We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arbor Inn at Griffin House
Ranked #1 of 7 Clinton B&B and Inns
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were planning an interim stop between a wedding in Vermont and a couple of days at Niagara Falls and chose the Arbor Inn based on may factors, one of which was the location. Boy we were not disappointed. Bill & Ellen made us feel right at home and were very accommodating. The Inn is very well maintained, comfortable, quiet and picturesque. Ellen made an excellent breakfast which was enhanced by the view from the back porch over the fields with beautiful landscaping. If we happened to be back that way in the future we would definitely stay there again. (PS - - the cookies are excellent also!)

Room Tip: The Chesapeake Room is very comfortable, has a king size bed and a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_and_Pat_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen V, Owner at Arbor Inn at Griffin House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We were very pleased that you picked the Arbor Inn for your "stopover" while on vacation! We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
28
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our stay at Arbor Inn was excellent from the cleanliness of the rooms to the beautiful and well maintained grounds. Breakfast was always a treat and a time to meet other guests and to make new friends. The B&B is located centrally from the quaint village of Clinton and beautiful Hamilton College. The location is also ideal for running with gorgeous scenery for the sports enthusiast. Every detail of the B&B was taken into consideration for the guests. Arbor Inn at Griffin House reminds me of Thomas Kinkaid paintings. Very picturesque. Thank you for Dave and Ellen for your hospitality and would definitely come back again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank norikos2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen V, Owner at Arbor Inn at Griffin House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your very kind words! You and your husband were delightful guests and hope that you will come back and see us again soon! Thanks again for the gardening help and tips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Williams Street Lodging also owned by the Arbor Inn. It's described as the "urban experience" as it is located in the center of Clinton. The suite was beautifully decorated and the King size bed luxurious. Added touches are Keurig coffee, flat screen TV, and an electric fireplace that looks and feels real! Although breakfast is not included, it's a short walk to the cafes in town. We did tour the Inn and found it well decorated with all amenities that a first class Inn should have. Look forward to trying the breakfast next time we visit. Thank you to the Innkeepers

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our weekend stay at the Arbor Inn was wonderful. The Inn is beautifully situated a short walk to the also beautiful Hamilton College campus, and a short (couple minutes) drive to the village of Clinton. The grounds are very well maintained and lush, and the views from the front porch, most windows, and back porch were lovely. Our room (the Rockport Suite) was immaculate, spacious, very comfortable, and just as pictured in the photos posted on this site. As others have noted, breakfast was tasty, generous, and very graciously served each morning. If our travels take us back this way, we will return to the Arbor Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmallWorldAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Everything about our stay at the Arbor Inn was terrific. Our room (Berkshire Suite) was spacious and very nicely appointed. The grounds are beautiful and immaculately kept. Breakfast was delightful. Clearly, every detail about the Inn was very thoughtfully considered and executed with guests in mind. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADDKET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Excellent location adjacent to Hamilton College for getting to/from the Boilermaker. Our room was very comfy and well appointed.
My only regret is missing breakfast the morning of the race! Hope to return in 2014 with additional family members.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runr4Jesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Charm, hospitality, and comfort all come to mind when thinking of our stay at the Arbor Inn. Our daughter is a rising Junior at Hamilton College and we had admired the beautiful exterior and grounds when driving by the Inn in the past. We were delighted to have the chance to spend two nights at the Arbor Inn and to find that the meticulous care given to the outside of the Inn, the grounds and gardens, carries throughout the interior. The Chesapeake Room was very nicely appointed, with a very comfortable King size bed and a lovely sitting area outside the room, where guests can enjoy coffee, tea, home baked cookies and bottled water. Our breakfasts surpassed our expectations, were delicious and beautifully presented, and served in your choice of 3 rooms, including a porch with a view of lovely gardens and pastoral fields. We would highly recommend a stay at the Arbor Inn for anyone visiting Hamilton College or just looking for a relaxing getaway in Central NY. Carol and Bob, the innkeepers, are welcoming, friendly and helpful, while striking the perfect balance of being available while respecting guests' privacy. We very much enjoyed our time with them at their special inn, and hope to be back there soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Utica
Holiday Inn Utica
#2 of 3 in New Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
9.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
10.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor Inn at Griffin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor Inn at Griffin House

Property: Arbor Inn at Griffin House
Address: 3919 Griffin Rd, Clinton, NY 13323-4923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional lodging choice in the midst of Oneida County’s "Getaway Region" offering five guest rooms and suites in a picturesque upstate New York country setting. The Arbor Inn at Griffin House is located just 10 minutes and four turns away from exit #32 (Westmoreland) off the NYS Thruway) and on this short drive to the inn you will pass through the beautiful Hamilton College campus (chartered in 1812). Our ideal location makes us a popular choice for overnight lodging when traveling across the state or as a base when planning your upstate New York vacation. Guests enjoy our quiet setting on five peaceful acres but appreciate our close proximity to the picturesque Village of Clinton where they may stroll back in time to a village filled with one-of-a-kind shops, restaurants and cafes. During the summer months, you might be lucky enough to take in a Tuesday night concert on our "New England-style" village green or shop at the weekly Farmer’s Market held Thursdays throughout the summer.Bed & Breakfast accommodations are offered in five well appointed guest rooms and suites located in both the Main House and the Courtyard Wing. Our 1800’s property has been beautifully renovated and expanded resulting in a wonderful combination of elegance and vintage charm. Amenities for the most discerning of travelers include complimentary wireless internet access, private baths, televisions, 24 hour coffee/tea availability and breakfast served each morning. The well kept grounds are filled with gardens and the front porch is the perfect spot for enjoying the upstate New York surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing