outside of the side entrances of the hotel that were always over-flowing with garbage (once there was a dirty diaper and empty Chinese take out boxes scattered around the ground next to the tiny can). Another suggestion is that being that this facility is a pet-friendly environment they should also provide a designated area to dispose of the dog's feces, so that once we have curbed him we don't have to throw the bag into the can right outside of the entrance. The staff who cleaned the rooms also were not thorough... vacuuming was not done, toilet was not cleaned, and the coffee pot was not replaced with a clean one and all of the surface areas were sticky not to mention dusting would of been nice on the glass bathroom shelves. Since our stay at the hotel was quite lengthy (almost a month) we only requested room service once a week - the room should of been cleaned to an acceptable manner. Also we were offered an upgrade twice, but every time we agreed to it they were "suddenly booked to capacity" and the air conditioner in our room worked poorly. Constantly set on 65 but always hovering around the mid seventy's. Overall, our stay was ok - would probably stay at the Holiday Inn in Goshen, which is less then 10 mins from Chester.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peanut_5165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Purr8728,
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. I would like to personally apologize for the room not being cleaned to your standards and garbage cans being full by the side entrances. Our hotel staff has been made aware of the situation and our priority is to make sure those trash cans are being emptied regularly. Please let us know when your room is not being cleaned to your liking because it can be corrected immediately if it is brought up to our attention. Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our location and the easy access to the highway. I would like to thank you again for the wonderful comments regarding our front desk and breakfast staff friendliness. The breakfast is one of my favorites here and we always have plenty of eggs, bacon and sausage! We look forward to your future stay with us.

Thank you,

Jayson Rivera
General Manager
845.469.3000
jayson.rivera@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

great free hot breakfast; nice pool.. we were told a baseball team would be staying there and we asked to not be near them so management obliged. close to highway and NYC about an hour away. room was updated and bathroom nice and large

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkwiatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear mkwiatk,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in Chester, NY. I would like to personally thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our great free hot breakfast and our nice pool. On behalf of the staff we are glad that you were very happy with the room we recommended. We look forward to your future stay with us.

Thank you,

Jayson Rivera
General Manager
845.469.3000
jayson.rivera@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel overall was very nice. The room was clean. The breakfast had the standard nice variety of Holiday Inn Express hotels. I would stay again at this hotel. The hotel was a 50 minute drive to Loch Sheldrake in the Catskills and there was no traffic when I drove early Friday morning.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Professor18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Professor18,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in Chester, NY. I would like to thank you for the wonderful comments regarding the hotel overall being very nice and the room being clean. Our staff does a great job in changing the breakfast menu and having a good variety each day. We look forward to your future stay with us.

Thank you,

Jayson Rivera
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
845.469.3000
jayson.rivera@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We had a good visit that was going bad however management made up for it and tried to correct everything. The old mattress wasn't getting fixed during our visit but I'm sure they are going to fix. The mass of kids going to a baseball tournament couldn't be fixed but they tried to contain then group, kids will be kids. Nice place overall.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nysaao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Nysaao,
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in Chester, NY. We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our staff and glad that we were able to correct any issues right away. Hotel has purchased new mattresses and we have replaced the ones needed to be replaced. We look forward to your future stay with us.

Thank you,

Jayson Rivera
General Manager
845.469.3000
jayson.rivera@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nice bright clean room. I always stay at Holiday Inn because they use white bedding, so it's easy to see if there are any stains and makes you feel that it's cleaner. The room we had was very big and the bathroom was updated. The air conditioning system worked well. One thing I would complain about is if you want a room with 2 beds instead of 1 king bed, there is an extra charge. This isn't the case at most other hotels. Also, I called reception the night before check out to request a later check out, and they said I would have to call back in the morning to request this, as they couldn't make the decision. It kind of defeated the purpose, as I wanted a late check out so that I could sleep in, but still had to wake up early to call and ask for a later check out in the morning. On the upside. they had free chocolate chip cookies at the front desk, which was a nice touch. One thing I would like to see at Holiday Inn's in the future is non-carpeted rooms. There is always a slight smell with carpeted rooms, and you never know how dirty the carpets are. With floors, it's easier to see if it's clean and the smells would be eliminated.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Wanderer786,
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. I will follow up with my staff regarding the late check outs and will be corrected right away. Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the size of our guestrooms and updated bathrooms. We are glad that you enjoyed our chocolate chip cookies that we make each morning. I will pass the information along to our corporate office regarding the wood floors. We look forward to your future stay with us.

Thank you,

Jayson Rivera
General Manager
845.469.3000
jayson.rivera@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel and while it is right off of Route 17, it is very quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the HVAC in the room worked great. Breakfast was plentiful as well. It was also great having a fridge in the room. Not every hotel offers that. This hotel is near Woodbury Commons which is very convenient if you are coming to shop. I would absolutely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkWoodmanGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear MarkWoodmanGM,
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in Chester, NY. I would like to personally thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our hotels location right off Route 17, our beds being very comfortable and the HVAC in the room worked great. Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to your future trip to Chester!

Thank you,

Jayson Rivera
General Manager
845.469.3000
jayson.rivera@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn &; Suites Goshen / Middletown
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
7.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
8.6 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 9 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Address: 2 Bryle Pl, 2 Bryle Place, Chester, NY 10918-3300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Chester! Conveniently located in the beautiful Hudson Valley area, the Holiday Inn Express, Chester is just 8 miles from the Woodbury Common Premium Outlets and 20 miles from West Point Military Academy, Bear Mountain State Park and Mountain Creek Ski and Water Park. The Chester Industrial Park, less then 1 mile away, includes companies such as C&S Wholesale Grocers, Amscan and Steris. Also, located close by, Orange Regional Medical Center and Saint Anthony's Community Hospital. If you are flying into the Orange County area, we are 17 miles away from Stewart International Airport, and 60 miles from JFK, LaGaurdia and Newark Airports. Public transportation to and from New York City is available through Shortline Bus/Coach USA Company, 1 mile from Holiday Inn Express and Metro-North Train Station only 8 miles from Holiday Inn Express. Come Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Chester! Relax and enjoy by our large heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi. The complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar includes our signature cinnamon rolls - delicious! All rooms have coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the entire hotel. Planning a meeting or event in the area? The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester has a board room and a party room - great for baby or wedding showers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Monroe - Goshen Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing