We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adirondack Lodge”
Review of Friends Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Friends Lake Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adirondack Lodge”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Although skeptical about being off the beaten path we were more than pleasantly surprised by the location and accomodations and food at this beautiful lodge. Across the street is a beautiful lake with canoes and kayaks gratis from the lodge. We stayed in one of the Adirondack rooms which had a huge fireplace and looked out over the lawn, gardens and pool. Also a sauna building. The restaurant which is also open to the public is beyond description. The food was some of the best we ever had. NOt to be missed. Breakfast was also a wonderful delight with a range of choices. Nearby is the town of Bolton Landing, Lake George and the Northway I87.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but the Adirondack rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenKap70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    30
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
138
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at the Inn over two nights, very welcoming, friendly staff. Food is amazing, wine list is endless, and the outdoor amenities, including access to one of the areas only private lakes, lets you work off all the great food. Paul, the sommelier spent the time to get to know us, what we liked and disliked, and then selected the best bottle of wine I've ever had. Drank it on our own private balcony overlooking the night stars, very romantic. Our room had a king size bed, jacuzzi tub, private balcony, and cookies awaiting our arrival. Perfect balance of home and hotel. Worth the drive and the cost, I'd stay here again, and again, and again.

Room Tip: New owners are many upgrading rooms, but the adirondack rooms are to die for. Well worth the extra c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Kara4414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tammy f, Owner at Friends Lake Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
The Inn is a great place to get away from it all! And it sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed all of the Inn's amenities - including the wine list! Please come back for a visit and sample our new craft beers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We overnighted at this rustic inn where everyone was friendly. We didn't meet the innkeepers so it was a bit impersonal. We had a large, simply furnished room with a king=size bed and a screened porch. The bathroom was large with an excellent stall shower. So, no complaints. Dinner which was part of our MAP was enjoyable - a moist chicken breast and a perfect beef tenderloin. The extensive breakfast was also fine. If this sounds a bit unenthusiastic we had been spoiled the night before at the really special Adair Country Inn in NH.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tammy f, Owner at Friends Lake Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I'm glad that you had a pleasant stay at the Inn. I'm sorry that I was unable to met you, but I am just returning to work after being off a bit with a knee problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for one night. The bed & breakfast is very nice, peaceful and relaxing. We very much enjoyde our stay. The dinner meal we had as part of the MAP was probably the highlight. The food and wine were excellent. The sommalier was very knowleagable and helped us select a really nice bottle of wine.
The grounds, for the most part, are very well kept. We were however dissapointed to find that there was bird droppings on the adirondack chairs in teh back yard that had not been cleaned.
The lake access is nice, but very small. We enjoyed taking the canoe out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tammy f, Owner at Friends Lake Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
I'm glad you found your trip relaxing. Our food and wine selection have both received numerous awards - I'm pleased you found them to your liking. I am sorry that the lawn chairs were unsatisfactory. They are cleaned daily, but somehow nature finds a way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Cannot say enough of about this wonderful gem in the Adirondacks. Stayed for our anniversary and purchased the anniversary package. We stayed in Ledgestone; the most comfortable bed I ever slept in (feather topper). The bathroom was large with a jacuzzi tub and unbelievable 3 sided shower. The room had a love seat, fireplace, a small desk and sitting area and a balcony. There was a sitting are outside the room as well. Wine cellar was amazing and there is a nice billiard room downstairs. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Service was amazing, attentive and pleasant throughout the stay, they really went out of their way to make your anniversary special. The grounds were beautiful and the pool was very relaxing. Nice pool house with 2 separate rooms with showers and changing rooms. The Lake is across the street and kayaks are provided, very peaceful and calm private Lake. (only owners of homes allowed, no public access) Did not finish hiking as we went after a rain shower and forgot bug spray. Would love to visit in the winter to snow shoe on the trails. Very relaxing and romantic getaway.

Room Tip: The "Adirondack" rooms are the best, I believe there are only 4 or 6 at the moment, they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bette13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tammy f, Owner at Friends Lake Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for staying at the Inn! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will join us again.

P.S. - the feather toppers are great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Friends Lake Inn was a stopping-off point on a longer road trip to Canada, but it offers so much more than bed and breakfast. Our room (# 7) was large and comfortable, with a king-sized bed and a bathroom outfitted with a shower. It also had the added bonus of a TV, which is rare in this otherwise upscale property. It pays to read the room descriptions on their website carefully since each room is different, and you may find that one room offers features that are important to you while another does not. The food and wine in their on-site restaurant are topnotch, and a separate bar area has wine by the glass, beer and cocktails and smaller plates if you're not looking for a three-course dinner or more. For breakfast, they offer choices from a standard American menu, but you could add yummy homemade muffins, yogurt, fruit and other goodies from a table nearby. All the staff, from the owners to the servers, were friendly and accommodating. We'll definitely be back when our travels take us up this way again.

Room Tip: Room #7 faces the front of the property, but it's in a rural area and is quiet. It has a king-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tammy f, Owner at Friends Lake Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! While I am impartial - I agree the breakfast selection is great! We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyster Bay, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Wife and I needed a getaway weekend and the Friends lake Inn exceeded our expectations. Beautiful inn and the staff were excellent - very professional, courteous, and friendly. Enjoyed a nice hike in the woods, relaxed by a fire then had a great meal at the restaurant. Only problem was we wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
7.9 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
132 reviews
13.7 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
54 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
229 reviews
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.0 mi away
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Chestertown
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Lake Inn

Property: Friends Lake Inn
Address: 963 Friends Lake Rd, Chestertown, NY 12817-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Chestertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Friends Lake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friends Lake Inn, a member of Select Registry. Is a luxury Adirondack hotel offering romantic lodging and two on-site dining options; our fine dining restaurant and welcoming taproom featuring regional beers. Guests are treated to a full made-to-order breakfast each morning. Property amenities include access to Friends Lake and complimentary kayaks, a heated swimming pool, sauna, miles of hiking trails, and on-site cross country ski and snowshoe rentals. The perfect "all inclusive" getaway in the Southern Adirondacks Mountains! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Friends Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Friends Lake Hotel Chestertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing