We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Inn in Clinton”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arbor Inn at Griffin House
Ranked #1 of 6 Clinton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This was our fifth time staying here and every visit has been lovely. This charming Inn perched right on the edge of the Hamilton College campus offers everything you could ask for in comfort and hospitality. From the moment we first contacted Carol and Bob, they were warm, welcoming and wonderful to deal with. Booking is a breeze and each room has its own delightful charm.
We always feel as if Carol and Bob are welcoming us into their own home and it is clear that they
truly love the business of Inn-keeping. Carol cooks up an excellent, sumptuous & heathy breakfast each morning for you, which is more like a fancy brunch. Quiche, homemade muffins, fruit salad and yoghurt are among the offerings. (She can also do gluten-free or plain eggs). This visit we sat on the veranda and watched the bluebirds on their property as we ate our breakfast on a warm May morning, delightful! (Also our daughter loves the delicious homemade chocolate chip cookies Carol has waiting for us upon arrival). I've slept like a baby during each visit, as they have new, fancy mattresses that are very comfy. The "Hotel Collection" bath towels are super soft and fluffy and seem to be brand new. Bob set us up for dinner at a new restaurant in town, that we hadn't even heard of, and he seems very knowledgeable about the Clinton area. I would highly recommend The Arbor Inn in Clinton, and we will be back again!

Room Tip: We love the "Rockport Suite", but you can't go wrong, since all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeritPratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

Staying at the Arbor Inn was just what my sister in law and I needed! We are both busy working moms and decided last year to start having "Sisters Weekends" as a way to beat stress and celebrate our friendship. Carol and Bob were wonderful hosts, travel guides and cooks! The Rockport Suite was WONDERFUL and the quaint New England town of Clinton, NY provided all the things that we wanted for a quiet get away weekend: shopping, fine dining and plenty of outside time! I highly recommend The Arbor Inn- you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Location, room, breakfast & hospitality are the best! Bob and Carol sure know how to make your visit welcoming in their charming B&B. Make sure you put this at the top of your list when looking for lodging while visiting Hamilton College.

Room Tip: The Chesapeake room with its large king sized bed and lovely serene views is highly recommended.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank susanMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

In 2 short days I was able to unwind from crazy travel in New York City and beyond. Lovely setting, gracious inn keepers, and cozy rooms with comfortable bets. The breakfast was delicious and enjoyed the interesting people around the table. I will definitely be back if I am ever in that area again. I recommend it.

PS Carol gave me great tips on shopping and restaurants in the area!

Room Tip: The Vineyard Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at the Arbor Inn last October and were very pleased with our stay. The Chesapeake room was immaculate and contained references to the Chesapeake Bay area, including a magazine featuring this region which we love. Carol and Bob were the perfect hosts, and made us feel comfortable from the start. They also gave us excellent directions to the concert venue on campus. This hall is in the middle of a lot of other buildings, and we would never have found it without their help! Breakfast was copious and delicious. We will definitely stay there the next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: The Chesapeake room has a separate entrance and no stairs, good for guests with mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeshear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

On a recent visit to Colgate and Hamilton, we stayed at this Inn's stand-alone property at 12 Williams Street in Clinton. This is a ground floor apartment with the front living room separated from the rear bedroom by a fireplace/closet.

On the plus side, the apartment was beautifully decorated, reasonably quiet, and spotlessly clean. There was plenty of hot water in the en suite bath, and the mini kitchen with fridge and Keurig coffee maker was much appreciated.

I'd planned on sleeping in the King bed, with my daughter on the queen sleep sofa and my son on an aero bed we'd brought with us. However, my daughter reported that the sleep sofa was far and away the single most uncomfortable thing she'd ever tried to sleep on, so much so that she wound up crashing on my bed both nights.

The king wasn't much better. Although covered with high thread count linens, the mattress had a decidedly "budget" feel to it. For what we paid (over $200 per night, including tax) this was a big let-down, as we've stayed in many chain motels with less ambiance but far more comfortable pillow top beds.

Other quibbles: the WiFi was decidely sketchy, only one of the two TV's had decent reception, and the heating system (forced hot air) kept things chilly on the floor (where my son shivered on his aero bed).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quackbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Had a wonderful stay, and the hosts were extremely accommodating. They prepared a special breakfast for my husband who has dietary restrictions and were happy to recommend area attractions. Great place; very clean; hidden gem!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleaco_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Arbor Inn at Griffin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor Inn at Griffin House

Address: 3919 Griffin Rd, Clinton, NY 13323-4923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Clinton
Price Range: £93 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional lodging choice in the midst of Oneida County’s "Getaway Region" offering five guest rooms and suites in a picturesque upstate New York country setting. The Arbor Inn at Griffin House is located just 10 minutes and four turns away from exit #32 (Westmoreland) off the NYS Thruway) and on this short drive to the inn you will pass through the beautiful Hamilton College campus (chartered in 1812). Our ideal location makes us a popular choice for overnight lodging when traveling across the state or as a base when planning your upstate New York vacation. Guests enjoy our quiet setting on five peaceful acres but appreciate our close proximity to the picturesque Village of Clinton where they may stroll back in time to a village filled with one-of-a-kind shops, restaurants and cafes. During the summer months, you might be lucky enough to take in a Tuesday night concert on our "New England-style" village green or shop at the weekly Farmer’s Market held Thursdays throughout the summer.Bed & Breakfast accommodations are offered in five well appointed guest rooms and suites located in both the Main House and the Courtyard Wing. Our 1800’s property has been beautifully renovated and expanded resulting in a wonderful combination of elegance and vintage charm. Amenities for the most discerning of travelers include complimentary wireless internet access, private baths, televisions, 24 hour coffee/tea availability and breakfast served each morning. The well kept grounds are filled with gardens and the front porch is the perfect spot for enjoying the upstate New York surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing