We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint - kitschy and good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main St Ice Cream Parlor

Main St Ice Cream Parlor
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Chestertown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family owned business that opened in 1990. Our restaurant specializes in soups, sandwiches, salads. All food is prepared from scratch, in the summer we grow our vegetables/herbs organically in our garden. Located upstairs you will find a unique clothing boutique and gift shop. We are open 7 days a week with extended hours in the summer.
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
170 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quaint - kitschy and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Right in the heart of Chestertown, New York you'll find a yellow clapboard building which looks like an old school house, which it was. We were here for lunch. We had to wait but not a problem as the restaurant has great gifts to check out. We had tuna melts, BLT, chicken cordon blue and milk shakes. Oh, and not to forget a super homemade apple caramel pie. The tuna could have had a little bit less mayonnaise and was a bit greasy; however, we will be back. The owner of the restaurant greets you at the door. She is very friendly. Our server was ok and seemed, at first, a bit abrupt but then was ok. Recommendation. Go

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DHudsonValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    39
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun place to stop for a quick bite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Visited on 8/11/2014

Cute little place on the main street (ha!) that runs through a town that you will miss if you blink.

This place has obviously been here for years, and is full of both old signs and even older photos. Very lively atmosphere.

The food was so-so. I had a club that had some very tasty mayo on it; I believe it was dill that was mixed in. I had ordered the cole slaw, but apparently they ran out. I found out by noticing macaroni salad on my plate and when I asked the waitress she recalled that they ran out of cole slaw hours ago. I had also requested no cheese, and the club was delivered with cheese.

I attribute the lack of attention-to-detail to the business and multitasking the waitresses were responsible for, as ours disappeared for a good 10 minutes while she attended to a group that came in for ice cream. As a result she was tied up at the counter.

My wife also had a dish of ice cream that was tasty and plentiful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Great fun place !!!!!! Good prices, service and atmosphere. You will see families, seniors, business people, and if you are from the area ...... probably friends. A must place to try. You WILL return ..... unless you are just passing through!

Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Went here on a recommendation from a local. It is a throwback to a former time--white tables and chairs, old signs, Coke memorabilia. Then, surprisingly, a fantastic burger. Make sure you leave room for ice cream! And the servers were very good!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dmtmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stopped by for lunch and were very pleasantly surprised. This is obviously a popular place to eat and we were lucky to get a table. The "Grownup Grilled Cheese" sandwich was delicious.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 190727Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Main St Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

 

Been to Main St Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing