We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, well worth a visit”
Review of Mr Fuji

Mr Fuji
Ranked #34 of 141 Restaurants in Clifton Park
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great time, well worth a visit”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

This place demonstrated the proper use of a groupon. Entice new costomers with a deal, provide an excellent experience, and secure a return visit in the future.

The service was excellent, the hibachi chef was entertaining, and the food he cooked was delicious. Not really much else to say. Good atmosphere inside, this might be my new #1 choice locally....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go there if you want GREAT food”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband and I went there for the first time, but not the last. We enjoyed everything about the cooking table experience. Our chef was hilarious, and cooked the food to perfection. We DID have a favorite Japanese restaurant we always went to, now Mr. Fuji is our favorite!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptompkins4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We found this restaurant by using a Groupon deal. We were greeted immediately and seated with our large group of 7 and felt welcome. The hibachi cook was great and involved everyone. The food was really good. We definately will be returning again when we are down in the capital region.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
227 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality”
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Quality of food wise, this was the best Hibachi dining we've ever had. We've been to many good ones, including several Beni Hanas, but this one was fantastic.

The chef was very young - 21 I think - but he was skilled, entertaining, etc. The place is well run, very good, Sushi was incredible too. One table mate told us he comes in constantly, best quality and quantity Sushi in area. Looked incredible. Tried the Sunomono and Steamed Shrimp dumplings too - they were great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadmanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
348 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Now offering Hibachi table cooking too.”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

While the Mr. Fuji in Clifton Park recently added Hibachi (Teppanyaki) tables and expanded into the next-door space previously occupied by Blue Spice, we have grown tired over the years of chefs' floor shows so we went just for the sushi.

Typical to most Japanese restaurants, the beer and wine list is rather limited. My wife had a glass of a non-identified brand of Pinot Grigio ($5) while I had a bottle of Kirin Ichiban ($4.25). There were a couple other Japanese beers to choose from, and the rest were the standard big-name American beers or Heineken.

It being a bit damp and chilly outside we ordered some Miso Soup ($2 /bowl) and Edamame ($4). The Miso was full of flavor, the right consistency, with the usual bits of tofu and an abundant amount of green onions - it could have been a bit hotter. The Edamame were fresh, nice and hot, and not over-salted.

We ordered four rolls, two Special Rolls off the main menu and two specials on the day's specials board. The White River Roll ($13) - spicy scallop, white tuna and avocado, with crunchies. The Scallop Fornia Roll ($12) - crab meat, avocado, and cucumber with spicy seared scallop on the outside. The Spicy Lobster Mango Roll ($14) - from the day's specials so I can't describe it any more in detail than its name already accurately implies. The Snow White Roll ($14) - also from the day's specials, I remember it had scallops and a very nice, sweet lemon sauce on the top.

Since each of the rolls consisted of 8 to 10 pieces, all of the food proved to be more than enough to satisfy our hunger. We considered ordering some Uni, but the market price of $6 each (or was it $7?) was more than we were willing to spend for one of our favorites.

Service was prompt and efficient. While we were seated in a booth in front of the sushi bar, during the Winter months you might want to sit in the booths near the cooking tables. The trade off is that the noise of the festivities and antics at the cooking tables will be louder, but it will also be warmer. Whenever the exhaust fans above the cooking tables are turned on a cold draft occurs in the section of the restaurant by the sushi bar.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mr Fuji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing