We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Wonderful Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Clinton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our stays at the Artful Lodger have always been wonderful. Yes, there's that annoying horn that blows when the volunteer firefighters are called, but isn't that part of the charm of staying in a small town?
We love the house and it's charm, the displays from local artists, the delicious breakfasts, and those cookies, yum!!!
If you are in town for a visit to Hamilton College or Colgate, make sure to check their availability and stay at the Artful Lodger. You couldn't ask for kinder innkeepers in such a charming setting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you so much! It is always a pleasure to see you. We hope you will find more reasons to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

One cannot say enough good things about this B & B. It is elegant, gracious,and quiet. And the the breakfast was fabulous. Definitely must do a repeat performance one day. I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We loved the "king" room with a view of the village square. There are complementary earpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

It was such a pleasure meeting both of you. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers!

Susan and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I have stayed with Susan at the Artful Lodger a number of times over the four years my daughter has been a Hamilton. We have stayed at nearby hotels and other B&B's but this is always our first choice. The King room overlooking the village square is large, bright and comfortable. Susan and her husband are warm and helpful hosts and the breakfasts are nicely done with reasonable choices to cater to vegetarians like my wife and meat eaters like me. There have always been other guests and breakfast that led to enjoyable conversations. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katonah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

The breakfast conversations are a highlight, aren't they? Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Tim and Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed with Tim and Susan in March while visiting the area for work. The weather was dreary but the Artful Lodger was definitely a bright, sunny part of the trip! Perfectly located right on the charming Village Green and right next door to a romantic bistro. Tim and Susan were incredibly helpful and just a lovely couple. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you, we agree that Clinton is a really special place and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Tim and Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A lovely home with no detail left to chance. We stayed for one brief night on a college visit to Hamilton. Wish we could have stayed longer! The bed was superior, the fireplace toasty, and the breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: The large room with the king bed was outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 407AmyC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers!

Susan and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The house was beautiful, and the room we stayed in was comfortable, clean, and had a nice bathroom. Owners were friendly, and the breakfasts delicious. Right in downtown clinton, and convenient to Hamilton College, as well as Utica, New Hartford, Colgate, and Turning Stone. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjamin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your next visit.

Tim and Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

For those who love a wonderful B & B experience and also enjoy visiting local galleries, this is a perfect place to stay. Just minutes from Hamilton College and in close proximity to great restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovesdogs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for your artful comments! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites By Hilton New Hartford Utica
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Utica
Holiday Inn Utica
#2 of 3 in New Hartford
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott New Hartford
12.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
9.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#4 of 13 in Utica
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7 East Park Row, Clinton, NY 13323-1544
Region: United States > New York > Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clinton
Price Range: £83 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Clinton's Historic District, this 5 room B&B showcases the work of regional artists. One mile from Hamilton College. Private baths, air conditioning, free wireless internet, and full breakfast included in room rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing