We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad beds downgrade this otherwise ok motel”
Review of Clipper Inn

Clipper Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clipper Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Frankfort, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bad beds downgrade this otherwise ok motel”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

All the motels in Clayton are older units and probably date to the fifties or before. The Clipper is no exception. We stayed there on a Monday night in September and were the only guests at the Inn. The restaurant is closed on Monday but the chef was there and he graciously showed us the room and checked us inn. Everything looked good but we did not check out the beds. At bedtime we discovered that one bed had a broken box spring which had dropped to the floor on one side. To keep from rolling off the bed we propped that side up with the plastic ice bucket. Box springs and mattresses on both beds were uncomfortable and substandard. The room was clean enough and well maintained. The room has a large flat screen TV which was nice, apartment size fridge, and coffee maker with coffee. The motel is conveniently located close to the village. Would stay here again but would check out the beds first.

Room Tip: All the motels in Clayton are older units and probably date to the fifties or before. The Clipper i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidelbergBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Clipper Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We are constantly improving our property. We did have a bed problem in the mentioned room and we have taken care of it. At this time the oldest mattress is 3 years old. I'm very sorry you experienced a bad nights sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Clipper Inn in August, 2013. This motel was recently remodeled, so the room was clean and comfortable. Although small, the room was adequate for our visit. The Clipper Inn is situated next to the best restaurant in the area and close to all the attractions, Boldt Castle, Singer Castle, and don't miss the antique boat museum in Clayton!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfeild Mass
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Spend the night in the motel and was surprised at how nice the accommodations were (I'm not really a motel person). All the rooms have been recently redone and redecorated and they are constantly updating. Also had a wonderful meal at the restaurant while we were there! We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

All the reviews I read were so great. Well!!! we found the Motel to have paper thin walls we could hear everything in the rooms connected to ours. The shower was not clean the shower curtain was coated with mildew. The bed was so soft my husband and I rolled to the center and nether one of us is over weight.
The restaurant was outstanding. I would recommend just going to the restaurant.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very pleased with this motel. We had one of the new rooms with 2 double beds, 3 people. Very nice and spacious, beds comfortable, bathroom a nice size. For a motel and for the price this is fabulous value for money. About a 15 minute walk into town or less than 5 mins to drive, so very well appointed and very quiet. The restaurant seems popular and would be worth a try if we were here longer. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickybailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYork
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at the Clipper Inn in June with our kayak group for 3 nights. My wife and I had one of the older rooms that had been all redone. Everything in our room was great and seemed to be new. Two couples with us had new rooms. They were the first people to stay in them.

Mike is the owner and also the chef at the restaurant next to the motel. We ate dinner at the restaurant all 3 nights. The menu is varied and the food excellent. We have never been treated so well. We walked to downtown Clayton from the motel and checked out this nice little town. Highly recommend this gem in Clayton and plan to return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms a very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank randy1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My family and I booked 3 rooms for the clipper inn this past weekend. And we were pleasantly surprised - not that we had low expectations but we just didn't know what to expect. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The inn is located very near the town of Clayton so it was easy to get to for breakfast and lunch. We had dinner at the Clipper Inn one of the nights and the food was good. Their staff is courteous and friendly and it doesn't seem like they try to cut corners. We plan on making this visit to the St. Lawrence an annual occurrence and with that the Clipper Inn our place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 7,8 & 9 are new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vittorioa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.6 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
10.6 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
929 reviews
10.5 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
473 reviews
10.4 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
374 reviews
7.0 mi away
Swan Bay Resort & Marina
Swan Bay Resort & Marina
#2 of 3 in Alexandria Bay
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clipper Inn

Property: Clipper Inn
Address: 126 State St, Clayton, NY 13624-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clipper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing