We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive place to spend some time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McKinley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Driving up to the McKinley House we were immediately impressed by the appearance of the grounds and the building. Greeted on the porch by our hosts we were given a tour of the facility and were even more impressed by what we saw. The accommodations were outstanding, the hosts were very friendly, and the breakfasts were highlighted by interesting conversations and much laughter. We recommend this B&B to anyone looking to get away to Clayton and seeing the 1,000 Islands. Walking through the city was relaxing and within walking distance on the McKinley House. I can't say enough about our "home" in Clayton.

Room Tip: Sorry - no pool - got carried away with my enthusiasm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesometimetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

This was our first time at a B and B, so we had no idea what to expect. We were thrilled with our rooms (we stayed in the Grindstone suite) which had it's own bath, a large bedroom and a lovely sitting area - which included another bed. The rooms were clean and had a decor inspired from the Victorian era. I was also surprised at how quiet staying at a bed and breakfast was compared to a standard hotel !! It was so easy to relax and enjoy Clayton and the 1000 islands knowing we had our own little piece of pardise at the McKinley House. ( My only suggestion would be to change the shower curtain which did not match the elegant feel of the rest of the suite). I would highly recoomend The McKinley House for any traveler who plans on visiting the 1000 islands!

Room Tip: For the extra $ the Grindstone Suite is worth the price :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed for one night during July 4 th. It exceeded my expectation for my first experience with B&B. The outside of the house and landscaping is manicured. The interior design is very detailed and eligant. The breakfast is very good. The owners are very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoLiao79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spent one night at the McKinley House. What a beautiful restored, historic home in the quaint village of Clayton. The common area had the most comfortable furniture that we relaxed in that evening with a fire in the fireplace to take the chill out. Steve gave us the history of the building & a tour of the upper floors the next day.
Breakfast was healthy with a bowl full of fresh berries.
We look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphy48_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and I are long-time summer residents of the Thousand Islands and so are not commonly looking for tourist accommodations in the area, especially in January. Business brought us to Clayton this week and we spent two days at the McKinley House B&B.
It richly deserves all the kudos it has received in other reviews. The house was warm and inviting, the host was gracious and welcoming and the breakfasts outstanding, Imagine a fire in the fireplace and fresh raspberries on the table in January, with a snowstorm in progress.
Well done.
GFE

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

My husband and I visit Clayton every year. We always stayed out in one of the motels along the river, but we have always loved Clayton and decided to try and find a place in town instead. Clayton is a quaint little village right on the river (not like so many of the other honky tonk 1000 island towns). We decided on the McKinley House and we are so glad we did. It is located a block from the main street/river, but it is on a quite street. The house has been beautifully restored and the grounds are lovely. We stayed in the Grindstone room which is actually a suite of sorts with two very large rooms and a spacious bathroom. The owners showed us all of the other guest rooms (4? total), and they were all equally nice. We liked the fact that there weren't any tvs in the rooms. The beds, btw, are fantastic... brand new, firm mattresses! The rooms are SPOTLESS! The owners were terrific! The only thing we would suggest are: 1) more blankets and pillows (the bedding was a little spartan), 2) a glass in the bathroom so I could take my medicine and 3) access to a refrigerator (owners were great about putting stuff in their kitchen fridge but it is nice not to always have to ask for access) - maybe a little fridge in one of the common areas?. We will most certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuietIsGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Mc Kinley House, was a wonderful and much appreciate find for us when we were in the 1000 Island area this august, the entire completely renovated house, was beyond clean and comfortable. Our bedroom and attached bath, was lovely, the bath was very large and serviceable. We enjoyed the break from TV's, in the room. There was a large one in the living room if needed. A very relaxing afternoon on the porch, was just the change of pace we needed. Alyse Ritchie did a wonderful job as our hostess, seeing as how this was her first season. The only thing we have to say that is not perfect, was the breakfast was just so-so. Having stayed at many B&B"s in the states and abroad, we were a little disappointed. Alyse was very interested in feedback and was open to any suggestions. I'm confident she will have improved on this the next time we are there, Because YES we would definitely return, and highly recommend this wonderful B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariannjung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clayton hotels
0.2 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Clipper Inn
Clipper Inn
#3 of 7 in Clayton
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wooden Boat Inn
Wooden Boat Inn
#3 of 9 in Clayton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKinley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 505 Hugunin St, Clayton, NY 13624-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range: £89 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The McKinley House offers elegance, comfort, and convenience in the center of Clayton Village, one block from the St. Lawrence River, and walking distance to the towns attractions. A Queen Anne Victorian built in 1890, the house has been restored to its original grandness, including a curved front porch furnished with wicker chairs. On premise parking is provided, and free wi-fi. The spacious, second-floor guest rooms have private baths, queen beds, sitting areas, air conditioning and ceiling fans. A continental plus breakfast is served in the dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mckinley House Hotel Clayton
Mckinley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing