We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Long Time Favorite”

Main St Ice Cream Parlor
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Chestertown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family owned business that opened in 1990. Our restaurant specializes in soups, sandwiches, salads. All food is prepared from scratch, in the summer we grow our vegetables/herbs organically in our garden. Located upstairs you will find a unique clothing boutique and gift shop. We are open 7 days a week with extended hours in the summer.
Pottersville, Ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Long Time Favorite”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Outstanding sandwiches, wonderful soups, and their egg-creams are a taste of the Bronx! The parking lot can be difficult, but street parking is usually possible.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    39
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Apalachin, New York
Level Contributor
474 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Retro Ice Cream Parlor”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very retro ice cream parlor located in a old one room school house. We had some very good sandwiches for lunch and top it off with some cool ice cream (Hersey's ?) on a very hot/humid day after doing some white water rafting. The place caught our eye so we tried it out and were not disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank msmacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Creative Breakfast”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Good value, enjoy the maple waffles served with maple caramel ice cream! Friendly fast service. Offers lunch service too, we will try that next time. we had a group of 9 and that sat us fast with a smile

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaileysJazzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Original soda fountain with great food!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My girl friends and I spent a long weekend at Loon Lake in the Adirondack Mts. recently. We looked at our AAA Tour Book for restaurants, etc., and the Main St Ice Cream Parlor was one of the very few restaurants written up. This is an old fashioned soda fountain with soups, sandwiches, and salads, along with ice cream. The ice cream is made by Hershey's but the food is all homemade and is delicious. Since I'm dieting, I had a salad plate with tuna fish, cottage cheese, and a whole array of fresh and delicious fruits and vegetables. There was probably enough for two people. My friend had a turkey sandwich on marble rye bread with all the fixings and ate the whole thing. Portions are not skimpy. Of course we had to have some ice cream, although I was a tiny bit disappointed that it was not homemade, given we were in a very small town. But the sundae we shared was very good and did not disappoint.

The restaurant boasts all kinds of Coca-Cola paraphernalia...old fashioned coke machines and signs that brought back lots of memories, especially if you are over 60 years old. There is also a gift shop upstairs which is quite extensive. I found that there were not too many shops in the whole town so if you are looking for nice gifts and souvenirs, this is a good place to shop. I bought my 5 year old grandson "moose" socks. They also sell homemade candy and pastries but being that it was summer and hot, we couldn't take a chance in bringing any of it back with us.

If you are near Loon Lake or Lake George, don't miss this little gem...good food, good prices, and a very homey atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An excellent choice in Chestertown”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I have been coming to the Ice Cream Parlor for the past two years and find an exceptional place for lunch, and now breakfast too. The soups, sandwiches are the best. The owner Bruce makes absolutely world class soups and you can't go wrong. There is also a special where you can choose a half of sandwich and have a cup of soup. But once you taste Bruce's soups you will have wished you ordered a bowl. The Ice Cream Parlor will remind you of soda fountains from years past. And you can even get an egg cream or a delicious ice cream soda. Don't miss the Ice Cream Parlor and it is worthy of a stop right off of Exit 25 of the Northway.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sicuani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Main St Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

 

Been to Main St Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing