We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely the cleanest B&B in the eastern U.S.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McKinley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The accommodations are ample in this most comfortable B&B where Alyse, Steve and Sylvester
are on hand to greet you. Don't plan to check in before 3:00pm as Alyse spends at least five hours
each day ensuring the rooms are the cleanest you'll find anywhere. While McKinley House is
located a very short walk from the main streets of Clayton, it is wonderfully quiet in the evening--
a perfect place to conclude your day with some quiet moments on the wrap-around porch.
This is a top-flight B&B that will surely please you.

Room Tip: Check the photos on the McKinley House web site. They give you a fine idea of what to expect in s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutch58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

McKinley house is beautiful and is situated in an ideal location. Owners are very warm and welcoming. The house is spotless and extremely well kept - breakfast was delightful

Would highly recommend this B and B and Clayton is a wonderful place to relax.

P and L from Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is a quiet and restful place to stay just a block away from the St. Lawerence River and 1,000 Islands. It is a beautifully restored 19th century house with very large, clean and handsomely decorated rooms. We stayed in the Grindstone suite with our son - a huge room with a queen size bed on one side and a twin-bed in the sitting area. The hosts are friendly people who are interested in making sure your needs are accommodated. The breakfast is what I consider typical continental. I don't think they have been in business more than a year or two. When we go back to Clayton, we will probably stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizmulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Driving up to the McKinley House we were immediately impressed by the appearance of the grounds and the building. Greeted on the porch by our hosts we were given a tour of the facility and were even more impressed by what we saw. The accommodations were outstanding, the hosts were very friendly, and the breakfasts were highlighted by interesting conversations and much laughter. We recommend this B&B to anyone looking to get away to Clayton and seeing the 1,000 Islands. Walking through the city was relaxing and within walking distance on the McKinley House. I can't say enough about our "home" in Clayton.

Room Tip: Sorry - no pool - got carried away with my enthusiasm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesometimetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This was our first time at a B and B, so we had no idea what to expect. We were thrilled with our rooms (we stayed in the Grindstone suite) which had it's own bath, a large bedroom and a lovely sitting area - which included another bed. The rooms were clean and had a decor inspired from the Victorian era. I was also surprised at how quiet staying at a bed and breakfast was compared to a standard hotel !! It was so easy to relax and enjoy Clayton and the 1000 islands knowing we had our own little piece of pardise at the McKinley House. ( My only suggestion would be to change the shower curtain which did not match the elegant feel of the rest of the suite). I would highly recoomend The McKinley House for any traveler who plans on visiting the 1000 islands!

Room Tip: For the extra $ the Grindstone Suite is worth the price :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed for one night during July 4 th. It exceeded my expectation for my first experience with B&B. The outside of the house and landscaping is manicured. The interior design is very detailed and eligant. The breakfast is very good. The owners are very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoLiao79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spent one night at the McKinley House. What a beautiful restored, historic home in the quaint village of Clayton. The common area had the most comfortable furniture that we relaxed in that evening with a fire in the fireplace to take the chill out. Steve gave us the history of the building & a tour of the upper floors the next day.
Breakfast was healthy with a bowl full of fresh berries.
We look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphy48_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.2 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
10.9 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#6 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
578 reviews
10.8 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clipper Inn
Clipper Inn
#3 of 7 in Clayton
34 reviews
Show Prices

Been to McKinley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 505 Hugunin St, Clayton, NY 13624-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range: £93 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The McKinley House offers elegance, comfort, and convenience in the center of Clayton Village, one block from the St. Lawrence River, and walking distance to the towns attractions. A Queen Anne Victorian built in 1890, the house has been restored to its original grandness, including a curved front porch furnished with wicker chairs. On premise parking is provided, and free wi-fi. The spacious, second-floor guest rooms have private baths, queen beds, sitting areas, air conditioning and ceiling fans. A continental plus breakfast is served in the dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mckinley House Hotel Clayton
Mckinley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing