We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Super Staff, Friendly & Professional”
Review of Friends Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Friends Lake Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2007

This is a first class operation. The service is top notch - friendly, professional and knowledgable. The food is just wonderful and the wait staff is the best I've encountered - ever. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chicagogirl7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 180 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2006

I had originally booked this "mini vacation" for my husband and myself as a Christmas present for my husband (of course, me too) and, to my surprise, realized I had a coupon that I could use to deduct a substantial amount from the price of the room. I contacted the inn to find out if it was applicable and, to my surprise, found out that the publication where the coupon came from, had erroneously printed the coupon. But, the innkeepers, who are both wonderful, friendly people, honored the coupon and for me......this was the start of a magical weekend. From beginning to end, my husband and I adored every minute we spent at Friends Lake Inn. The service is superb - they seem to almost anticipate your every want and need, the food is orgasmic to say the least, the rooms are wonderful and roomy - we had a room with an oversized tub and a deck (well, it was winter but it was nice to go out there anyway) and just a feeling of "home". And, the most wonderful part of all was....towards the end of this magical weekend, my husband actually wanted to book another visit (which, to say the least, is a miracle) which means he enjoyed it just as much as I had. This is definitely the place to go if you want excellent service, wonderful food, wine, lodging - and the feeling of being pampered from beginning to end!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cream0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2006

We first found Friends Lake Inn on the web while we were planning a trip to Gore Mountain, NY. We struggled with finding lodging in the area, and came across a published advertisement and several reviews of the Inn.
We booked our stay via the internet, only going on the pictures and descriptions listed. It was as if we were "going in blind". We did not expect anything extraordinary for the price we paid.
However, when we arrived late that night to check in, we were taken back by the Inn and it's beauty. The location was spectacular, and the appearance on the outside was fabulous. It was so great, that it looked out of place, in a sense.
When we arrived, we were immediately greeted. The staff knew who we were, why we were staying and even remembered speaking with me on the phone when I made our reservation. The gentleman who was working at the bar immediately insisted that he help with our luggage, and was unbelievably kind.
When we walked into our room, we were almost breathless. It was gorgeous. Everything was in immaculate condition, it just caught us completely off guard.
Later that evening, we got a chance to meet more of the staff. We met BJ, who works at the front desk of the inn. What an amazing person. We found out later during our stay, that she also worked at Gore Mountain and gave us some extremely useful tips on what, where and how to snowboard particular parts of the mountain.
The morning after our check in, we had the opportunity to meet our server in the main dining area. What a pleasant person. She went out of her way to bring breakfast to us, since my husband couldn't peel himself out of bed. Breakfast was incredible. Top notch to say the least.
Later during the trip, we ate at both the dining room, and at the smaller, more informal bar area. Both were absolutely divine.
I could go on for hours, but in essence, we have nothing but good things to say about the Inn. We highly recommend it. Thank you to the staff, so much, without you, it wouldn't have been such a great stay.

5 Stars. Hands down.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kanthony25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2006

My wife and I have been to the Friends Lake Inn three times now - we actually spent our honeymoon there. A fantastic inn - food to die for, a world class wine list that has won Wine Spectator's Grand Award a number of times, a cross-country ski lodge with miles of trails right next to the inn, and gracious hosts who spare no expense to make your stay a great one.

Definitely worth your while if you're in upstate New York. The Inn is located near Gore Mountain and several other ski destinations in the Adirondack Mountains

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank laliberte33401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2004

We stayed at Friends Lake Inn last fall and are returning again this year. What a perfect getaway inn. Gorgeous rooms, all with a view of the lake (just across the road) or their lovely little pond in the back.

We loved hanging out in their delightful 'pub" and enjoyed the restaurant with excellent menu choices and wine list. The staff was very gracious and friendly.

Lots of hiking trails are nearby and the lake is a pleasant diversion. They can arrange fishing and other outdoor activities both in winter and summer.

If you are looking for complete relaxation in a country setting, this is the place!

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank scubamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
East Brunswick, NJ
221
Reviewed 5 November 2003

We visited Friends Lake Inn last year for New Year's Eve (3 nights) and had a wonderful time. We stayed in an Adirondack Room and loved the romance and coziness. The restaurant is great and the staff very friendly and helpful. The only thing missing is afternoon tea, in the winter it is nice to come back from a day of adventure to a hot tea or coffee (they make a great hot chocolate too). We are returning this year with our parents and hoping to make this an annual family trip.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
7.9 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
134 reviews
13.7 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
69 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Chestertown
59 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Lake Inn

Address: 963 Friends Lake Rd, Chestertown, NY 12817-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Chestertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range: £160 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Friends Lake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friends Lake Inn, a member of Select Registry. Is a luxury Adirondack hotel offering romantic lodging and two on-site dining options; our fine dining restaurant and welcoming taproom featuring regional beers. Guests are treated to a full made-to-order breakfast each morning. Property amenities include access to Friends Lake and complimentary kayaks, a heated swimming pool, sauna, miles of hiking trails, and on-site cross country ski and snowshoe rentals. The perfect "all inclusive" getaway in the Southern Adirondacks Mountains! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Friends Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Friends Lake Hotel Chestertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing