We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best”
Review of Friends Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Friends Lake Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We have been guest at the inn 8-10 times a year for the past 4 years, the food, the staff and rooms are wonderful. As a foodie, chef matt and chef scott execute the menu without fail. We have enjoyed many wine diners and weekend getaways and have never been disappointed . Love spending time at the inn!! What a great spot!!

Room Tip: So close to Saratoga, Lake George, ski resorts it's so worth going any time of the year!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

The staff really make the experience at Friends Lake great. They seemed genuinely happy to see guests. The room was traditional but not old feeling.

Our dinner was phenomenal, and I will likely dream of the key lime cheesecake for years!

We had a nice paddle on Friends Lake, it is beautiful and we even saw two loons.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a view of the lake, private screened porch and a steam shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPOtto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We spent an anniversary weekend here recently. The friends Lake Inn is a very special hideaway. The meals were 4 star, and our room accommodations could not have been more inviting,comfortable and charming. And a very special thanks to all the staff who could not have been kinder when we experienced a health related issue. With our deep appreciation and with plans to return! Veronica and Louis

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veronique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband whisked me away for an overnight and it was marvelous. We stayed in the River Rock room and everything was exactly what I had hoped for. The room was cozy, the fireplace was ready for fire. They gave you some CDs and a CD player. There was a common room with games and a fridge stocked for the taking. The grounds were immaculate and inviting. Everyone was friendly and genuine! It felt very much like home, freedom to roam and do as you please without restriction. The martinis was healthy and the menu was interesting and well done. Our service was a slow for a slow night which was disappointing but I had no other place I wanted to be then there with my husband. So we just drank and waited for the food. I didn't care for the cider mussels as much as I wanted to but the steaks were phenominal. Food good- wine better! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: River rock has a great view and is comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This place is the closest thing to perfect I have ever found in Upstate NY.

1. Each room is distinctive, mine was quiet and comfortable, and I recommend getting one with steam shower and/or hot tub. (If you need a TV let them know in advance some rooms have some do not).
2. Cross-country skiing and snow shoe trails have something for all skill levels.
3. Food is five-star and so is the service that comes with it.
4. Overall service is attentive, friendly, and I think psychic I felt like they were one step ahead of me all the time.
5. Wine selection is amazing (go downstairs and check out wine room and store) great selections very reasonably priced.
6. Nice wine bar and wide selection of other libations.

Other things; close to Gore Mountain, 30 min or less to Lake George, 45 minutes to Lake Placid.

Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fourbirds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Friends Lake Inn a number of times and consider it one of our favorite places in the Adirondacks. This year we decided to stay for my birthday and took a scenic ride in a helicopter. The staff was friendly and most gracious. My husband had some dietary issues and each meal was served with those considerations in mind.Each meal was wonderful complemented by the wait staff and wonderful surroundings. Our room was comfortable and had all the amenities we wanted: wonderful view, a comfortable bed, sitting area, and lovely bathroom with a steam shower and jacuzzi. They also have impressive wine cellar and wine selection.The staff is knowledgeable about wines help helps you select just the right one for your meal. We'll be back that's for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

My family and I have eaten here regularly since 1985. We love this place and it continues to please so many years later! Not far from Gore mountain and near all of the amazing hiking and lake fun of the Adirondacks. The crepe with lobster and scallops with a buerre blanc sauce is one of my favorite apps anywhere in the world! Just love it. The wine list is most definitely the best in upstate NY. A binder of pages and pages of the best wines in the world. This place is just the best!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
7.9 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
134 reviews
13.7 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
70 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2 mi away
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Chestertown
59 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Lake Inn

Address: 963 Friends Lake Rd, Chestertown, NY 12817-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Chestertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range: £180 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Friends Lake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friends Lake Inn, a member of Select Registry. Is a luxury Adirondack hotel offering romantic lodging and two on-site dining options; our fine dining restaurant and welcoming taproom featuring regional beers. Guests are treated to a full made-to-order breakfast each morning. Property amenities include access to Friends Lake and complimentary kayaks, a heated swimming pool, sauna, miles of hiking trails, and on-site cross country ski and snowshoe rentals. The perfect "all inclusive" getaway in the Southern Adirondacks Mountains! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Friends Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Friends Lake Hotel Chestertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing