We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Peek'n Peak Ski Area
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Clymer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Variety of winter sports features downhill skiing, cross-country, snowboarding and tubing for all skill levels.
north east, pa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The Peek. What can one say. It is a very, very nice resort. Not only nice for skiing in the winter, but nice year round facility. Under new management. A lot of upgrading. The place is beautiful. Sunday brunch is out of this world. A little pricey, but no more than most resorts. A great place to learn to ski for all ages. Lots to do here. Beautiful setting. Highly recommend to all.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1hapecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    66
    13
    5
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“ski school, the inn, the main restaurant bar”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

it is all just okay. peak n peak is old and a bit tired in our opinion. you can go one hour further to holiday valley and have a fab time staying at the tamarack. granted, the price is reflected in what you get at tamarack compared to the inn at peak n peak.

dd's ski school instructor had no smile on her face and said nothing to me as to how dd did, etc. but dd did like the jumps at peak n peak.she likes the instructors much better at holiday valley. and at holiday valley they give you a little report card when your child is done.

the inn is old and tired and the hallways are super cold! the pool is large! the indoor outdoor hottub is big also.

there is no valet or no one to help with luggage and no luggage carts. this coupled with lots of stairs may not work for some people! especially if you have little kids or elderly or are staying for more than one or two nights.

we had a balcony suite. it is fine but missed having our own kitchen. there is a small 4 cup coffee maker and a microwave and a small dorm sized frig.

the bathroom is fine but small.

the upstairs is super hot and the downstairs is super cold. kiind of strange. the setup of where the heater is is strange as it is towards upstairs and heat rises so not sure on why that is.

the balcony is small. but nice to have!

we overlooked the fire pits and did see a father and 2 young ones making smores.

the bar in the main restaurant is soooo dark! the staff is nice though. the chairs need replacing at the bar - they are wobbly. it has kind of an eerie feel to it. but drinks were good! thank you to the wonderful bartender!

would we go back? maybe.

but dd did have fun as this may be the last ski of the season.

check in was smooth as was checkout. we were able to get in our room by 3:30pm which is much better than the 5pm checkin time.

the flat bread pizzas are not that good either. but we did hear that the burgers are good and should have had those instead! beer was not cold at all in the main dining/bar. but our bartender was nice enough to only charge for one as i ordered 2 - the second a different type as i though maybe it would be colder.

it was a holiday weekend and i know it was filled but it did not seem super busy so that was a nice plus!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank laob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chagrin falls
Level Contributor
253 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

First time back in years. Had a great time with family. Pros: variety of slopes, quick lifts, little wait time . Staff very friendly. Alpine ambiance. Can bring own food drink to main lodge. Ski pkgs good value. Ski school for kids well run & gives parents chance to enjoy slopes while kids in ski school.
Cons: confusing set up upon arrival. (sign up for kids in diff area than adults - so had to wait in 2 lines). Read website before you go to know what pkgs you want. Staff was friendly, but did not offer best deal - I knew because looked over website first. Also, prices high in lodge for food. ($3 yogurt, $6 sm pizza). Pack your own. Just try to get a table early in day.
All in all, great weekend - cant wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank islandjule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“OK day trip, but nothing more.”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Enjoyed a day trip, but slopes can't compare to a resort east of here. "Black Diamonds" are more like Greens and Blues. No challenges. Terrain Park is cute and has its appeal to the younger and more daring set.
Lift operators have no clue how to swing a chair. Thought I was hit by a bus a few times and have the bruises to prove it. Watch out for small children and elderly in the lift load areas.
Stayed in the hotel a year ago, and the service was terrible. Heard from a friend that it is best to pay extra for the renovated section and steer clear of the older section, but I would rather drive the extra minutes east to a better resort.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohio_traveler_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lots of snow, great time.”
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Lots of fresh snow, great conditions led to a good day of skiing. Good terrain and nice runs. Surprisingly uncrowded for a Saturday.

Helpful?
Thank mmtripsOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peek'n Peak Ski Area also viewed

Panama, Chautauqua County
Chautauqua, Chautauqua County
 

Been to Peek'n Peak Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing