We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Professionally Run!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Clinton B&B and Inns
linwood
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Professionally Run!”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Just stayed overnight with my son for the purpose of a college visit. The Artful Lodger is beautiful and immaculate, and the owners are clearly "seasoned professionals" when it comes to service for their guest. I have a terrible back, and always look for a firm bed before I book my accommadations. Well....the beds are excellent! The breakfast was delicious, and the house is in a great location as well. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
So happy to help! Thank you for writing a review. Enjoy the rest of your college visits, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    9
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
22
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights at The Artful Lodger B&B. The historic house was beautifully restored. Our room was comfortable, quiet and well appointed. The common living area provided comfortable sofas for reading and lounging. Complimentary soft drinks and coffee were always available and delicious homemade cookies awaited our return each afternoon. The breakfasts were excellent--quiche and bacon one morning, blueberry- and strawberry-stuffed French Toast another. The B&B doubles as an art gallery, and included interesting paintings, pottery and jewelry, all for sale. Hosts Tim and Susan were helpful with directions and suggestions for local restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you so much for writing a review. We hope you will visit again soon!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at The Artful Lodger after our day in Cooperstown. We found Susan and Tim to be extremely welcoming, the B&B and grounds were beautiful and our room was charming. We were impressed that everything from the emergency flashlight in the power socket to the lighted make-up mirror in the bathroom to the magazines in the bedroom had very clearly been carefully thought through. We will definitely look forward to our next stay at The Artful Lodger.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My wife and I traveled to the Clinton area for her family reunion last week. We were fortunate to be able to make reservations at The Artful Lodger - and glad we did. The location is just perfect - in a beautiful 1830's home just across the street from the village green, shops, pubs and restaurants. The hospitality was great - Susan and Tim took care of our every need. Pretty much everything is thought of - from coffee if you wake up before breakfast to afternoon cookies and fruit. We started each day with a home-cooked breakfast that featured ingredients from the herb garden out back and the local farmer's market. Just right. The house has many original features and is well decorated. Easy in and out, regardless of the time. Our room was furnished very nicely and what you would expect in a nice B&B. There are a couple of great restaurants just across the way, a coffee shop and 2 famous pub/dive bars for some local flavor, not to mention the handful of shops and pizza places. When in Clinton or surrounding areas, check this B&B out...

Room Tip: The website has descriptions of the various rooms available. We weren't able to book the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your time in Clinton and hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Hadley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I only stayed overnight at The Artful Lodger, but I found the room cozy and clean. The bathroom was a bit small, but it was a minor feature. The proprietors were friendly and helpful, and the Inn is beautifully kept up and decorated. Local art, jewelry, pottery, and cards are available for purchase. Delicious breakfast, too. Nice village location, great restaurant called Nola's walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastcoasttraveler137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you for writing. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We enjoyed our very comfortable room in this Inn, which is located in a pretty New York State Village. The owner was also helpful with restaurant recommendations. However, when we sat down to breakfast, we were a bit disappointed. There were three choices, but none of them were particularly generous in sizw and one was only packaged cereal -- not even the granola the owner served with a yogurt and fruit cup. What we had was tasty, but it was the smallest breakfast we have ever been served in a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViaAmable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, but sorry you left the table hungry. Our hot breakfast option is the most filling, and we encourage our guests to let us know if they would like more. For some, a bowl of raisin bran is just the ticket, which is why we offer the cereal option. (We aim to please - just ask!)

We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

A beautiful building in a really pretty town, great service, delicious breakfast - what more can I say? Oh, and really good value for money.
My sister and I stayed here for my cousin's wedding, which was just out of town, I wanted something with character and charm and that's what we got. The owners Susan and Tim were friendly, welcoming but not intrusive and the building is lovely. The property overlooks the village green in Clinton and is perfectly located. We breakfasted on vegetable frittata and even saw a hummingbird on the back porch. I would not hesitate to return, I hope I have the chance to do so.

Room Tip: We had a back room which was really quiet, not really an issue at the time of year we went but maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeCelebreCinq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you so much! We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to your return.

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites By Hilton New Hartford Utica
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Utica
Holiday Inn Utica
#2 of 3 in New Hartford
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
No photo provided
9.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
508 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7 East Park Row, Clinton, NY 13323-1544
Region: United States > New York > Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Clinton's Historic District, this 5 room B&B showcases the work of regional artists. One mile from Hamilton College. Private baths, air conditioning, free wireless internet, and full breakfast included in room rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing