We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clinton does not cease to charm and that holds true for the Artful Lodger”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Clinton B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Clinton does not cease to charm and that holds true for the Artful Lodger”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I recently brought a group of friends from NYC to "show off" my home town. Not only did I have the ability to showcase the village of Clinton, but I was able to do the same with the Artful Lodger. Nestled in the center of town and facing the village green, the Artful Lodger was just a simply fantastic place to stay. From the owners graciousness to the very comfortable amenities of the house, the Artful Lodger was a great experience. It represents the beauty of Clinton NY.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you for writing a review - and for introducing our beautiful town to your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    9
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
22
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We first stayed at this lovely B and B when our daughter was a High School senior being interviewed at Hamilton College. it became our inn of choice when we visited her during her four years at Hamilton and we just left after 3 wonderful days celebrating her commencement. Susan and Tim run a warm and welcoming establishment. Each room is uniquely decorated and immaculately kept, and because they also serve as a gallery, each stay brought a new collection of art to enjoy. The beds are comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies in the afternoons were delicious and aromatic. Its location on the Clinton town green can't be beat and it is so convenient to campus too. The wifi worked great too. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you. It's been a pleasure, and we hope you find a reason to return!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was a great bed and breakfast. We went on to others and due to the good standard of The Artful Lodger the other places we stayed at paled in comparision. Thank you for a relaxing stay. John and Helen UK

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for posting a review. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is an exceptional place to stay for a night or longer. Our first stay was in March,when my son, a first year at Hamilton,and I stayed for one night. It was pouring rain that evening and we were treated to a warm welcome and Susan's offer of advice on where we could go for dinner on a Sunday evening. That, and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. We loved the comfortable antique mix, decidedly unfussy, and the art and pottery that is a large part of the personality and warmth of the Artful Lodger. The soft lighting, the shining cleanliness, our great beds with down comforters and the kind hosts of this beautifully restored B and B made us feel relaxed and happy. The breakfast table was wonderful; friendly and interesting guests, great coffee and wonderful choices for homemade breakfast entrees. The lilacs on the table were just picked. I could go on and on. My husband and I stayed again for our son's concert at Hamilton the following weekend. We could hardly bear to leave after staying two nights and feeling very relaxed and content. If you are in the pretty town of Clinton, there are cafes, little shops, a beautiful fountained village green, and the area abounds with history. The best part of it all was staying in the oasis of calm and beauty that is the Artful Lodger.

Room Tip: There are five rooms and the ones we saw were all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Have a wonderful summer!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were in Clinton on a Hamilton visit - normally we stay at a local Holiday Inn type hotel, but since this was an offseason weekend, we decided to take advantage of the good rates and stay closer to campus. What a wonderful find! We stayed in the room to the left of the stairs, with two twin beds and it was nicely decorated with comfortable beds and wonderful duvets. The breakfast was delicious and the cookies and coffee available 24 hrs were a nice touch. And, the wifi worked well too! You cannot beat the location on the Village Green and it is walking distance from Hamilton (although down hill from campus to the B & B is the preferable direction!). I will absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked our twin bed room - it is on the back of the building so if street noise might bother someo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate it and look forward to your next visit.

Susan and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My 17-year-old son & I felt instantly at home after our long drive to Clinton to visit Hamilton College. Thankfully the Artful Lodger was not your usual, kitchy, antique-stuffed & stuffy B&B! The furnishings were comfortably elegant and homey. There were so many little surprises--the shampoo/conditioner/shower gel dispenser in the shower, the yummy homemade cookies downstairs, the breakfast orange juice in crystal goblets & the best homemade bread/toast ever--all thoughtfully & unfussily making for a thoroughly enjoyable & memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frannylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We are so fortunate to enjoy the company of our "five star guests!" We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was our second stay at the Artful Lodger, both times for one night while visiting local colleges. It is a terrific place, located steps from the the charming village green in Clinton and its adjacent shops and restaurants. One drawback is the busy street outside the inn which seems to be a main thoroughfare between towns so that the rooms can be a bit noisy. The inn is extremely clean and well run and every detail is thought out. We were in the Cleveland Room both times (twin beds) which was well furnished and comfortable although the bathroom is a bit small (shower only) and the sink is in the room. The living room is cozy and a nice place to spend an evening reading or watching TV. Soda, coffee and tea, as well as homemade chocolate chip cookies are always available for guests. The breakfast was excellent and Susan accomodated my special diet. All aspects of the stay were easy; I will definitely stay again in future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSMom1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We really appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Utica
Holiday Inn Utica
#2 of 3 in New Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
9.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
12.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7 East Park Row, Clinton, NY 13323-1544
Region: United States > New York > Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Clinton's Historic District, this 5 room B&B showcases the work of regional artists. One mile from Hamilton College. Private baths, air conditioning, free wireless internet, and full breakfast included in room rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing