We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Breakfast”
Review of PJS Riverrat Cafe

PJS Riverrat Cafe
Ranked #21 of 31 Restaurants in Clayton
Price range: US$8 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Waitstaff
Description: Family style specializing in Captains Fish Fry and Commanders Prime Rib. We have a full service bar as well.
Rochester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What can I say....this night club cooks one hell of a yummy breakfast. The pancakes are the size of a large dinner plate, the breakfast sandwich is outstanding, and the prices are reasonable. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a delicious, affordable breakfast in Alexandria Bay!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PunkyLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

No rare prime rib. No baked potatoes - how can you be out of potatoes? No red meat period. Shrimp Scampi was on bread ?????? Had a coupon that they said was a mis-print. Hmmmm. Waitress had a dirty shirt on and we were the first people thier for dinner. We try it every year but the results are the same. Only thing consistent is the liver and onions are real good .........

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huffer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
274 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nothing terrible, but nothing really good either.”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and her friend had Haddock that they said was okay. I had fried chicken that obviously came out of a box from the freezer. It wasn't good at all. To make matters worse they way over cooked it, too. We won't go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We ended up here when the restaurant we set out for was packed & no parking was available. We were a little wary, because the outside appearance looked like it was a bar first, with restaurant playing second fiddle. Inside, the bar area and dining room were well separated, and our server was friendly and accommodating. Two of us got crabcake dinners, which were downright cheap at 12.99 for two crabcakes with salad, vegetable and potato. Our third companion got the fish fry for 9.99. Unexpectedly good, and when I asked for tartar sauce, our server brought a generous condiment potful instead of the thimble-size portion most places dole out grudgingly,
By no means a fancy place, but it was clean & cheerful, with good service and nightly specials. We were satisfied, and would go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great local place. Good prices.”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This is a great local place. Looks better inside than outside. Known for their famous Prime Rib and Fish Fry. A good place to stop for a good meal at a good price. Families welcome. Located on the main road between Abay and Clayton.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PJS Riverrat Cafe also viewed

 

Been to PJS Riverrat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing