We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Clinton”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Clinton B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Clinton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were in Clinton on a Hamilton visit - normally we stay at a local Holiday Inn type hotel, but since this was an offseason weekend, we decided to take advantage of the good rates and stay closer to campus. What a wonderful find! We stayed in the room to the left of the stairs, with two twin beds and it was nicely decorated with comfortable beds and wonderful duvets. The breakfast was delicious and the cookies and coffee available 24 hrs were a nice touch. And, the wifi worked well too! You cannot beat the location on the Village Green and it is walking distance from Hamilton (although down hill from campus to the B & B is the preferable direction!). I will absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked our twin bed room - it is on the back of the building so if street noise might bother someo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate it and look forward to your next visit.

Susan and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    9
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
22
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My 17-year-old son & I felt instantly at home after our long drive to Clinton to visit Hamilton College. Thankfully the Artful Lodger was not your usual, kitchy, antique-stuffed & stuffy B&B! The furnishings were comfortably elegant and homey. There were so many little surprises--the shampoo/conditioner/shower gel dispenser in the shower, the yummy homemade cookies downstairs, the breakfast orange juice in crystal goblets & the best homemade bread/toast ever--all thoughtfully & unfussily making for a thoroughly enjoyable & memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frannylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We are so fortunate to enjoy the company of our "five star guests!" We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was our second stay at the Artful Lodger, both times for one night while visiting local colleges. It is a terrific place, located steps from the the charming village green in Clinton and its adjacent shops and restaurants. One drawback is the busy street outside the inn which seems to be a main thoroughfare between towns so that the rooms can be a bit noisy. The inn is extremely clean and well run and every detail is thought out. We were in the Cleveland Room both times (twin beds) which was well furnished and comfortable although the bathroom is a bit small (shower only) and the sink is in the room. The living room is cozy and a nice place to spend an evening reading or watching TV. Soda, coffee and tea, as well as homemade chocolate chip cookies are always available for guests. The breakfast was excellent and Susan accomodated my special diet. All aspects of the stay were easy; I will definitely stay again in future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSMom1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We really appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I have been taking my daughter all over the place lately to visit colleges, and this is the second time we have stayed at this inn. It is really great. Both times, I arrived late, and the owner took great care to make sure we got in okay. Last time, I was given an upstairs room in the front, which I liked very much, and this time I was given Room 1 on the main floor. Wow! Room 1 has a beautiful wooden poster bed. It is gorgeous and super comfortable. I am fanatical about cleanliness and the sheets, the bathroom and room overall were immaculate. The sheets had a nice high thread count, and that really seals the deal for me! There were extra pillows in the armoire. The Inn looks like it was either been kept in very good condition or recently renovated, yet it still has wonderful original detailing and antique furniture. Breakfast was delicious. The coffee and juice were great, the service was terrific and the fruit and yogurt parfait was very nice and fresh. My daughter opted for the more adventurous baked oatmeal. Other guests and she all raved that it was delicious. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: I really liked room 1 on the first floor, but if you are all about sleeping in, I bet you might get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momof2teensNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We hope to see you again soon!

Susan and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hospitality was wonderful with an excellent breakfast and very delicious. The atmosphere was delightfully accommodating while maintaining our personal privacy. Our room was lovely ,very comfortable with all necessary ammenities. Great location , Wifi with easy access. Informative regarding restaurants, and places to go. A definite A plus for a getaway or when visiting the area! We look forward to a return visit. Thank you Susan and Tim!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room with ample space lovely views and personal privacy; pick the king size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you so much! We hope to see you again soon.

Susan and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
562 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

This B&B was perfect for our family to stay. We had the whole place and the grandkids were at grandmother's. Susan is a good hostess and she, wisely, kept her distance from my crazy family. Breakfast was wonderful. Everyone loved the souffle and the baked oatmeal. I found the yogurt parfait perfect for a change from the usual. We had a 75th birthday party for my Mom two doors down at the Kirkland Art Center so the location was ideal for us!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chouette222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

My wife, our cousins from Louisiana and our uncle from Vancouver stayed at The Artful Lodger when we attended the memoria service for my wife's sister who was a professor of dance at Hamilton.
Susan went out of her way ro accommodate all od us and provided the warmth and hospitality of a gracious hostess. she provided an eggs-free alternative to breakfast, as well!
All of us HEARTILY recommend The Artful Lodger.
Julie and Doug
Denver, CO

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doufin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you! We hope you find a reason to return to Clinton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Utica
Holiday Inn Utica
#2 of 3 in New Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
9.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
12.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7 E Park Row, Clinton, NY 13323-1544
Region: United States > New York > Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Clinton's Historic District, this 5 room B&B showcases the work of regional artists. One mile from Hamilton College. Private baths, air conditioning, free wireless internet, and full breakfast included in room rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing