We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hemlock Ledge - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Hemlock Ledge
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
255 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I went here for dinner last night for the first time, since it had been Anywhere's and have to say we were very impressed. I had the French Onion Soup and the Coconut Shrimp. Everyone else had Burgers and fries, which also looked great and kind of reminded my husband of Mc Donald's fries, in a good way. We will be back, can't wait to try other items on the menu. Thank you Steve and the rest of your staff!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Recommend it whole heartedly. Everyone gets treated like family. Go there all of the time. Most of all the food is always excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestertown, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Frequent visitor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We like this restaurant very much. They have an eclectic, always changing, selection of craft beers and the food is consistently good. As others have said, the burgers are among the best around and they are served perfectly from rare to well done - what ever you request.

The menu is not large but there is a good variety. All the portions are good size, but if you are really hungry I suggest the pork chops which are done superbly with a great mushroom gravy. A really good light meal is the broiled shrimp salad. Their soups are terrific, and you hit the jackpot if they are serving either their spicy crab soup or their buffalo chicken soup the day you are there.

Service is normally quite good and friendly. This is not the place for an intimate candle lit dinner, and the décor is nothing special but for an excellent meal at a good price, you won't go wrong at the Hemlock Ledge. If something does go wrong, I strongly suggest you speak with the owners who will go out of their way to correct the problem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank loon1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good burgers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Loved the burgers. Small restaurant and bar on Main Street in Chestertown with great burgers. I had a turkey burger with sautéed spinach and feta. It comes with a wheat wrap but I asked for it without the wrap and no problem. All their burgers come with either French fries or salad...how great! Since I'm trying to diet, I had a salad, lettuce, onions, and great tomatoes! (Might be the time of year). Others with us had meat burgers and enjoyed them very much. Nice little place in a nice little town near Loon Lake in the Adirondacks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“When it was good, it was very, very good and when it was bad...it was horrid.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We ate here based on the TripAdvisor reviews and were somewhat disappointed. The decor inside and the outside appearance didn't really bother us since we were in a small town in the Adirondacks, but we expected better of the food. Starting out, the Chicken Buffalo Soup was excellent and we anticipated the entree special would be the same. Unfortunately neither of the 2 of us, that ordered the Sesame Beef, could eat it. Odd taste and mushy rice. The green beans were the best item on the plate.
The hamburger was nothing special but there were lots of fries and they were excellent. The chili was very good too.
The waitress was very friendly and pleasant. However, when I told her we couldn't eat the Sesame Beef she didn't ask us to explain.
We probably should give it another try, but not sure we will

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pasrts4046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hemlock Ledge also viewed

 
Chestertown, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing