We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Winds Motel & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Abilene
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The price was the best that I could find for comparable places to stay. The owners were sooo friendly and accommodating and the views were absolutely amazing. I have not had very many experiences that were this good! I will be back!! Awesome!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank callalily02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were only in town for a night and luckily we were able to stay here in one of the cottages. The place was immaculately clean, had two bedrooms, a full bath, kitchen and screened in front porch. The family that runs the place is extremely friendly and helpful.
If you want a nice, quiet place to relax while in the 1000 Islands region, look no further.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayHPNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Service was great. The owners are warm welcoming. The room are modest, but more than adequate. Great location to the main road, into town. My room did not have an iron, nor ironing board, so that could of set me back.

I will go back there again!

Room Tip: The room did not have an iron, nor ironing board. So you will have to ask for one, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikBronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have stayed there many times but only in the motel area. Management is beyond wonderful and the place is very well kept. Definitely recommend especially if it's your first time in the 1000 Islands! I love to visit in September when things are quieter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fletcher, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We chose West Winds Motel & Cottages for our girls' weekend last weekend. We were very impressed with the location and accomodations - not fancy but clean and comfortable. The location is great - you can get a glimpse of the St. Lawrence from the office area but if you want to walk or drive down the hill you can take the stairs and view it from a deck half way down or continue on to the dock to watch the sunset. There was a bonfire in the fire pit at night with plenty of chairs/gliders for seating. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. One thing I found unusual and very convienient was their courtesy room - they had menus from many of the local restaurants that you could look at to get an idea of where you wanted to eat. If you found one that sounded interesting Sherry was more than willing to assist with directions. The four of us agreed that West Winds was a great find!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anngirlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingersoll
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I most certainly enjoyed my stay on two different nights over a one week period. Everything top notch from the very welcoming check in to the advice on restaurants to a great night's sleep.
Although I wasn't able to get a single unit because of my late request I was very surprised at the very large size of the two bed rooms. The rooms were spotless, neat and warm.
Everything was excellent and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone else and look forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Our family has been vacationing at West Winds for more than 20 years. We started going when our sons were younger and now we are joined by them and their families each year. We have stayed in the motel as well as several of the cottages. The accommodations have always been wonderful - clean, nicely furnished and comfortable. The docks provide a protected and safe place for boats. The grounds are meticulously kept with many sitting areas - some overlooking a beautiful view of the river and sunsets. The pool and nightly campfires add to the activities available at West Winds. Each year improvements are made to the grounds, cottages or motel.
While all of this makes West Winds a very special place, it is Sherry, Harv and their entire staff that will be sure that you have a wonderful vacation. They work hard to meet the needs of their guests. We are very happy to be part of the "West Wind Family" and wouldn't think of vacationing anywhere else in the Thousand Islands.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
2.4 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
13.2 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
977 reviews
13.0 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
199 reviews
12.9 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
386 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clipper Inn
Clipper Inn
#3 of 7 in Clayton
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Winds Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Winds Motel & Cottages

Property: West Winds Motel & Cottages
Address: 38267 NYS Route 12E, Clayton, NY 13624
Region: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on our spacious 5 acre grounds in one of the most secnic areas on the the St Lawrence river. Our accomodations include 6 large 2-queen bed motel rooms, 6 deluxe 1-queen bed motel rooms, and 14 modern fully furnished housekeeping cottages ranging from 1 to 2 bedrooms. All our units are immaculate and are maintained as new and include cable/HBO and WiFi. Our picturesque grounds include picnic facilities throughout, a screened gazebo with patio firepit featuring nightly campfires, and regulation horseshoe, bocce, volley ball, and badminton courts. Our olympic sized pool is heated for your comfort. West Winds waterfront features an observation deck to view the breathtaking scenery, ships from all parts of the world and our gorgeous sunsets. Also, we have a 150' fishing pier and protected dockage for 16 boats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Winds Motel And Cottages
West Winds Motel & Cottages Hotel Clayton
Westwinds Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing