We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual find”
Review of The Bullhouse

The Bullhouse
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Chestertown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Latin, American, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bullhouse has the delicious Latin American comfort food that you crave in an upscale, yet casual environment in the heart of Chestertown. Our wide range of entree choices include steaks ranging from a 22 oz. prime strip steak, to a Black Angus prime sirloin. We have seafood, soups, and salads as well. Join us for tapas and starters such as the Beef Empanadas. Pumpkin Raviolis, or Smoked Mozzarella. While you're at it, our full bar has an impressive selection of craft beers and fine wine to go along with your unforgettable meal. Looking for a quick bite in the late afternoon? Join us for happy hour every day from 5 - 6PM where you can check out our buy one, get one free special on draft beer, domestic bottles, house wines and spirits! If you're interested in a friendly competition with your friends, stop by on Thursday nights for Trivia Night. At The Bullhouse, we have a passion for quality food that encompasses far-reaching varieties of flavor that we're confident will exceed your standards of what Latin American cuisine can be. We're located in the historical Remington Building which will create a classical charm to go along with your dining experience. Whether you're a Chestertown local or someone from out of town, we're looking forward to you joining us here at the Bullhouse.
Clinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unusual find”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Did not expect to find such fine dining in this very small town but it was a delightful evening of Tex-Mex food, ate in the bar as it was a quiet evening, good food, large portions! Nice wine selection., not your usual Mexican fare, thankfully, they put a twist on it! Spicy!
Hope they make it! Looks like they will have outdoor seating with a fire pit, should be fun in the ski season! Try it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valekthekidd, Manager at The Bullhouse, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
I'm very glad that you found us! And enjoyed your evening with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive words. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    40
    11
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Place for Apps!!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Cant go wrong with apps here! Shrimp, calamari and white chicken chili will never disappoint! Added cornbread to our list on last visit...now we are complete! Staff very friendly. When customers get anxious they need to remember that most of them are on vacation and need to RELAX!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mona06457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestertown, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My new favorite restaurant!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have never been to the Bullhouse in Chestertown until last Friday evening because I had heard from many people that it is overpriced and the menu is limited. Well, let me tell you....they were wrong! A friend of ours asked us to meet her there for a few cocktails after work. I apprehensively agreed. We were so impressed with the prices, service and quality of food that we went back again on Saturday evening for dinner.
You can get a great glass of wine for $5.00 and a beer for $3.00 (some of the lowest prices around!!). Our dinner was equisite and plentiful....I left feeling full and we even needed a doggy bag for leftovers.
The barmaid, Andrea was very pleasant and super attentive as was the waitress the next evening when we had dinner there. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this restaurant if you have not already tried it and if you have, I am sure that we will see you there real soon!!

Trish
Chestertown, NY

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a new restaurant,and it was decorated very nicely. Food was amazing, cooked perfectly. Actually ended up putting me in a food coma..lol very hip place, everything is ran with iPads/tablets which is very neat. Staff was great also.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lilmami2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Westchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent new eatery for apres ski or any other night”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

On our second visit, we had a table of six, after a glorious day of skiing. The Bull House is a wonderful reincarnation of the old Ice Cream Parlor in Chestertown. Service is prompt, smart, friendly. The grilled caesar salad was a hit, as were all of our entrees including succulent pork shanks over sweet mash, white chicken cannelloni chili, spilled steak salad, steaks. The presentation and quality were top notch, confirming The Bull House as a go to place in the ADKs. Lets hope they gain the traction they need to grow and prosper.

Excellent job, Bull House staff, best of luck

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harvsibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bullhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Bullhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing