We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to go for a horseback ride”
Review of Circle B Ranch

Circle B Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place to go for a horseback ride”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We family 4, 2 in 50's a 21 & 18 year old wanted to horseback ride.
After looking around, we found the Circle B Ranch.
It is out of the way. ie. not a lakeside attraction.
The ride there was very pleasant.
When we arrived we were asked to watch an instructuional video on horseback riding.
It was helpful.
After we paid for the 60 min. ride using $3 off coupons found on their web site.
It is for the 9AM ride.
Cost $130 for 4. It was a good deal.
Kyle our guide and another woman helped us mount.
We were lead through a few fields then onto a set of winding trails.
It was fun. We meandered mostly.
My horse, Larry, galloped once which was a tad scary.
60 Min. is plenty of time. At about 45 min. my legs were aching a little.
My wife wished there was a view we could ride to.
Our son wished we galloped more.
I gave Kyle a $10 tip.
He was friendly & helpful.
Maybe next time we will gallop.
Want to ride a horse on a trail try Circle B Ranch

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrugaltravelerGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    12
    2
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Le Roy, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Experience”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We took our boys here for a horseback ride, ages 8 and 10. They have never ridden before so we wanted them to have a great experience and they definitely did. Everyone here is very professional and courteous. It is an experience they will never forget. We paid for an hour trail ride. They first have you watch a safety video which really helps, especially with new riders. Then they take you up into the woods on their trails. It was a slow ride because of the kids but enjoyable. Thanks Circle B!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank skima9097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester,New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth $40 per person”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our guide was very nice, but kept stopping to give us history lessons ... We spent more time stopping than riding. Very disappointing. We will use another company next time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rustysmom_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla M, Front Office Manager at Circle B Ranch, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We at Circle B Ranch have just read your recent TripdAdvisor review and after discussing it with your guide, we felt some explanation and clarification should be made on your experience. Safety is our number one concern for our guests. As you will remember, you purchased two 1 hour group rides with Circle B Ranch, not PRIVATE rides. There were three adults in your group and one child, about 8 years old, named Clint accompanying you. You said you had some experience riding. The others, including the child, had none. At times the child and other riders were lagging behind in line. From a safety standpoint this had to be addressed until everyone caught up. That accounted for some of the stopping and having the opportunity to give some local info about the historic Adirondack Mountains. The ride itself lasted about 15 minutes more than the purchased hour. Our guide assured us he did everything he could from a safety standpoint to make your trail ride enjoyable, even giving you the opportunity to trot at times. At the end of the ride the guide gave Clint a souvenir horseshoe from the ranch for encouragement.
The actual cost of the ride was $38, not $40, which is the lowest cost for any one hour ride in the area. You may want to consider a private ride when booking in the future. A private ride would suit your needs and individual interests wherever you may choose to have your next riding experience.

Ride Safe,
Circle B Ranch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great time with friendly people and great horses.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went for a trail ride for an hour and a half. The cost was very affordable. I've been riding for most of my life but my boyfriend has only been on a horse a couple of times. They paired us up with horses that were very mellow and gentle. Joe and Paul would check with us before we changed gaits to a trot or canter to make sure that we were okay. Chris, Joe, and Paul were fantastic and knowledgeable. Paul even offered to take pictures for us while we were riding since we didn't bring a camera with us. Can't wait to see how they came out. I would recommend this ranch to anyone wanting to try horse back riding.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slingerlands, New York
1 review
“Another perfect outing at Circle B”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What can you say when you receive perfect service yet again in the same location? Thank you Chris! Thank you Paul! My daughter and I visited circle B again yesterday after having a great time the first time only to witness these guys out do themselves!

Michele knew after the first visit that this is where she wanted to celebrate her birthday. These guys put smiles on 3 twelve year old girls' faces an 2 adults who have very limited horse experience. All laughed and all learned and all were kept safe. What more can you ask for?

Old school service is still alive at Circle B.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JZM12159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Circle B Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Circle B Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing