We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buy the wine and take it home!!”

Coyote Moon Vineyards
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you are looking for an over-the-top customer experience, filled with Award-Winning Wines, friendly staff, and a howlin’ good time, Coyote Moon Vineyards—one of New York State’s Most Award-Winning Wineries—is a must-visit destination.
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were part of a group of 11 who were on the cruise on July 5th. The water was extremely rough and the boat should never left to dock. Shame on me for not getting off. A young lady, part of the crew, took the microphone and spoke to everyone. I would like to know what she said as we could not hear her. The caption looked like he had just crawled out off bed. He appeared very Sloppy in his uniform. There was an older gentleman that fell twice before we left the dock and not one member of the staff checked on him. This turned out to be a booze cruise and nothing more. People drinking straight from the their wine bottles. The music cut in and out for the two hours. I have attended other events run by Coyote Moon and they were great. Some serious work needs to be done for the wine cruise to be enjoyable. Oh by the way, we were not on a cruise boat like Uncle Sams, it was more like a barge with benches. Save your money..not worth the $40.00

1  Thank colleen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoyoteMoonVineyards, Owner at Coyote Moon Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We truly appreciate you bringing your experience on the boat to our attention so we can address the situation immediately. The wine cruise is one of the most popular events we have during the summer and the safety of our passengers is extremely important to us.

We hire Clayton Island Tours to charter the boats for our wine cruises. The winery owners will schedule a meeting with them right away to discuss your experience in detail to ensure it does not happen again. If you have more information you would like to share please call our winery location at 315-686-5600 and ask for Tony Randazzo. He is one of the owners of the winery. We would like to hear what happened so we can ensure that something similar does not happen again. Thank you again for taking the time to bring this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Thank you Amy for introducing us to the Coyote Moon wines. She was very knowledgable about all the wines giving us a great description of there taste, which she was spot on. This was my favorite winery that we visited on the wine trails.

Thank Donner101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoyoteMoonVineyards, Owner at Coyote Moon Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad that Amy was able to provide you with a great experience during your introduction to New York State wines. We handcraft all of our wines at our winery location just outside of the village. If you are interested in seeing how the wines are made I would highly recommend a visit. We will certainly pass your gratitude along to Amy. We hope you are able to visit again the next time you are in the 1000 Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Great winery! We visited the Clayton location on the river, and it was great! Inexpensive tasting prices for fantastic wines. River Time is my #1--yummy Riesling. Also sampled a wine slushie while watching the boats on the river...doesn't get much better.

Looks like they have a great menu for lunch...we'll have to try it out next time!

Thank Redsoxchic04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoyoteMoonVineyards, Owner at Coyote Moon Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We are very glad you enjoyed your wine tasting and the atmosphere at our lounge location. If you ever get a chance, we recommend you visit our winery location just outside of the village to see how the wines are made. We look forward to welcoming you back for lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We try to come here every year while visiting family in three mile bay. This year time was short and was not able to make it but my son and gf went for tasting and a wine run. When he returned with our wine we noticed one bottle was leaking and called the winery. We were leaving town the next day and not able to take it back, I spoke with Tony who gave us a refund without returning the bottle. Thank you Tony, we will return next year. Enjoy your summer!

Thank bahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoyoteMoonVineyards, Owner at Coyote Moon Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for the kind review. It's wonderful to hear we are an annual stop during your visit to our beautiful area. We are happy to hear that Tony provided you with great service and we look forward to your visit next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I do love the winery! We are club members and enjoy discounted prices on their excellent wines! I want to mention that they now have a place in downtown Clayton where you can enjoy the same great wines (they offer beer also) and delicious lunch specialties! To make it even better - there is a patio outside overlooking the magnificent St. Lawrence River.

You couldn't find a nicer place to spend time eating and having a glass of wine!

Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoyoteMoonVineyards, Owner at Coyote Moon Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our Lounge location. This summer we expanded our food menu to included paninis and salads that have our wine right in the recipe! Paired with a glass of wine and river views—it is absolutely delightful! We will look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coyote Moon Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Coyote Moon Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing