We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the middle of nowhere...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at the Peak
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clymer
Certificate of Excellence
Montréal (Saint-Lambert), Québec
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

We stayed at the Peak 'N Peek for two nights (Fri-Sun); we were there for a family reunion. Some rented condos and cottages (mainly as meeting places), we rented a room at the Inn. At check-in, we were told that we had been upgraded (to the type of room we did not want!). No elevators anywhere, lots of stairs everywhere... Got to our room, which was the same way as other reviewers have described - bathroom as you enter, sink and sitting area with balcony door, stairs to go up to a mezzanine-like loft with beds. As soon as we entered, the smell of mold, old-basement, got to us - my girlfriend is extremely allergic to mold. She decided to give it the "old" five-minutes test; after 5 min., she was feeling a headache coming on so back to the front desk she went. Very helpful and understanding; after checking with manager on duty, we were moved to what looked like one of the newer cottages off of Canterbury Drive (it's the unit right by the main road); we laughed our heads off as we ended up staying in a two-bedroom, full kitchen, living room unit. If you go there, make sure you buy your supplies ahead of time and not at the little convenience store on-site - you're better off going to the French Creek General Store, you'll get a better choice of items.

In the summer, the P 'N P is in the middle of nowhere - just some shopping and sights in nearby Findley Lake and golf. I guess it's a great place for reunions or wedding receptions. In the winter, it's a ski resort. I neither ski nor golf so...

Had we not been move to our new accommodations, I would not have been a happy camper - small room, noisy place. In our new suite, great room, quiet and clean.

  • Liked — The fact that we were really "upgraded" after the moldy room
  • Disliked — The fact that we were given a moldy room to start with...
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DaHeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    108
    42
    24
    19
See reviews for
125
72
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

My wife and I were married June 28th, 2008 and held our reception at Peak N Peak Resort, and subsequently spent the night in the Tiffany Suite at the resort.

As can be expected, there is always a level of nervousness relative to one’s wedding arrangements and nothing is a sure thing. We were very fortunate to have made all of our arrangements with Peak N Peak because overall they exceeded our expectations.

Reception Size – We only had 24 people at the reception, so it was small and held in the banquet room off of the main dining room.

Organization – Brian Smith was our coordinator over the previous 6 months, and did an outstanding job of making sure our special day met all of our expectations.

Food – The food was OUTSTANDING! We had made mostly special requests for food choices that were not standard for Peak N Peak, and everything was to die for. The fillet was well cooked to everyone’s individual doneness and the quality was excellent. The twice baked potatoes – wish I had the recipe!

Service – Service was generally good, but they could have used another waitress for the 24 people. With only 2 serving the group, getting drink refills was at times slow. This would be our only complaint.

Set-Up/Layout – The room was set-up beautifully, exactly as we had asked. The cake set-up on a special table in the corner and the room set-up in a continuous rectangle so everyone all sat together as a group. Everything was wrapped in linens and was very classy. The old historical look of the room added to the ambiance.

Resort in General – We were also fortunate in that the resort offers many photo opportunities with your photographers. Outside there are beautiful flowers, and ivy, and stone walls. Even the waterfall at the golf course across the street made a nice back-drop!

Honeymoon Suite -- We spent that evening in the honeymoon suite. In general it was a bit dated, but was very clean. The rooms look like they could use a face-lift, some carpeting, paint, and bathroom updates. Overall everything is in good shape though and clean. The room was laid out as a loft, downstairs had a full bath/shower small sitting area/sink/bar area and desk. Then a set of stairs on the one side go to an upstairs loft with a big open area with a king sized bed. The bed was older, but had a mattress topper on it and was comfortable (although not the most comfortable of a hotel we’ve stayed at). There is another bathroom upstairs with a walk-in shower and then in the back is a BIG Jacuzzi tub with skylight above it and dimmable lighting. We did use it and found it to be very nice and refreshing after the hectic wedding day. The water was slightly brown (and it was the water when filling it, not the jets, and is probably because the resort uses well water or something due to the remote location). We weren’t drinking it, so it didn’t bother us! This was the highlight of the room though.

Overall we would recommend this resort for a wedding, romantic getaway, families, or ski/golf enthusiast. It has many diverse offerings/activities from what we saw (including a spa although we didn’t use it). The pool is very big and nice as well, as my Niece/Nephew wanted to stay the night so they could use the pool!

  • Liked — The service and nostalgic setting
  • Disliked — Rooms could use some updating and modernizing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kab12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2008

My mom and I were wine tasting in Erie and was staying at a bed and breakfast there which was not up to our standards. So for the next night we decided to stay at the resort.

From the outside, the resort looks like a castle. It is in the middle of nowhere. Getting there you pass Findley Lake which looks like a cute little community.

From the inside, it is like you stepped back into the 1970's. The lobby is huge! The front desk was nice but a little bit confused with check in. There are no elevators to my knowledge so it is difficult dragging all the luggage up the stairs.

We only paid $80 for our room. All the rooms are 2 stories. Walking in you have the bathroom (dated), couch and a door to the balcony (gorgeous). Then you take a flight of stairs to the loft where the beds are located. Keep in mind, this place needs updating, but for $80 it was perfect.

We ate at the restaurant which was FABULOUS!! Our waitress was awesome. Perfect meal. There is a huge bar as well.

The pool is something to see! There was no one there so my mom and I swam until 10:00. We used the hottub which connects to the outside. That was the best part of the trip.

I would highly recommend this place for families. There is so much to do! We are bringing the kids next time.

  • Liked — There is so much do!
  • Disliked — Needs to be updated
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Micheller0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2008

We have stayed here once or twice during ski season for around 10 years now. The people at the front desk at the Inn have always been very courteous, the rooms have always been very clean and spacious. The indoor heated pool and indoor/outdoor hot tub are wonderful. There are also various places to eat with food ranging from tacos to burgers to gourmet buffets and a couple of bars. The facilities have always been well maintained and we usually enjoy staying here. It's the perfect place for families who are used to noise. I would not recommend this place for a quiet interlude. The pool is filled with screaming kids, the outdoor part of the hot tub is no better (we are staying here as I write this review and had to leave the hot tub early because of kids having a snowball fight inside/outside it and the parents doing nothing about it). People run up and down the hallways at all hours of the night and think it's funny to knock on the room doors. We have no complaints with the Inn, the facilities or the amenities, it's the people who stay here (adults and children alike) who have no consideration for anyone else and ruin the stay for those who just want to enjoy a nice few days off from work.

  • Liked — Rooms, amenities
  • Disliked — unruly children, adults not supervising or caring
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lovemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2007

What was extremely gross: When we checked in to what was supposed to be one of their best suites, the toilet was stopped up and full of someone else's extremely-pungent diarrhea. It was extremely gross. The rest of the room was also not made up properly. This was all after they had made us wait for over an hour for our room to begin with. I spent most of the first night trying to get that sight and smell out of my mind.

What was bad: At 8:00 am each morning, the housekeeping staff was banging around, yelling gossip to each other over the vacuuming, etc. They were like a herd of elephants. The walls are paper thin in this old place (we also heard the couple in the room across from ours having sex the second night which was rather amusing until we realized they could probably hear everything we were saying as well). The rooms and furnishings were really dated. There was a 3-foot hole in the boxspring (you could see the boards and springs).

What was okay: There was a large jacuzzi tub in our suite. It was okay, but I think the pipes must be a little dirty because if we would put on the jets, a brown dirt ring would form at the top of the water. The tub filled fast and didn't run out of hot water though. We didn't use the whirlpool the second time around.

What was good: The food at the Thanskgiving and Friday Night Seafood buffets were good, although a little pricey. We got a $50 dinner credit per night with our package, so we didn't mind the $75 meals (for two people with no alcohol!). Some of the things on the buffets were rather cold. I probably would not shell out the money out-of-pocket to eat there again.

What was great: The new spa - it just opened this year and everything was new. My husband and I got two massages each in the duet room which was lovely with a fireplace and all. The massages came with our package, but are reasonably priced ($70 per 50-minute Swedish Massage or $140 for a duet Swedish) if you want to buy them outright as well. We also got complimentary champange and chocolates each night with our package, which was fun.

  • Liked — The new spa
  • Disliked — Diarrhea in the toilet on arrival
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rpimath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

This resort is near Erie and we stayed here just for one night. It is a great place to stay with young children - we have a 27 month old - he loved the pool and play room. The resort was quiet so we had all the facilities to ourselves, not sure how it would be if it was very busy. Our room was absolutely fine and split over 2 levels which was good and meant our son was sleeping upstairs and we could relax downstairs!

  • Liked — Relaxing but lots to do for kids
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgrif40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2007

The hotel was a great place for kids. The pool and play room were a lot of fun for the kids. The guest rooms were extremely old and in need of updating.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cjb213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clymer
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
10.7 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites
17.1 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
19.0 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
15.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Peak

Property: The Inn at the Peak
Address: 1405 Old Rd, Peek'n Peak Resort and Spa, Clymer, NY 14724-9648
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Clymer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clymer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at the Peak 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1964, Peek'n Peak Resort and Spa, in Chautauqua County, NY, is a regional destination for snow sports, golf, conferences and destination weddings. Our family-friendly atmosphere boasts two swimming pools, a children's play zone, a variety of dining options, miniature golf, a centrally located hotel and condos that sleep from 2-24 people. For year-round recreation The Peak features 27 ski slopes and trails, 4 terrain parks, two highly acclaimed golf courses, a luxury day spa, fine-dining and a vast selection of accommodations and amenities. Each year the Peak welcomes over 450,000 guests and over 200,000 skiers and snowboarders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at the Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peek`n Peak Hotel Clymer
Peek Peak Hotel
Peak n Peak Clymer Ny
Peek Peak Resort
Peekn Peak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing