We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as advertised!”
Review of Wooden Boat Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wooden Boat Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exactly as advertised!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A very lovely place. Very clean inside and on the grounds. Nice patio with picnic tables, general room w coffee, frig, microwave, washer and dryer. Stayed in Room 6 which also has a microwave and frig. 1/2 mile walk to town on residential streets. Very quaint, cute town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lala941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    17
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
55
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were lucky to get a three night rental for the house. The owners usually only rent it by the week, but they were not booked when we called on short notice. This place was perfect! It was clean, well equipped, and located on a quiet street just blocks from the waterfront. We had a late arrival and the key was left for us in the described location as promised. We hope to be able to stay against next year.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SJAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My only negative comment is that there was no one in the office when we arrived and no instructions on how to get our ro key. Thankfully one of the other guests had us check the mailbox. That same guest also gave us a great orientation to the Inn and the area. We loved both!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We just happened upon the Wooden Boat, after knocking on doors of Clayton bed and breakfasts and finding no one home. Our good fortune! Number to call was on office door, with note that there was vacancy. Called owner, obtained combination to lock box, gave card info, checked in within minutes. Reminded me of home in southern Indiana- friendly, trusting- very refreshing! CLEAN room and bathroom; updated; updated, tasteful. Nice screened-in porch, coffee, fridge, microwave, all clean and neat as a pin. Few blocks walk to town. Lovely!!!!!

Room Tip: Very small motel; would guess every room is just as nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We returned to Wooden Boat Inn last week. Wonderful, once again. As long as we are traveling back and forth to Ontario, this will be a favorite stop. We really enjoy the village of Clayton, and the beauty of the St Lawrence Seaway. Wooden Boat Inn offers us a very comfortable, quiet and affordable place to rest.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Last June my boyfriend planned a mini vacation for our anniversary. Harts Wooden Boat Inn was one of the places we stayed, and it was wonderful. Our room was clean, quaint and just what we needed for a little escape. The grounds are very well kept with a sitting area with a outdoor fireplace and a nice kitchenette in an additional building where you can have coffee and make anything you like to eat (that you bring in) There also is a nice screened in sitting area to read in or watch tv. It really is a lovely place to stay and VERY clean. We are coming back this year, and I can't wait!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMaples27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriskany, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The Wooden Boat Inn was easy to find and centraly located. It was by far the nicest Hotel in Downtown Clayton. The shared patio and kitchenett was a great resource to have, and introduced us to other traverlers at the hotel. A very nice place at an affordable price.

Room Tip: The single rooms were cozy. If you are traveling with a big family you may want to rent the house on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cburtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.6 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
11.3 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
11.2 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
10.9 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
11.1 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Boat Inn

Property: Wooden Boat Inn
Address: 606 Alexandria St, Clayton, NY 13624-1302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wooden Boat Inn is located in Historic Clayton Village on the corner of Union and Alexandria St. Just one block from the world famous Antique Boat Museum. There are many unique shops to visit and restaurants to choose from. Enjoy a scenic boat tour around the Thousand Islands St. Lawrence River and be sure to visit the impressive Boldt and Singer Castles. Fishing and scuba diving guides and boat rentals are just a short drive from the village. There's also a public boat launch and overnight dockage nearby. Whatever it is that brings you here we want you to feel at home with us at the Inn. Make sure you ask Berny and Valeriee about their custom Captain Visgar Island Tour of 1892. ASK ABOUT THE ADMIRALTY SUITE. THIS IS A TWO PRIVATE STATEROOM, ENSUITE BATHROOMS, FULL KITCHEN, AND AN ARE THAT OVERLOOKS THE FINEST MARINA IN THE ISLANDS. ACTUALLY IT IS A 36 FOOT YACHT. A CLASSIC ALBIN TRAWLER. DUE TO THE SIZE OF OUR INN, THE LOCAL POLICIES OF OTHER INNS AND HOTELS, AND THE NATURE OF THE SEASONAL BUSINESS ATMOSPHERE THE WOODEN BOAT INN CANCELLATION POLICY IS 30 DAYS. CALL US IF THERE IS AN ISSUE AND MAYBE WE CAN RESOLVE IT WITH YOU. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing