We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee for the train”
Review of Foundry Cafe

Foundry Cafe
Ranked #14 of 26 Restaurants in Cold Spring
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
184 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Coffee for the train”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just steps from the train track and the Cold Spring train station; this is a frequent stop for a cup to go! The food is great also!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LastSecondTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A WEEKLY VISIT!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We found this little gem about a year ago and try to make it here almost every weekend!! It is relaxing and inviting. We always feel like we are dining with friends when we are here. True that the atmosphere is very casual but the food is NOTHING LESS than 5 STAR!!! I highly recommend the multigrain pancakes or the amazing French toast. NEVER GO IN A HURRY THO....GREAT THINGS TAKE TIME!! LOVE THIS PLACE!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evem0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“active place, lots of choice”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This place offers a generous menu but is a tad pricey for breakfast. Service was very good though a bit too "eager." Have had a better omelet. Still, the overall experience was positive, and the pleasant atmosphere draws people in.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank marianc95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
213 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Don't Know How They Stay in Business”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

BF and I were in Cold Spring for the first time and looking for a place for lunch. Decided to try The Foundry.

It has a shabby decor with no real theme, and incongruous red-and-white checked tablecloths. At the front was a dingy glass case with unappetizing desserts, practically at floor level.The restaurant was crowded but not packed. We were told to seat ourselves, which we did. Unfortunately doing things for ourselves became a theme at this luncheonette.

We waited at least 10 minutes before someone handed. us paper menus. Nothing looked all that interesting - pedestrian choices like BLT or tuna melt, but many things with sprouts added. When we were given menus, we were told beverages "other than water" are self-serve (the server pointed to the coffee station near the kitchen as she told us this). We couldn't tell if this was the usual policy, or only because the server was overwhelmed at the moment. Also she never told us how we could get water, and it was never offered.

Fifteen minutes went by, while we and two other tables near us were ignored, even as the server walked by several times. Another group who had already ordered sat near us looking hungry and annoyed.

Finally we got up and walked out, which I don't think the staff noticed or cared about. We went to The Depot a block away, where we had excellent service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shell202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious soup, pancakes, & hot cocoa!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stopped in today for a quick bite with three kids in tow. Our first time in Cold Spring and on this appropriately cold day, we needed a little warming up! The Foundry delivered! The place was packed when we walked in at 1:15ish (always a good sign), but started to clear out as brunch folks exited. Fun, welcoming service & great food-- fitting the needs of the kids and the adults (and by this I mean that the food was healthy, fresh and well-prepared!). I had the navy bean & chorizo soup-- warming in all senses, in a good way! If I had been hungrier I also would have tried the special-- "Apple, Cheddar and Onion Quiche." Sounds great, right? Wish I could have fit that in too... The kids had whole grain pancakes (very good!), grilled cheese, and a wonderful bowl of fruit that was freshly cut (no canned fruit in sight-- hallelujah!)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foundry Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Foundry Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing