We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clinton in the snow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Clinton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
563 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Clinton in the snow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

This B&B was perfect for our family to stay. We had the whole place and the grandkids were at grandmother's. Susan is a good hostess and she, wisely, kept her distance from my crazy family. Breakfast was wonderful. Everyone loved the souffle and the baked oatmeal. I found the yogurt parfait perfect for a change from the usual. We had a 75th birthday party for my Mom two doors down at the Kirkland Art Center so the location was ideal for us!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chouette222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    9
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
22
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

My wife, our cousins from Louisiana and our uncle from Vancouver stayed at The Artful Lodger when we attended the memoria service for my wife's sister who was a professor of dance at Hamilton.
Susan went out of her way ro accommodate all od us and provided the warmth and hospitality of a gracious hostess. she provided an eggs-free alternative to breakfast, as well!
All of us HEARTILY recommend The Artful Lodger.
Julie and Doug
Denver, CO

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doufin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you! We hope you find a reason to return to Clinton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We have been visiting The Artful Lodger since July 2008 when our daughter first interviewed at Hamilton College. We use them whenever we can when we are in the area visiting as she now attends Hamilton College, at least 1 to 2 times per year. The rooms are nice, the location great, WiFi free and easy to access, breakfasts delicious, and homemade cookies and local candies available throughout the day. Communication with them is always clear and prompt, and they have accommodated us when we could not arrive in their usual check-in window. The only downside is the small number of rooms so we can't always get in on the big event weekends, but we have benefited from the lottery system Susan uses for those weekends to make it more fair. We highly recommend it and have friends who had 2 children at Hamilton over about 8 years before us who told us it is the best B&B in the area!

Room Tip: View the website! All rooms are clearly described and photos provided. Checking availability is su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 627_Chris_2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at The Artful Lodger. Susan and Tim, our hosts, were very nice and personable. They made us feel so comfortable and welcome. The breakfasts are outstanding with a different main choice everyday. Our room was spacious, super clean and the bed so comfortable. All the art was from local artists and was fantastic - we bought some of the pottery displayed in the parlor! We highly recommend staying but book early as we met many "regulars" who stay during the summer and fall!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth32355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Susan goes out of her way to ensure her guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay in Clinton. The house is beautiful and welcoming and the breakfast table companions friendly and interesting. We couldn't be happier with our stay.

Room Tip: Our king room was beautiful, spotless, and had this amazing bathroom with a skylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrkeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Thank you! We think we have some of the nicest guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

I brought my nine-year-old daughter to "The Artful Lodger" for a birthday gift and we both loved our brief stay. The garden was so pretty, on view from the comfortable back porch. The room was lovely, spit-spot clean, and everything we could need was available. The breakfast was so delicious! NIcest bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila48759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you! It was really a pleasure meeting you and your daughter.

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south of Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

The Artful Lodger has been our home away from home for 4 years. As soon as we dropped our daughter off for college we began looking in Clinton for a B&B. We found the Artful Lodger and needed to look no further. Conveniently located on the town green, this charming B&B is attractive inside and out. The lovely aroma of baking bread greets us upon arrival, as well as the ever-present platter of delicious cookies. The walls in the common areas serve as a gallery for local artists, changing frequently. Innkeepers Susan and Tim are perfect hosts and very knowledgeable about all that the area has to offer. We have been there so many times, well into double digits now, that we have stayed in all 5 of the neat and cozy bedrooms. Susan always serves an excellent breakfast with both hot and cold options, and really, really good coffee. Our trip in May was for our daughter's graduation. We had a wonderful time, a delightful stay at the Artful Lodger, and have found ourselves hoping that we can find an excuse to come back soon for a visit at our first and favorite B&B.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you! We hope to see you again.

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
9.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#4 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
12.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
8.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Utica
Holiday Inn Utica
#2 of 3 in New Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7 E Park Row, Clinton, NY 13323-1544
Region: United States > New York > Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Clinton's Historic District, this 5 room B&B showcases the work of regional artists. One mile from Hamilton College. Private baths, air conditioning, free wireless internet, and full breakfast included in room rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing