We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly comfortable - and reasonable”
Review of Clipper Inn

Clipper Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clipper Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Clayton area of the spectacular Thousand Islands region is well populated with older motels reminiscent of fifties cabin colonies, with minimal amenities. The Clipper Inn is an outstanding exception. Its 12 units are attached to one of the areas better restaurants of the same name. There is plenty of parking, and - highly unusual - plenty of electric outlets along with modern TV, wi fi, hair dryer etc. With their modest prices, I expect the Clipper Inn will survive. the opening of a new upscale waterfront hotel a few blocks away. The Clipper Inn had only one room for one night available after my reservation at a different motel was sidetracked, and the Clipper Inn staff worked hard to successfully find me a room elsewhere for the rest of my stay; albeit at a much inferior facility

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldwoodboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipperInn, Owner at Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thanks so much for the kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at The Clipper. Hope to see you next year. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a "weekend away" and stayed here. Older style motel but very clean and comfortable. The restaurant is worth the trip alone - a really excellent and affordable meal with great service. All told, the staff are very friendly and accommodating. I would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here while touring thousand islands. Moderately priced, very clean, quiet and comfortable, with solar power array on the roof. No frills, but extremely comfortable after a long day of driving. Plus they operate a connecting restaurant with diverse, delicious, reasonably-priced food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Arrived in darkness, and the place looked inviting. We were greeted by chef/owner Michael, asking how he could help us. We needed a room and a meal. After dinner he gave us an itinerary for things to do in town as we wrapped up the final days of our honeymoon. Dinner choices were beyond what we had expected for a motel restaurant. Our server recommended the shrimp and scallop scampi in a curry sauce, it was exceptional. The homemade ravioli stuffed with fresh peas was outstanding, and we ended the meal with a delightful chocolate pate. After dinner we booked for one night, with the option for a second. We were impressed with the newly appointed room. Totally fresh, like that "New Car" smell, flat screen TV, WiFi, new furniture and bedding, clean modern bath; absolutely no complaints. Needless to say, we extended for an additional night without regret. The Inn even has solar panels on the roof, love a "GREEN" thinking owner. When in Clayton, we shall return again.

Room Tip: Be nice to your host, and ask to look at your room before you book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

All the motels in Clayton are older units and probably date to the fifties or before. The Clipper is no exception. We stayed there on a Monday night in September and were the only guests at the Inn. The restaurant is closed on Monday but the chef was there and he graciously showed us the room and checked us inn. Everything looked good but we did not check out the beds. At bedtime we discovered that one bed had a broken box spring which had dropped to the floor on one side. To keep from rolling off the bed we propped that side up with the plastic ice bucket. Box springs and mattresses on both beds were uncomfortable and substandard. The room was clean enough and well maintained. The room has a large flat screen TV which was nice, apartment size fridge, and coffee maker with coffee. The motel is conveniently located close to the village. Would stay here again but would check out the beds first.

Room Tip: All the motels in Clayton are older units and probably date to the fifties or before. The Clipper i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidelbergBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

We are constantly improving our property. We did have a bed problem in the mentioned room and we have taken care of it. At this time the oldest mattress is 3 years old. I'm very sorry you experienced a bad nights sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Clipper Inn in August, 2013. This motel was recently remodeled, so the room was clean and comfortable. Although small, the room was adequate for our visit. The Clipper Inn is situated next to the best restaurant in the area and close to all the attractions, Boldt Castle, Singer Castle, and don't miss the antique boat museum in Clayton!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Spend the night in the motel and was surprised at how nice the accommodations were (I'm not really a motel person). All the rooms have been recently redone and redecorated and they are constantly updating. Also had a wonderful meal at the restaurant while we were there! We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.6 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
10.6 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
1,008 reviews
9.4 mi away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wooden Boat Inn
Wooden Boat Inn
#3 of 9 in Clayton
127 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clipper Inn

Address: 126 State St, Clayton, NY 13624-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range: £62 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clipper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing