We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An American version of Fawlty Towers!”
Review of Pig Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cold Spring
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pig Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Cold Spring B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An American version of Fawlty Towers!”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Had expected sheer bliss after reading so many rapturous reviews of Pig Hill Inn, but maybe there are two Pig Hill Inns in Cold Spring! This was like Fawlty Towers - rude, weird, cold, disinterested innkeeper, who seemed almost resentful there were guests. Absolutely no trace of the "warm European hospitality" that crows from the brochures . Like something out of the Twilight Zone. Rooms nice enough, quaint, no wifi in our room as it didnt reach top back half of the building. Fell way short of every expectation. Sadly

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BabyJane101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    39
    10
    12
    13
See reviews for
13
109
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The Innkeeper, Dave, couldn't be nicer. The house, however, is both charming or shabby, depending on your point of view. I didn't mind it, but my wife wanted to leave as soon as she saw the room. Very, very dark and shabby. Too bad she plugged her power cord into a broken outline and sparks flew. One legit drawback for all: the place reeks of cigarette smoke. In fact, somebody was smoking in or around the house while we were there. Oh well. The location is fun and Dave is a pretty fair omelet chef.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neverflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We just finished our 2nd stay stay at the PHI. My wife and I stayed in the Enchantment room on the 3rd floor. Great room, but highlight is the jacuzzi in the bath. We took full advantage. We also were the only visitors on a Thurs night so I did what any normal human would do--I snooped around all the rooms. I gotta say, anyone who thinks the rooms are small is crazy. The rooms are quaint and aestethics vary room-to-room but ou really can't go wrong here. Breakfast is either in bed or in the garden room. We requested crepes on our online reservation and boom, they came right out to us! Dave is friendly and readily offers recommendations in town. At $200/night, it ain't cheap, but you're only an hour from the city and, come on, did I mention the jacuzzi bathtub??! MetroNorth runs straight there and PHI is only a couple blocks from the station. Oh, and for the jokers who need a television and phone? I'd recommend getting something called a cell phone and something called a laptop. Or do what we did. Unplug from the matrix for a day, take a walk up Fair street to the Appalachian Trail, and get a bottle of bubbly for a night in the jacuzzi. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Its hard to know where to start in praising the Pig Hill Inn. We had a fantastic weekend there! We got in Friday late-afternoon and were there until Sunday mid-day, and loved every minute. Here's the overview:

- Check-in/Greeting: We were met by Dave (innkeeper), who immediately was friendly, talkative, and informative. He took us on a full tour of the facility, and also told us about the procedures (how to sign up for breakfast in bed, breakfast downstairs, etc). After the walkthrough of the shared rooms, he escorted us up to our room, the Tranquility room.

- Room: We were pleased. The king sized four-poster bed was extremely comfortable, and the room had a lot of old charming furniture. The lighting was fine, and the wood-burning stove was a fantastic touch. The free wifi was great too.

- Breakfast/Food: FANTASTIC! We took our bfast downstairs in the sun room both days, and the service was great, food was delicious, and both the waitress and the cook clearly just wanted to make sure we enjoyed the food. We were very impressed!

- Town/Area: Great for a weekend. Not much to do beyond that. There is a street with lots of antique stores and a handful of other shops. Very quaint and friendly. There are a number of cafes and restaurants in town. we particularly liked Hudson House, which is also an inn, but we liked Pig Hill better for the overnight stay. Much more quaint. We went to Boscobel, a restored colonial mansion that is about a mile and a half away. Very interesting.

The intangible here was the warmth of the staff. Dave, the innkeeper, was fantastic. Friendly and warm without being too "in-your-face," we literally didn't feel like anything was missing. They assured that we had everything we need, whether it was extra wood for the wood-burning stove, extra pillows, or some extra desert treats at night... We felt like they were treating us special, but we get the feeling they treat everyone like that. Vera, the owner, was FANTASTIC! When she realized I was without a jacket, and I was in a walking boot (from an ankle sprain), she offered to drive and/or pick us up from Boscobel in her own car! We took her up on it on the ride back. What a generous offer, and really made us appreciate the Pig Hill. We will absolutely return, and I would recommend this quaint and sweet little inn to anyone, without pause.

GO BOOK IT!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noahk1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Top things about the service:

-We arrived and were welcomed by a freshly baked Apple Pie waiting in the dining room
-We signed up for breakfast but forgot to order it in our room, they brought it up anyway
-We also forgot to tell them I was a vegetarian, they made me a wonderful brie and mushroom omelette anyhow (well after the kitchen had technically closed)
-On the 2nd day we came home after a long hike on the nearby breakneck road trail and found an entire platter of amazing little bite-sized pastries that were to die for
-We booked a massage (with their help) from a local body worker (Allison) and the earliest she could see us after well after check-out time, they told us not to worry about it, allowed us to check out 4 hours late (and then waived the late check out on account of not having remembered to tell us how much it was going to cost...we insisted and paid it anyway, in the form of a tip)
-We found every one on the staff full of smiles and witty conversation (but not over-the-top fake nice)

Top things about the facility:
-Location was AWESOME, right on main street, an incredibly easy walk from the train station.
-No TV's (and in the 12 years the owner has been in business, she's only gotten 3 requests for one, so I'd say it's the right kind of vibe for the right kind of person)
-Quaint, beautiful old building, very tastefully preserved and updated
-Awesome massive tub, plenty of room for two
-Great wood burning stove, lovely to fall asleep in front of
-Did I mention breakfast in the room?
-Little sitting area on the 1st floor is a nice little hang out (warm fireplace is amazing, always blazing)

Top reason we'll be back as soon as we can manage, and that we will blog, tweet and tell everyone we know about it:

-Owner Vera and Innkeep Dave, charming, attentive, authentic and perfectly welcoming.

We're both extremely discriminating and we were 100% pleased and will be coming back again, making sure to make early reservations as we were told by a number of people in the town that it can get a little crazy in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalMisfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

...and I'm not really a B & B guy...

Like most B & B's, the place shuts down early, and you can hear people in the house. That's standard. However, it's not loud at all.

Each room is unique, and priced differently.

Place was very well maintained, the staff was super nice, and the breakfast was spot on. They even left out a fresh apple pie for us in the kitchen area we could eat throughout the day.

The Inn is located in Cold Spring, which can be reached by train from NYC. The Inn is literally a block up the street, and the town is located across the river from West Point. The town has many restaurants, and is known for antiquing, which there was tons of.

Great place to come for a weekend getaway, whether you want to antique, bike, hike, or just relax.

It's as good a B & B as you'll come across in the area. The bed was very comfortable.

(they sent me clothing I left behind, which was very nice)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weinish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Best place for New Yorkers to weekend. Cozy b& b with friendly hosts, delicious breakfasts (with separate seating so you can read the paper in peace), pretty outdoor garden when the weather is nice, cozy fire for when it is cold, and great hiking and restaurants near by.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cold Spring
2.7 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
952 reviews
8.9 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
207 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
320 reviews
5.3 mi away
No photo provided
Countryside Motel
#1 of 1 in Cold Spring
11 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Roundhouse
The Roundhouse
#1 of 1 in Beacon
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pig Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pig Hill Inn

Property: Pig Hill Inn
Address: 73 Main St, Cold Spring, NY 10516-3014
Region: United States > New York > Cold Spring
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cold Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pig Hill Hotel Cold Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing