We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to return year after year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Winds Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Winds Motel & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to return year after year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Have been coming to west winds for 15 years and have stayed in motel rooms and cottages. All are extremely clean and well kept. Improvements are made yearly. The owners, Sherri and Harv, are on property. Staff, including Don,Gordy, Gale, and Tammy are always accomodating. The marina is protected and is also on property. Your boat is in walking distance from your room or cottage. The grounds and pool are well maintained. Will continue to return. Restaurants and shopping are close by.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolDSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
34
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We arrived very LATE on a Friday evening so the office was closed. I called to let them know and they said no problem! The light & heat in our room was on and our key was on the dresser. It was just my husband and I so we stayed in the motel, room #3. It was so very homey and comfortable - we will definitely be back to saty in a cottage closer to the river!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Winfield, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

It was two years ago in august we went as a family to Clayton and stayed at the West Winds hotel. It was super. At night the owners were start a fire in the fire pit. Everyone staying there would come over. We all would start introducing ourselfs to one another. That was the high light of the evening. They have nice outside pool. You can take a walk down to the dock to see the river. They also have beautiful cabins you can stay in. They fill up fast. Motel rooms are very nice too. Check it out.

Room Tip: I like a room close to the fire pit. So we know when to walk over enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany NY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We chose West Winds partly because of T.A. reviews, and the high ratings were accurate. The motel and cottages sit atop a knoll overlooking the St.Lawrence, lovely view. There are docks where you can sit and watch the sunset while sipping a glass of wine. The motel units, where we stayed, are immaculately clean and well maintained. Bathrooms are small but fine. The TV got a lot of channels, including HBO. The manager, Don, was extremely helpful and friendly, clearly wanted us to have a great stay and made himself available at any time to help. In the evening he made a fire in the pit, so guests could sit and talk, have snacks, etc. The guests were friendly also, many of whom were regular visitors there. We were too late in the season for the pool, but it looked nice. West Winds was a great choice for our first 1000 islands stay. This isn't a slick, modern chain-type motel; it's a beautifully kept-up place with character, charm, and friendly people. And prices are extremely reasonable We were very happy with it, and hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

When we found West Winds in 1992 we were a family of five (now it is just the two of us) and have been going back since. Initially it was for 1 week and then we loved it there so much we started extending our stay until it was eventually 2 full weeks a year. We have a 21’boat that we dock right at West Winds. There’s nothing like waking up and seeing the river and all the traffic; lakers, salties (ocean going vessels ), tug boats and all the other water crafts. Let’s not forget about the wildlife that you can watch. There’s even a place that you can clean your fish, whether you catch it fishing from West Wind’s stone break wall that protects the boat area or catch it fishing from your boat. Then you can grill it on one of several grill provided.

During all these years Harv and Sherry, the owners, have added or improved many things on their property. I have been told there is a bonfire every night, but I have to admit that we haven’t taken advantage of these. Our interest is in using the boat as much as possible. It’s great to walk down stairs from the cottage to the boat dock and get into your boat and go for the day.

I would recommend West Winds to everyone. Harv, Sherry and the staff are great! We always look forward to our yearly 2 week stay here and it feels like our second home, but without all the work.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

The best motel & cottages in Clayton NY. The owners, Sherry & Harv are the best. Cleanliness excellant, Gail & Tamask make sure of that. The office staff when Sherry isn't there, couldn't be nicer or more helpful. The grounds and amenities perfect. Heated pool, bocci ball, gazebo, down to the gas grills for the guests to use couldn't be any better. We have been coming back every year for 18 yrs and will continue to do so. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reba O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

The rooms are a bit small and the bathroom is tiny (especially for a big man) but it makes up for it with charm, friendly service, great location, and very reasonable rates. No wonder it books up so quickly.

Located right on the St. Lawrence River, they have their own fishing dock. My daughter and I loved the swimming pool. Bonfires every night (bring marshmallows) were a great opportunity to meet other travelers.

My only complaint, besides the small bathroom, is that bed was quite hard. But despite these minor issues, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the motel. The rooms and bathrooms in the cabins might be larger. Check the virtual tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
2.4 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
13.2 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#4 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
7.4 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
7.7 mi away
Angel Rock Waterfront Cottages
Angel Rock Waterfront Cottages
#1 of 6 in Cape Vincent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Winds Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Winds Motel & Cottages

Property: West Winds Motel & Cottages
Address: 38267 NYS Route 12E, Clayton, NY 13624
Region: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on our spacious 5 acre grounds in one of the most secnic areas on the the St Lawrence river. Our accomodations include 6 large 2-queen bed motel rooms, 6 deluxe 1-queen bed motel rooms, and 14 modern fully furnished housekeeping cottages ranging from 1 to 3 bedrooms. All our units are immaculate and are maintained as new and include cable/HBO and WiFi. Our picturesque grounds include picnic facilities throughout, a screened gazebo with patio firepit featuring nightly campfires, and regulation horseshoe, bocce, volley ball, and badminton courts. Our olympic sized pool is heated for your comfort. West Winds waterfront features an observation deck to view the breathtaking scenery, ships from all parts of the world and our gorgeous sunsets. Also, we have a 150' fishing pier and protected dockage for 16 boats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Winds Motel & Cottages Hotel Clayton
West Winds Motel And Cottages
Westwinds Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing