We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B&B walking distance to Hamilton College campus”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arbor Inn at Griffin House
Ranked #1 of 7 Clinton B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Charming B&B walking distance to Hamilton College campus”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Arbor Inn for 8 nights while leading a seminar at Hamilton. This was my third visit to the B&B. it is under new ownership and still equally delightful and charming. Ellen prepared a delicious hot breakfast every morning with fresh fruit, homemade breads and muffins, juice, and homemade granola. My favorite was eggs Benedict with smoked salmon rather then Canadian bacon. Other mornings included a spinach and cheese omelet, apple pancakes, a breakfast bread pudding just to mention a few. David was an excellent host even brushing the snow off my car on a January morning. The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated. I had a suite on the first floor . There were homemade cookies, a keurig, bottled water, and a small refrigerator just outside of my door. It is hard to feel at home for eight days on the road, but not with Ellen and David. Book early for big event weekends at Hamilton or during the antique shows in the area. Try Nola's or Across the Square for a nice dinner in Clinton.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CP12345Washington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
28
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Arbor Inn for a weekend when we visited our son at Colgate. The Inn is lovely and comfortable. We stayed in the Nantucket Room, which was immaculate, cozy, and very pretty. Innkeepers Ellen and Dave are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and it is very pleasant to eat with fellow guests. Ellen is a truly talented baker. Her breakfast quiche is delicious! She leaves freshly baked cookies on the foyer table for the guests. I think I ate one each time I walked in and out of the Inn, which was more than 10 times over the weekend! Ellen and Dave offered terrific restaurant recommendations for dinner and we loved both of the meals we had in Clinton. I recommend Arbor Inn to anyone who is looking for a B & B in the Clinton/Hamilton area!

Room Tip: Nantucket Room has three beds and is large enough for a small family to stay in for a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillJill11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, NY US
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a great weekend at the Arbor inn. The new owners had only been there a few weeks, but they clearly know what they are doing. They create a warm and welcoming environment for your visit, with a delicious breakfast and very comfortable rooms. Very convenient to Hamilton College. When we are in the area we will definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms seem excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen V, Owner at Arbor Inn at Griffin House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We appreciate your kind words! We hope you will stay with us when you come to visit in Clinton again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Arbor Inn for 4 days while visiting Hamilton College and Colgate University. The Inn was very nicely appointed and very clean, and the breakfast was excellent. Proprietors Dave and Ellen are very friendly and personable. It was an all-around great experience and I highly recommend the Arbor Inn.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen V, Owner at Arbor Inn at Griffin House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We enjoyed having you stay with us and getting to visit with you. We hope you will be back many times if your daughter chooses Hamilton or Colgate as her college choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hosts Dave and Ellen truly understand the meaning of hospitality and service.

The accommodations are near perfect, great value and the breakfasts are perfect.

The setting of this property is perfect for relaxing or connecting with friends.

Highly recommend this B & B

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen V, Owner at Arbor Inn at Griffin House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We really enjoyed having you and your Buffalo friends stay with us! You kept smiles on our faces the whole time. We look forward to your visit to the "laffin place" again next fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My son and I stayed with new owners Ellen and Dave while visiting Hamilton. Our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast and enjoyed getting to know Dave and Ellen who made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisJuneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen V, Owner at Arbor Inn at Griffin House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us during our first week as innkeepers! We hope you will return again and again if your son chooses Hamilton as his college choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

It was the new owners, Dave and Ellen's very first week of operation and they made us feel so welcome! We spent a weekend in the beautiful college town of Clinton and their historic B&B was as charming as they were. Our suite was more comfortable than a 5 star hotel. The most luxurious towels and freshest linens ensured total rest and relaxation. Ellen and Dave were most accommodating to my gluten intolerance and the breakfasts were hearty and scrumptious!! Our 1st B&B experience and it was simply marvelous. We may never book a hotel again.
Pam and Steve

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen V, Owner at Arbor Inn at Griffin House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Pam & Steve, you were wonderful guests! Thank you for helping us to meet our neighbors during your visit! We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Utica
Holiday Inn Utica
#2 of 3 in New Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
9.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
10.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor Inn at Griffin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor Inn at Griffin House

Property: Arbor Inn at Griffin House
Address: 3919 Griffin Rd, Clinton, NY 13323-4923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional lodging choice in the midst of Oneida County’s "Getaway Region" offering five guest rooms and suites in a picturesque upstate New York country setting. The Arbor Inn at Griffin House is located just 10 minutes and four turns away from exit #32 (Westmoreland) off the NYS Thruway) and on this short drive to the inn you will pass through the beautiful Hamilton College campus (chartered in 1812). Our ideal location makes us a popular choice for overnight lodging when traveling across the state or as a base when planning your upstate New York vacation. Guests enjoy our quiet setting on five peaceful acres but appreciate our close proximity to the picturesque Village of Clinton where they may stroll back in time to a village filled with one-of-a-kind shops, restaurants and cafes. During the summer months, you might be lucky enough to take in a Tuesday night concert on our "New England-style" village green or shop at the weekly Farmer’s Market held Thursdays throughout the summer.Bed & Breakfast accommodations are offered in five well appointed guest rooms and suites located in both the Main House and the Courtyard Wing. Our 1800’s property has been beautifully renovated and expanded resulting in a wonderful combination of elegance and vintage charm. Amenities for the most discerning of travelers include complimentary wireless internet access, private baths, televisions, 24 hour coffee/tea availability and breakfast served each morning. The well kept grounds are filled with gardens and the front porch is the perfect spot for enjoying the upstate New York surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing