We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Visit to Clayton NY and the St. Lawrence River”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Winds Motel & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Holiday, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Summer Visit to Clayton NY and the St. Lawrence River”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I have spent over 25 years boating on the St. Lawrence and lived in the village of Clayton for 2 years before moving away and selling our cruiser. We elected to visit Clayton and stay at the West Winds Motel and Cottages for a week as we have stayed at this property in the past for shorter time periods. The week long stay at the "middle" floor of the 3 story river cottage was wonderful. Great view of the river, quiet evenings, swimming at the pool and talking with other visiters around the "fire pit" at night, just contributed to our relaxing visit to Clayton and the St. Lawrence River. The "middle" floor of the river cottage is spacious, clean, well appointed, and the walk up and down the stairs gave us our daily workout. Great sunset views from the docks at the property water edge. We enjoyed the stay so much we are booking the same room for a week next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
35
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I just returned from our sixth year of week long vacations in the cottages and have had wonderfully relaxed stays each time. Quiet, great clientele, people are friendly, clean. We enjoy the beautiful view of the river, swimming in the pool in the afternoon and the overall relaxing atmosphere. We couldn't recommend it more highly and have already reserved our cabin for next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbgo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I always go to TripAdvisor before making any reservations and was shocked to see that West Winds had only Excellent and Very Good ratings ... I've never seen that before. Now that I've been there I'm even more bewildered. I think perhaps most reviews are by individuals who come back year after year and they've developed loyalty .... And haven't stayed in the caretaker's cottage. I can't speak of the motel or cottages as I didn't see them. I repeatedly see references to the property being "spotless" and that was not my experience. The "cottage" was not dirty by any means but nothing more than passably clean. We did not have the opportunity to meet the owners and maybe that would have colored my perception. The desk clerk called to find put when we'd be arriving because he wanted to go play golf and when we arrived, he was sure to let us know that he used to stay in the caretaker's cottage until "his boss rented it out from under him". And that brings us to the lack of privacy. Our "cottage" was attached to the maintenance building and there were people in and out of there all day long, on foot and with golf carts. The cleaning dept. folded the towels and sheets on our outside table which was inches from our front windows. The living room is actually a porch with windows and we would have had a nice view but my husband was uncomfortable with people on our patio constantly so he kept the blinds closed. They also took their lunch break at our table and cooked on our grill (despite there being public grills). The bathroom was hardly large enough to turn around in and has a plastic folding door. Oh, and the "kitchen" is next to the bed. A full sized bed. The grounds are beautiful and nicely maintained and there is a lovely dock and sitting area for watching the beautiful sunsets. The pool looked refreshing but I avoided the sun on this trip as we were in the middle of a heat wave and it was difficult to breathe outside. I wouldn't rule out returning to West Winds, but I would definitely not stay in the caretaker's cottage. Also, I've never stayed in this area before so maybe West Winds is the best of it's type of lodging, but I have nothing to compare it to.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Caretaker's cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJSueZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestWinds C, Owner at West Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Our caretakers cottage is a modest housekeeping unit that is very affordably priced. The inside of this unit and all of our facilities at West Winds are pictured on the westwindsmotel.com web site. We want our guests to understand what our facilities offer, prior to their stay. When a reservation is made for the caretakers cottage we try to describe exactly what this unit is, and while it is not everyones choice we have many guests that specify this unit repeatly. All of our staff at West Winds are friendly and outgoing and are anxious to make your stay enjoyable, and any issues that are brought to the attention of any of our staff are promptly addressed. Unfortunately, you did not chose this route. During the few days of your stay at West Winds, our laundry equipment required repair which increased the traffic by the caretakers cottage. But, whenever possible, we limit our activities near this unit when guests are present. You indicated that the caretakers cottage was "passably clean". That being the case, we missed our target for cleanliness for that unit on that day. Our goal is spotless!
A large percentage of our guests return to West Winds repeatly because of our beautiful location in the 1000 Islands/St Lawrence river, our facilities and our friendly staff that works tirelessly to insure that our guest have a pleasnt and enjoyable stay. Hopefully we can do better for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband and I stayed one night, 7/12, here. We had been many times to this region and knew the area well. Our first time at WW between Clayton and Cape Vincent, easily found on main route. Tourist time in this area and we were pleased to get accommodations on short notice. This motel has cottages as well as rooms available at reasonable rates. Our room was clean and cool, very comfortable. While the rooms (#6) are small; fine for one overnight stay. The owners are pleasant, available 24/7,and offer a pool and a nightly fire. The place is on the river with a nice view. There is plenty of outdoor space and other guests are friendly. A great place for a quick night away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lavonalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Just stayed in Cabin #18 at West Winds July 6-8, 2013 and can't wait to go back! Cabin was immaculate inside and out. There was a great screened in porch with two swivel rockers and ottoman and a picnic table and benches - all windows opened with screens and a fan was available as well. Inside kitchen area had everything we needed, plus a table and chairs, stove, small fridge, microwave, etc. Bathroom was equiped with a shower and extremely clean! Main room contained two twin beds that were pushed together to create a king, and also included a love seat, A/C, TV with cable, and WiFi was also available. The pool was beautiful, clean, and refreshing, lots of chairs and lounges available for all to use. We loved taking the stroll down the stairs to the St. Lawrence and fishing from all the dock areas, the views from the docks as well as from the cabin were incredible! Can't wait to go back, we love this location, only 12-15 minute ride to Alexandria Bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whippany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

By chance we booked a long holiday weekend at West Winds. It turned out better that any vacation in recent years. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and maintained. The room was as clean as we've ever seen and seemed to be recently updated. The pool was very large and maintained every morning. The views of the water and the sitting areas were just lovely. The hosts and staff were all so friendly and made West Winds feel very comfortable. Amazing place to see great sunsets. We'll be booking nice and early for other stays!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was the 19th consecutive year that I have stayed with my family in the cottages next to the dock basin (top and middle cottages). The Hurleys and the staff of West Winds run a wonderful, friendly, family-oriented place. The view of the St. Lawrence River and the sunsets are superb from the property. You can watch the River from a new patio at the top of the river bank with chairs and a pergola if you are staying up the hill. The pool is well maintained and there is a camp fire area and screened in shelter with seating by the motel. The docks are very sheltered with electrical outlets available too. Lots of room for trailers to be parked. Clayton is less than two miles away and is a lovely town for strolling, shopping and eating. I've already made my reservations for 2014!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
2.4 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
13.1 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
970 reviews
13.0 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
2.6 mi away
Clipper Inn
Clipper Inn
#3 of 7 in Clayton
33 reviews
12.9 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Winds Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Winds Motel & Cottages

Property: West Winds Motel & Cottages
Address: 38267 NYS Route 12E, Clayton, NY 13624
Region: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on our spacious 5 acre grounds in one of the most secnic areas on the the St Lawrence river. Our accomodations include 6 large 2-queen bed motel rooms, 6 deluxe 1-queen bed motel rooms, and 14 modern fully furnished housekeeping cottages ranging from 1 to 2 bedrooms. All our units are immaculate and are maintained as new and include cable/HBO and WiFi. Our picturesque grounds include picnic facilities throughout, a screened gazebo with patio firepit featuring nightly campfires, and regulation horseshoe, bocce, volley ball, and badminton courts. Our olympic sized pool is heated for your comfort. West Winds waterfront features an observation deck to view the breathtaking scenery, ships from all parts of the world and our gorgeous sunsets. Also, we have a 150' fishing pier and protected dockage for 16 boats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Winds Motel And Cottages
West Winds Motel & Cottages Hotel Clayton
Westwinds Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing