We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went there for a 3 years old birthday party....”

Cold Spring Harbor Whaling Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the history of whaling, the importance of whale conservation, and Long Island maritime history at The Whaling Museum. See an authentic 19th C whaleboat, learn how scrimshaw was made, and touch real whale bones. Enjoy special programs, craft workshops, lectures, and films.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Went there for a 3 years old birthday party....”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

and it was very cute. They had all the kids gather in a circle and she passed around little things that the kids could touch. They spread plastic gold coins around the museam for the kids to "hunt treasure". In one corner, you could color your own eye patch.

The food room had a wooden treasure chest for the kids to decorate.

All and all, very cute idea for a birthday party. I think 3 was a little young - maybe 4-6 would be better becuase they can hold there attention just a bit longer then 3 years.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JPC120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting maritime artifacts”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This museum is a throwback to a time when whaling was prevalent by Long Island based fisherman. Many items are interesting, yet focused my awareness as to the shift in society toward our ocean friends. For the kids, there is a scavenger hunt. I took a picture of my kids dressed in period clothes. It's a nice attraction and there is a lot to learn about. There is also a gallery of art, which I found interesting. I agree with another reviewer's viewpoint that the space is really well done.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyOfFour08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Spring Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting little place in historic Cold Spring Harbor”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Nothing to write home about, but worth a visit if you like this sort if thing. Cute place to bring out of town guests.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Latourelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very Cool Glimpse of Our Heritage!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

To look at Cold Spring Harbor today, it's not hard to visualize it 150 years ago as a whaling town. When you see the displays and artifacts, you get an appreciation of what a hard life these people led and how tough they had to be; both men and women. The men want to sea, sometimes for two or three years at a time, and the families had to fend for themselves. Imgaine going out in a rowboat, way out to sea, to harpoon a creature that might be four or five times bigger than the boat. But in those days it was a fair fight - sometimes the whalers won and sometimes the whale won. A fascinating look into the past. Great place to take the kids if they're open to that kind of thing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bassguygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This place is great!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a great time at this interesting museum. Lots of fun interactive displays, and a lot of wonderful facts about the history of whaling in Long Island and around Cold Spring Harbor specifically.

It's a really well done space that they seem to be updating frequently to follow museum trends!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bwfol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cold Spring Harbor Whaling Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cold Spring Harbor Whaling Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing